Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sandia High School

Public | 9-12 | 1949 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

This is for athletes seeking to go to Sandia. Be wary, I was excited for my son who is a great athlete. He went through a horrible experience this year. Coach Broussard is'nt a professional. He is misleading and didn't own up to the impact he caused. He is charismatic and tell you want you want to hear. I've since heard story after story. The administration wasn't helpful. Take your time to attend games and talk to people. On the positive note, it was a learning experience of high school sports politics, sponsorship and favoritism. It is still happening. Good luck
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

Sandia HS is adding an International Baccalaureate (IB) program in 2013. IB is "a rigorous, off-the-shelf curriculum recognized by universities around the world . http://www.ibo.org/


Posted April 1, 2011

Before my husband and I decided to enroll our kids to Sandia, we visited several top Albuquerque high schools in the area. The first impression we got from Sandia was that of a welcoming, engaging, inclusive school. Our student will be a Junior in the Fall and is very happy with the education received thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

I like sandia, i do but i think the teachers are too strict.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2009

Sandia is amazing. The teachers really do care and will do a lot to help students learn and get good grades! Everyone here is nice and they care!!! if you go to sandia the students are very nice and they greatly welcome new freshmen and students! I love it here!!! Sandia has so much to offer to people that are interested in so many different things. You are guarenteed to find something you love here and also many people who also have the same interests as you, whether it be football, chess club, or whatever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2009

this is a really good school and has great community services for students and i strongly recomend it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2009

This is an outstanding school. The teachers care about the students, and it is being remodeled to help with the so called overcrowding. They staff and teachers care about the students and do anthingthing they can to help. This is a excellent school and really people, at any school you can find bullying and drugs. Sandia by no means has a lot of either of these but the truth is that it is the inevidable and every schoool will have some. I love sandia and i am glad i am enrolled there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

This is a great school the teachers interact with us students and help us a lot to improve our grades and maintain them at a certain GPA we try to succeed for.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2009

I have been very disappointed by this school. I would not recommend this school if you are looking for a transfer. There are alot of parent politics. My daughter has been bullied and nothing has been done. We transferred her to Sandia because of the outstanding reviews and being told by the advisor that they were intolerant to problem kids, not so. We have been very disappointed. Not every student has the oppurtunity to play sports as well. It's very overcrowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

I have not found this school to be beneficial at all to my sudent, she was too worried about drugs on campus and bad atmosphere to learn or stay interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

We enjoy our school and I feel connected to the staff. The athletic dept. is a fine one as well. Sports keeps my Son on track. My Daughter enjoys her school too! We must like it, we travel over 25 miles a day to get there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

My son is now a senior at Sandia, and is Special Ed. due to Tourette Syndrome. He has a 3.5 GPA and is on the varsity golf team.The staff and teachers have been very supportive and understanding and overall we're extremely happy he's been successful there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My husband and I did a lot of research with the local high schools when deciding where to send our three children. We picked Sandia because of the curriculum, balance and diversity, and felt the curriculum challenged them. I had two children that were athletes and one child that chose to participate in other extracurricular activites other than sports. They were all treated equally by the teachers and staff administration, a few coaches in one sport only were questionable with fairness. Never were they treated differently by teachers or counselors because one was an athlete and one wasn't. The current principal and past principal have done awesome jobs. In 2007/2008 school year, Sandia High school was recognized nationally as one of the top high schools to attend in the United States. My third child graduated last year, and if the standards and reputation stay the same, my grandchildren will attend Sandia
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

Excellent high school and reputation!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2008

I graduated in 20006, and this school, like most in albquerque has its general problems. The admin staff and councelors are of little help a majority of the time. And yes, they do tend to be more apt to help athetes and the athletic programs than to update science labs and the art department. The advisors did little to help me prepare for college. I was told that i would qualify the the lottery scholarship and little else was done to help me in the way of applying for college, note: i had a 3.9 gpa and i scored a 27 overall on my ACT with a 29 in math and a 28 in science. The teachers vary from being very helpful to basically hating students and teaching. I did not have many problems with other students, but they do exist but i think they are lower than other schools
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2008

We moved into this area specifically for this high school for our daughter; what a mistake! Thinking that the reputation of Sandia as being one of the best in the APS system would assist our child in getting a good education has proven to be erronous at best and even potentially harmful. The counseling staff has acted unprofesssionally on several occassions, and the asst. principal and principal have done nothing but deny and confront when this has been brought to their attention. As soon as this school yr is over, we are out of this dangerous place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

sandia is a great school! its very classy and well kept. i admire the diversity in the school and the way it conducts its teachings. it is probably one of the best, if not the best high schools in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

I have just retired from this school and am very happy to out of the clutches of the the head principal. This school has gone from great to less the desireable.


Posted December 11, 2006

I am somewhat of a stepfather figure to 3 children who have or are attending this school.It is in my option a school that does not care about the no child left behind act as they do not enforce truancy. I have a stepson who missed several weeks of school and we never received a phone call. We now have a daughter who is an aide and is not required to be there or if required not be on time. Some of her requirements for this class is to run and get Starbucks or breakfast. This is very discouraging to me and an argument that never settles AS my previous address let me enroll them in a better school but was outvoted. I hope the parents get more involved with this school as I have seen the problems and have tried to talk to the personal with no results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

I graduated from Sandia. It is one of the best, if not the best High School in Albuquerque. The teachers are great and so is the administration. The security is great too. I never felt unsafe at school. There is a great racial diversity at Sandia and enough groups and activities for anyone to fit into. Sandia's music, athletic, and drama programs are some of the best in the state. The campus is well kept. Great school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

479 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 40% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students41%
Female42%
Male40%
African American18%
Asian58%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities3%
English Language Learner Current7%
English Language Learner Exited23%

Reading

All Students56%
Female60%
Male52%
African American36%
Asian63%
Hispanic49%
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities8%
English Language Learner Current7%
English Language Learner Exited43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students53%
Female54%
Male51%
African American38%
Asian43%
Hispanic49%
Native American36%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities6%
English Language Learner Current8%
English Language Learner Exited40%

Reading

All Students70%
Female76%
Male63%
African American50%
Asian50%
Hispanic68%
Native American64%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities16%
English Language Learner Current29%
English Language Learner Exited44%

Science

All Students53%
Female50%
Male57%
African American56%
Asian43%
Hispanic46%
Native American55%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities12%
English Language Learner Current7%
English Language Learner Exited40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2011.

490 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2011.

490 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2011.

490 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 47% in 2011.

490 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students53%
Female53%
Male53%
African American35%
Asian67%
Hispanic47%
Native American53%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners38%

Reading

All Students60%
Female70%
Male50%
African American29%
Asian44%
Hispanic55%
Native American77%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners6%

Science

All Students53%
Female52%
Male55%
African American29%
Asian33%
Hispanic48%
Native American41%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners6%

Social Studies

All Students61%
Female59%
Male63%
African American41%
Asian39%
Hispanic55%
Native American59%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 59%
White 39% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 10%
Black 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7801 Candelaria NE
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Continuation School
Albuquerque, NM


Early College Academy
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT