Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Onate Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 264 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2013

I am new to this school and what a challenge just to get my child into class. The staff constantly harp on how you can't disrupt the class, to the point of keeping the children out. A teacher made the comment that the staff is very protective of them against the parents, and that is an understatement. It seems they view the parents as the enemy and keep them away from both the school and the teachers. You cannot talk to the teacher before or after school with any concerns, you have to wait until parent conference. I really like the teacher and feel she has a genuine concern for her students, but parent participation / communication is almost against the rules. The secretary/clerk run the school because the principal is only there 2 to 3 days a week and they treat the parents like they are the evil force they must protect the school against. In short, I love the teacher, but dislike the staff. If you enroll your child here, be prepared to go to battle when dealing with any staff member.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

This is our neighborhood school. We've had children attend here for a long time. It is a bit smaller in population than other schools, so it has a bit of a family feel. I can't think of a teacher I don't like. They have always seemed genuinely interested in my children's education. I know everyone here and everyone knows my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I am so glad to have left this school. I adored the teachers, but the administration left much to be desired. My children have progressed so much more since leaving this school. I wish I had done it five years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

Great teachers and good adiminstration! Great teacher to student ratio
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

Have two children at Onate. The size is extremely manageable and I feel that the teachers know all of the students. Teachers, principal, staff and parents are dedicated to making it a great school. The non-traditional schedule is a plus. We are transfers and couldn't think of a better place to send our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

my child attends this school and seems to do just fine but very often the environment surrounding activities (when we have them) make me feel like an outcast. the principal is very snobish almost like she is the queen and will deal with things secretly and only when she feels like it. it really is very sad. i pointed her out to my son and he had no idea who she was. i adore the teaching staff, but it almost feels like they are being watched and are very careful about their interactions and conversations with the parents. i really feel it is very midevil around there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

The school is a wonderful school for children to learn and grow. The curriculum is on target and the teachers are dedicated.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 11, 2007

Onate is a great school. The principal has high expectations, both academically and behaviorally and is clear and consistent with these. Most teachers are great. My only concern is that we lost our School Counselor. Mrs. Moulton was exceptional! She knew all the kids and they knew her. She was in the classrooms and worked with students individually and in small groups. She helped them socially and academically. She made a huge difference to students and parents...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

I really love Onate for my child! Currently there are 2 classes per grade level and the smaller size and teacher attention feel like a private school might. I have been involved in my child's classroom and in bigger school activities (through PTA). The teachers have always welcomed me and have appreciated my help with special projects or events. The school counselor seems to really work on preventing, and educating the kids about bullying, etc. We love the alternative schedule! It is really not much different than the traditional school calendar. Onate will start 2 or so weeks early and have an additional break in October. I have not had problems with the principal, but I don't see her being 'hands on' or very personable with the children or parents. We are actually supposed to be at another school, but we 'transfer' into Onate every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

While the staff for the most part are greatly qualified and caring, the principal is cold, lacks people skills and does not seem to have any genuine concern for her students. Safety issues within the community are glossed over, if ever addressed. Parents are definitely felt unwelcome on the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2005

The principal is not open to changes even when presented with overwhelming parental opinion. Recess is a disaster with K-5 together and not enough supervision. PE twice a week while are and sports are almost non-existent. The quality of teaching does make up for most of it's downfalls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

This school is not well equiped with a principal and teachers, no parent involvement because they do not allow it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

61 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

32 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students67%
Female57%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female70%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students50%
Female50%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female69%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female88%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students46%
Female43%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female57%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 25%
Hispanic 39% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 13%
Black 3% 2%
Asian 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12415 Brntwd Hls NE
Albuquerque, NM 87112
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Acoma Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT