Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Onate Elementary School 2

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
Not challenging. My son's homework is about 2 grades behind where it should be. He is bored and for being 8 he really likes the idea of switching schools. For the most part the teachers are great, but they set the bar really low. Teachers never reach out to the parents. Don't get me started on the days off either. Every break is followed by in service days. Spring break is coming up, but the Friday before they are off for Vernal Holiday? Really???

Onate Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
My family has had a very positive experience with Onate over the past 5 years with both the teachers, staff, parents, and other children. It is a smaller school and I believe that has really helped to make sure no child is overlooked. I have always felt like I could talk to my child's teachers anytime and appreciated all the honest, helpful feedback I would get. Since it is a smaller school, there aren't as many activities or clubs that you might find at larger, well-funded schools but the staff make the most of what they have and do a great job.


Onate Elementary School 1

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
I am new to this school and what a challenge just to get my child into class. The staff constantly harp on how you can't disrupt the class, to the point of keeping the children out. A teacher made the comment that the staff is very protective of them against the parents, and that is an understatement. It seems they view the parents as the enemy and keep them away from both the school and the teachers. You cannot talk to the teacher before or after school with any concerns, you have to wait until parent conference. I really like the teacher and feel she has a genuine concern for her students, but parent participation / communication is almost against the rules. The secretary/clerk run the school because the principal is only there 2 to 3 days a week and they treat the parents like they are the evil force they must protect the school against. In short, I love the teacher, but dislike the staff. If you enroll your child here, be prepared to go to battle when dealing with any staff member.

Onate Elementary School 4

Posted April 03, 2010
- a parent
This is our neighborhood school. We've had children attend here for a long time. It is a bit smaller in population than other schools, so it has a bit of a family feel. I can't think of a teacher I don't like. They have always seemed genuinely interested in my children's education. I know everyone here and everyone knows my family.

Onate Elementary School 1

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I am so glad to have left this school. I adored the teachers, but the administration left much to be desired. My children have progressed so much more since leaving this school. I wish I had done it five years ago.


Onate Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and good adiminstration! Great teacher to student ratio

Onate Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2007
- a parent
Have two children at Onate. The size is extremely manageable and I feel that the teachers know all of the students. Teachers, principal, staff and parents are dedicated to making it a great school. The non-traditional schedule is a plus. We are transfers and couldn't think of a better place to send our children.

Onate Elementary School 3

Posted September 07, 2007
- a parent
my child attends this school and seems to do just fine but very often the environment surrounding activities (when we have them) make me feel like an outcast. the principal is very snobish almost like she is the queen and will deal with things secretly and only when she feels like it. it really is very sad. i pointed her out to my son and he had no idea who she was. i adore the teaching staff, but it almost feels like they are being watched and are very careful about their interactions and conversations with the parents. i really feel it is very midevil around there.


Onate Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2007
- a student
The school is a wonderful school for children to learn and grow. The curriculum is on target and the teachers are dedicated.

Onate Elementary School 4

Posted April 11, 2007
- a parent
Onate is a great school. The principal has high expectations, both academically and behaviorally and is clear and consistent with these. Most teachers are great. My only concern is that we lost our School Counselor. Mrs. Moulton was exceptional! She knew all the kids and they knew her. She was in the classrooms and worked with students individually and in small groups. She helped them socially and academically. She made a huge difference to students and parents...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Onate Elementary School
12415 Brntwd Hls NE, Albuquerque, NM  87112
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (505) 880-3744
Last modified Onate Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top