Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 91 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandia Base Elementary School 4

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
Teachers show interest in every student in their classroom. They offer a wide range of subjects that the students find fun, entertaining, which makes it easy for students to retain the information of the subject matters. It is also nice to know that the school is very safe for faculty and students.

Sandia Base Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
My daughter went here from Kinder to 4th grade. All of her teachers have been wonderful and caring. Once the principal was changed to Ms. Garcia the school completely changed for the better! Parents were kept well informed, students excelled and communication was opened up for parents. Issues were addressed when Ms. Garcia came to the school. She came into a very broken school and did a fantastic job fixing it!


Sandia Base Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Ms. Pieta, Ms. Vigil, Ms. O'Neil, Ms. Gipson, and Mr. Tester. You All have shown so much compassion, hard work and dedication to making sure our kids got the best education you could give. Your feedback during conferences helped us as parents guide our children in the right direction. Your open communication and guidance made our daughter a successful student. In times of self doubt, you helped her through and showed her that she is capable of things she didn't believe she was. Thank you for caring about our daughter!

Sandia Base Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
All of my daughters teachers have been hard working and helpful. They have taught my daughter so much! She has never felt uncomfortable going to her teachers when she needs help.

Sandia Base Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Started out ok, but if you are not in "The Circle" you might as well not come into the school. It is convenient if you live on base, but there are far better schools out there. My children will definitely be transferring.


Sandia Base Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
Teacher are great! i feel bad that the great teachers are overshadowed by a really crummy principal.

Sandia Base Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Garcia has done an amazing job with Sandia base! Parent/teacher involvement is great as well!

Sandia Base Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
She is great with the students knows each and every one of them by name.


Sandia Base Elementary School 2

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I have been on the fence about this school from the beginning. Unfortunately, I haven't found any redeeming qualities. I am constantly treated like a child by teachers and the principal. Like they actually bend down, put their hands on their knees and tilt their head while speaking to me. I feel that everyone is in desperate need of total control. It's suffocating. This may sound weird, but I am concerned at the amount of pressure they put on the kids academic standing. It is my belief that learning should be fun and enjoyable! But these people are so focused on looking good on paper I worry about how it'll effect the kids and how they view education/learning in the future. It's sad to think that SBES was worse in the past.

Sandia Base Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
We are finishing our first year at Sandia Base Elementary School (SBES) and couldn't be happier. This school reminds me a lot of our previous experience within the DoD school system. It is a small school so all the teachers know each other, the students and parents. The PTA is very involved in helping to make up shortfalls that funding from the school district cannot cover such as buying planners for every student. There are always family friendly events (dances, bingo, parent-day out) being scheduled that help to form the amazing sense of community. My son has participated in the free afterschool clubs program for two different sessions and loved every minute. There is a diverse student population (mainly from military kids) the benefits of exposure to cannot be quantified. My son's teacher and teacher's aide truly care about his success and have worked with me as part of their team so that I can facilitate it at home as well. I am looking forward to next year at SBES!

Nearby schools

Sandia Base Elementary School
Kafb East Bld 21000, Albuquerque, NM  87116
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 91 reviews. (505) 880-3744
Last modified Sandia Base Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top