Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southwest Secondary School 1

Posted April 05, 2013
- a community member
This had to be the worst school I have ever attended. The teachers don't help. The classes do not teach me much. The lectures aren't always clear. The social part is lacking severely. Keeping on track is very difficult and in order to keep up, you have to do the classes almost 24/7.

Southwest Secondary School 5

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
Southwest Primary & Intermediate Learning Center Charter Schools are AMAZING! We can't say enough positive things about SLC! Yes, the academic workload is intense. Yes, your child will develop critical thinking skills. Yes, he/she will learn to use logic, deductive reasoning, and abstract thinking. Our goal is to raise our two boys to be functioning, law-abiding citizens with academic & professional skills by the time they graduate from high school. Following in their father's footsteps to be a pilot is the icing on the cake! Not getting enough Art or Music in your local elementary APS school? Send your child to SPLC: Art, Music, Spanish, AND Computer Science are part of the yearly curriculum. Looking for responsive administrators? SPLC & SILC have attentive principals and academic support personnel. Within two hours of receiving a letter reference a bullying incident, the principal contacted me. He provided feedback and had the issue resolved within 24 hours. Pupil Teacher Ratio (PTR) is NOT a problem at this school either. If you're looking for a quality college prep school and can't afford the private school tuition rates, this charter school is the way to go!


Southwest Secondary School 5

Posted July 10, 2012
- a parent
Awesome school!!!!!! 2 boys love it- One will graduates as a college Sophomore because of dual i=enrollment at CNM. NO nonsense meat and potatoes education with some cool innovative twists

Southwest Secondary School 5

Posted May 27, 2012
- a parent
To the parent who's "A" kid had difficulty with a Health class, shame on you. To denigrate a school just because "there were trick questions" and the class you took was "too hard" is disgraceful "sour grapes" tripe. I hope you're not one of those parents who does all the work so little Johnny can get a "straight A" report card. As a test psychologist, I'm not going to get into the very good reasoning for "trick questions," as you call them (such as deductive reasoning, logic, developing critical thinking skills, etc.), but any school that is challenging children (in any subject) to think on their own, should be praised, and that's why I'm giving 5 stars to counteract your "woe is me" whining. Oh, and BTW, my kids took the health course here, and said it was one of the easiest classes in the curriculum (full-time)--and they are not "straight A" students! You know, there's a reason the test scores are among the highest in the state, AND there's a 6,000 student waiting list to get in! Let THAT determine your choices! Look it up!

Southwest Secondary School 5

Posted March 19, 2012
- a parent
Just what my daughter needed! I have one child that attends high school here, another does extended learning classes. She has trouble in a traditional setting getting homework turned in--no trouble here! Classes progress at her pace. She's well ahead of where she needs to be. My other daughter took Health over Spring break and finished quickly. Extended learning program gives so many options! It's a great way to get ahead of schedule/take dual credit classes. School has really worked with us. Best summer PE program! Classes aren't easy, They do require you to demonstrate knowledge of each lesson.


Southwest Secondary School 2

Posted October 02, 2011
- a parent
My son took the online health class (e2020) for high school in order to get that graduation requirement out of the way. Lectures are long and tedious, and test questions often test some minute detail that was discussed in the lecture that has little to do with learning material. The questions almost felt like they were trying to trick you rather than test if you have an understanding of the material. To make things worse, if you miss a question in the quiz or homework section, they will not tell which one you got wrong, and then they ask the same question on the tests in each section. My son managed to complete the course with hours and hours of work with an overall 97% in the class, but it really was torture. He is a straight A student who is normally able to breeze though material, but given the tedious nature of the course, there was no way to speed things up. He had planned to take NM History through SW Secondary Learning as well, but instead he switched to Hope Connection which was much less time to complete. If you are looking for a place to get easy requirements out of the way, SW Secondary is NOT the place to go.

Southwest Secondary School 4

Posted October 14, 2009
- a student
I am a student and I give it 4 out of 5 stars because the social part of the school is lacking and staying on track is VERY hard

Southwest Secondary School 0
no rating

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
My son graduated in 2008 and throught he dual-enrollmetn program, had already earned close to 18 college credits. He was very-well prepared for college and is getting almost all A's in college. Southwest Learning Centers. My daughter is a Sophomore and has earned 14 colege credits. She is the first female and youngest student in the flight school program. She is lerning how to fly and will earn her private pilots license when she is 17. This school does mre than prepare students for college- it prepares students for life!


Southwest Secondary School 4

Posted October 05, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southwest Secondary School 4

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
My daughter loves going here. It is a school where each child works at their own level. Most of the work is done on computers. There are still a few kinks to work out but it is much better than the horrible APS schools. Most of the money is spent on the administration. Charter schools are a good alternative and my daughter is thriving, happy, and staying out of trouble which is excellent for a teenager.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwest Secondary School
10301 Candelaria NE, Albuquerque, NM  87112
(505) 880-3744
Last modified Southwest Secondary School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12
Southwest Secondary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top