Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Amy Biehl Charter High School

Public | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2011

As a graduate of this school, I have mixed emotions about this school. While my parents would recommend this school to anybody simply because I graduated; I on the other hand, do not recommend this school. The grading system in the Math courses is rediculous to the other systems. It does not challenge the student and makes it quite difficult for the student to recover from a bad quarter. Also, since the math is nothing like any college math problems, you have difficulties with going into college level math. The English program kind of helps, but it does not help you grow in your writing style until the last year and one year does not help with growing your writing style. However, the teachers will help you when you need to....but it feels more like a "crash course" more than actually learning the material. I do not recommend this school unless you want your child to have a decent learning experience with somewhat little learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2011

Very happy my daughter made the commitment to leave her neighborhood school and dare to walk her own path in life. She has made some very good connections and friends that she would have never made if she stuck to the same old thing that was fed to her through APS. The classes are smaller, the teachers and counselors are always available, and there is no reason for any student not to pass their classes. After school and Saturday help is also available. Parents and Students need to start thinking outside the box. The world is a much different place than where we grew up in., and so are schools and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

As I watched Amy Biehl grow larger as a school I have seen it go downhill. I would love to say the math prepared me, but I feel held back by the non-traditional style math and unable to connect it to regular traditional collage style math. Though the teachers attempt to teach this style of math, the 'You understand it or you don't' way of grading seems to leave no in between for students. The style seems slightly objective of the teachers views on the topic. There is also a lack of English classes that really challenge your thinking and your ability to write. This is all important for collage. In light of these problems a growing number of students have seemed to be held back, and every year the number increases. I believe this is not a problem of 'stepping up' but learning how to fit into this style of education. I feel the concept of the school is very inviting but the fact is, is that it is not up to the growing standards every generation is meeting. If the school can look to itself and figure out a way to increase their students performance without losing most of the students it would be a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

As a graduate, i have to say that this is definitely not a school for everyone. Challenging curriculum, and very high expectations. The teachers are excellent, and there is heavy emphasis on parent involvement. Students are expected to be very independent and pro-active. The grading scale is set so that 75% is passing and nothing below that is allowed. This enables all graduates to earn the lottery scholarship. The only criticism I have is the math program, which did not prepare me for college classes. However, the overall experience there was fantastic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2009

I am a senior at Amy Biehl and I have nothing but good things to say about it. My senior project has proved to be a wonderful challenge, my college classes added a significant amount to my knowledge, and the teachers were excellent. If you can make the lottery I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

I am a parent of a sophmore at amy biehl and its the best thing ever. Great community invlovement, lost of parental input and high academic standards
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

I am a graduate of ABHS and I feel that this school in no way prepared me for college. The math class offered is ridiculous. It's mostly word problems on a grade school level. It left me unprepared for college math. Good teachers are few. My advisor actually took money from my senior project and then never paid it back. Also, the grading system is passed off as 'challenging' but you'll quickly find how ludicrous it really is. I also felt that the staff babied me rather than encouraging me to be stronger. And expect complete frustration with their lack of professionalism. More often than not it takes a personal appearance to get answers. If you're looking for a disorganized, unrealistic, frustrating school that plays favorites, look no further.


Posted April 7, 2008

i am a student who is attending amy biehl chater high. after reading the other reviews i have realized that i am having the exact same problems as some of the parents on here. the teachers are very uncaring and just dont seem to care at all about me. today i went to transfer schools and all they did was get mad as if i was doing something wrong. its rediculous and i dont recommend this school to anyone at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2006

As parents of two children that attended Amy Biehl we have very mixed emotions. If you decide to send your child there you better plan on staying there because its difficult to ever switch schools due to the grading system. The student to teacher ratio is not what they claim and their math program leaves a lot to be desired. Lack of communications was so much better in the first two years since then it became quite difficult to ever have phone calls returned. Being told your child failed a certain subject at the end of a semester without a phone call during the semester was also another problem we had. We also found out that once the staff is aware you are leaving you become totally unimportant to them. They do have wonderful teachers such as Brian and Tina who we did find supportive.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 15, 2006

Our son attended Amy Biehl for his first two years of high school. For the most part, the teachers were excellent. The problems surfaced when he transfered to Highland for his junior year. I have discovered that Highland is not the only school to have difficulty trying to figure out just what classes he earned credit for at Amy Biehl. Also Amy Biehl's grading system means a child might have to repeat a class because a passing grade at other schools is an F at Amy Biehl. It seemed to us that once Amy Biehl knew we were going to transfer our son, he lost any friendship or support from the administration. We had trouble getting a transcript, at one point his transcript showed an F for a class that hadn't been completed yet. Maybe Amy Biehl will improve in time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

My son has been at Amy Biehl since 9th grade (Fall 2002. He will be graduating this May (Spring 2006). I am so thankful to Tony Monfiletto for this school. My son has been able to do things that he never could have done in a regular high school. When I enrolled him, we knew there were no sports or extracirricular activities. He attempted to start a club, but no one was interested. That's not the school's fault. My son has done well and is fully prepared for college not only academically, but socially. He has learned to be self confident at Amy Biehl and his Senior Project has inspired him to major in Education. I had no problems with his teachers or any of the staff. In fact, his advisor encouraged him through the in between years when teenagers feel they know everything. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

Amy Biehl has been a disppointment. As a parent, I had to talk to teachers several times about work they said my daughter had not turned in, when in fact she had and everytime they found the work. The student to teacher ratio is not the 15 to 1 as they claimed. The science class has 40 students in it and the math class had 30. There are no extracurricular activities unless the students organize them themselves. The grading scale is set very high (74% is an F), therefore, transferring out to another school and receiving credit for a class which you may have a 73% in is impossible. Amy Biehl is a fairly new school -- hopefully they will figure out what students and parents need and will become successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

This is what most of us wish our schools were like. Diversity is celebrated. Teachers are committed to doing what it takes to get each student to acheive. Still early in development, this school is a gem, and I feel lucky that my daughter made the lottery.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 40% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 47% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8300 Phoenix NE
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sandia High School
Albuquerque, NM





Continuation School
Albuquerque, NM


Early College Academy
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT