Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandia High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted August 23, 2016
- a community member
Boy, there are a lot of staff members that deserve a pat on the back. Mr. North runs an amazing band program. Joe Williams is an excellent AD, and I appreciate seeing him at so many events, supporting all the students, not just the big programs. Mrs. Meyer cares so deeply for her students. Ms. Chase is a great teacher. My boy learned how to really write from her. Mrs. Kivi, Mr. Maestas, Mrs. Draper, and Mrs. Goswick are excellent math teachers. Coach Mubarek does a fantastic job with cross country and track. It just goes on and on.

Sandia High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 23, 2016
- a community member
The school has a strong academic honesty policy and it is clearly articulated. The new IB program adds to the tradition at SHS.


Sandia High School 5

Posted August 23, 2016
- a community member
Sandia has been nothing but great for my children. Both my kids are small, and we were worried about bullying. What a relief to find out how nice the kids are at this school! They were welcoming and friendly. The teachers have been very good. Sometimes they get a little stuck in their ways, but overall, they are really great. I really liked the principal who just left, so I was a little disappointed he was promoted, but I'm not surprised. I hope the new man will be as visible and active for the students and parents.

Sandia High School 2

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
This is for athletes seeking to go to Sandia. Be wary, I was excited for my son who is a great athlete. He went through a horrible experience this year. Coach Broussard is'nt a professional. He is misleading and didn't own up to the impact he caused. He is charismatic and tell you want you want to hear. I've since heard story after story. The administration wasn't helpful. Take your time to attend games and talk to people. On the positive note, it was a learning experience of high school sports politics, sponsorship and favoritism. It is still happening. Good luck

Sandia High School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a community member
Sandia HS is adding an International Baccalaureate (IB) program in 2013. IB is "a rigorous, off-the-shelf curriculum recognized by universities around the world . http://www.ibo.org/


Sandia High School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
Before my husband and I decided to enroll our kids to Sandia, we visited several top Albuquerque high schools in the area. The first impression we got from Sandia was that of a welcoming, engaging, inclusive school. Our student will be a Junior in the Fall and is very happy with the education received thus far.

Sandia High School
no rating

Posted March 22, 2010
- a student
I like sandia, i do but i think the teachers are too strict.

Sandia High School 5

Posted December 22, 2009
- a student
Sandia is amazing. The teachers really do care and will do a lot to help students learn and get good grades! Everyone here is nice and they care!!! if you go to sandia the students are very nice and they greatly welcome new freshmen and students! I love it here!!! Sandia has so much to offer to people that are interested in so many different things. You are guarenteed to find something you love here and also many people who also have the same interests as you, whether it be football, chess club, or whatever!


Sandia High School
no rating

Posted December 13, 2009
- a student
this is a really good school and has great community services for students and i strongly recomend it!

Sandia High School
no rating

Posted December 13, 2009
- a student
This is an outstanding school. The teachers care about the students, and it is being remodeled to help with the so called overcrowding. They staff and teachers care about the students and do anthingthing they can to help. This is a excellent school and really people, at any school you can find bullying and drugs. Sandia by no means has a lot of either of these but the truth is that it is the inevidable and every schoool will have some. I love sandia and i am glad i am enrolled there.

Nearby schools

Sandia High School
7801 Candelaria NE, Albuquerque, NM  87110
(505) 880-3744
Last modified Sandia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top