Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jimmy Carter Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

The teachers should stay in contact with the parents. It shows that they actually care about their students. The folks in the office when you first walk in should act like they want to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

When I went to this school, um about 4 years ago, now a graduate student from Atrisco Heritage Academy. The teachers were great. Let me just say I am MEXICAN, and to the parents complaining about OUR race well guess what?! I was enrolled in ONLY SPEAKING ENGLISH CLASSES. Sometimes its call "get involved" to understand in what school your childeren are in. And by the way I don't know in what country you live in, but as far as I know, majoring in SPANISH gets you way more money then only speaking english, because people prefer bilinguals than people who are racist against a race that over dominats them.. learn you facts befor posting negative about a wonderful school. remember its not the school that is bad its the way children decide to make it. so teach you kids right. no wonder there is bullying just look at the parents these kids have!!!!!


Posted May 22, 2012

FROM STUDENT. All i have to say is this, THISN SCHOOL IS TERRIBLE AND I HATE IT BECAUSE OF BULLYING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS SCHOOL DOESN'T EVEN DESERVE HALF A STAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS A MEXICAN DOMINANT SCHOOL, AND I GET BULLIED IN MY COUNTRY,STATE,CITY,SCHOOL, AND MY OWN NEIGHBORHOOD BY THE KIDS IN THAT SCHOOL, NOT JUST BY THE MEXICANS EITHER. THIS SCHOOL CAN'T FOLLOW WITH THE BULLYING. DISCLAIMER ABOUT JIMMY CARTER: JIMMY CARTER IS NOT A BULLY FREE SCHOOL.


Posted August 12, 2009

Great Teachers! This school is focused on student success. They have great behavior plans to motivate students in order to increase more learning time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I love the teachers at this school. My child id happy, safe and tells me about his day. I have attended parent meetings and feel we need more m=parents in attendance, but other wise it is a great place for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

I think Jimmy Carter is one of the above average middle schools in ALBUQUERQUE. There are going to be those types of teachers that say 'open the books to page 445 and answer questions 1-16.' and there are going to be teachers that take their time to teach the students, care about their needs, and make learning a funner, better environment. The campus is good, I think parents should be more involved because I understand how kids just ramble on and on with weak excuses, complaining about teachers,etc. Academic wise,the school is fairly good. Lunch is not so good. But to think that this is my last year in middle school, I truly am going to miss this school. Evidently, that means there is something positively special and remembered within this school. My point is, Carter is an overall great school, but just needs a few improvements.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2008

This school is one of the best middle schools in Albuquerque, and of course some would disagree but look at they way this part of town boomed, people also need to take that in to consideration. This school is excellent in just about every way, the teachers are kind and they make learning fun. The school has a great campus and a great learning enviroment. I have sent my son here, and my daughter will soon attend JCMS! GO CAVS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I went to Jimmy Carter middle school last year as an 8th grader and it is the best! Mr.Jones is a great teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2006

The principal in this school is terrible they never return phone calls it is like fighting tooth and nail to get a response on how my child is doing. By the way my child was an A honor roll student prior to enrolling here and is now on a below c average. The teachers/staff take more time with the Mexican students then the American students who have problems they cater so my child suffers and has to hear the lessons in Spanish instead of English this is still America isn't it?! Highly un-recommended school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2010.

371 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2010.

389 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students27%
Female25%
Male28%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Native American27%
White36%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities0%
English Language Learner Current6%
English Language Learner Exited32%

Reading

All Students39%
Female41%
Male36%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Native American38%
White36%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities4%
English Language Learner Current7%
English Language Learner Exited50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students27%
Female31%
Male23%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Native American26%
White42%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities5%
English Language Learner Current5%
English Language Learner Exited28%

Reading

All Students32%
Female35%
Male29%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Native American19%
White56%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities12%
English Language Learner Current8%
English Language Learner Exited38%

Science

All Students26%
Female25%
Male27%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Native American7%
White56%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities11%
English Language Learner Current3%
English Language Learner Exited28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students24%
Female29%
Male19%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Native American23%
White20%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities3%
English Language Learner Current9%
English Language Learner Exited30%

Reading

All Students45%
Female48%
Male42%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Native American39%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities16%
English Language Learner Current14%
English Language Learner Exited62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 85% 59%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 10%
White 5% 26%
Black 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8901 Bluewater NW
Albuquerque, NM 87105
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Legacy Academy
Albuquerque, NM


New Life Baptist Academy
Albuquerque, NM


John Adams Middle School
Albuquerque, NM


Truman Middle School
Albuquerque, NM



La Academia De Esperanza
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT