Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Salam Academy

Private | PK-8 | 92 students

Most students here are 1 grade level above Albuquerque public school students.

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

Salam Academy integrates excellent teaching to prepare our children for better future opportunities with basic Islamic teaching. It is small and gives our children the attention they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Great school with great atmosphere. Qualified teachers and and very co-operative. My daughter loves to go to school and building her skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

My first experience was to come and observe the kids, Imam Shafi'i was also delivering lecture. School was also in good and safe area. Kids there are learning great discipline and are very active. Future expansion will be necessary so more kids can be enrolled. If I get chance to move to Albaquerque, MN I will enroll my kids there. God Willing !!!


Posted April 11, 2014

I believe Salam academy has teachers who really care for their students. Their always having gatherings to get parents involved with the school. They do focus on the teachings of Islam and do a wonderful job with that. There are some down sides in my a opinion, the school is some what unorganized and over crowd with stuff, also it's one of the only islamic schools that doesn't have uniforms so children wear whatever they want not always dressing appropriate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Salam Academy has beena great school for my children. They have attended this school since they were in prek. They currently test more than one grade above the national average. The atmosphere of the school is conservative in comparison to American society so children are not exposed to the adult issues that plague public schools. I would reccomend this school to anyone who wants their child to work hard to do well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

i personally like this school. i have gone to this school from 1grade all the way to 6. this school has a nice environment for Muslim and non Muslim kids mostly Muslim. this is a very caring and loving school.


Posted June 27, 2011

I believe in miracles and this school is a proof of how they are managing great quality and environment while staying within limited resources. I guess that it is because of the prayers of the people that this school has helped.


Posted May 4, 2010

It's a safe environment for Kids to learn about their Islamic religion and academics & for the Staff to teach students. This schools helps students feel comfortable about learning and practicing their religion with their peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Because they support families that cannot afford to pay for the tution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

It is a safe environment where kids are in a comfortable and friendly circle. Dedicated teachers, parents are very involved in the school's direction and great values are instilled in the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The class es are small consequently students get the proper attention and the faculty is commeitted to the purpose of the school and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I love the small class sizes. My children have been able to learn Arabic and Islamic studies right along with regular schooling. My kid's teachers are wonderful, caring and patient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

This school has come so far through the years... I was there through my middle school years and I created bonds with friends there that are still strong today. It's a small, family-oriented school. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I love any Islamic school that will educate our children about our religion. It's the only one in New Mexico and they're trying so hard to make things work for the children of the community they deserve to win.


Posted May 2, 2010

It is a diverse school and inspite of that, the school's enviroment feels like one family. There is good education and a safe enviroment for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I love this school as it is a community school where everyone is like a family. The staff/ faculty are very helpful. Everyone work as a team in development of kids. School standardized scores are high. I cannot wait to see the school to start a high school soon and have their own building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

i have three kids who go to Salam Acdemy and we are happy with this school, we love the fact that Allah gets praise there. They pray Zuhur on time and the children learn how important this time really is. Salam Academy is open to the parents idea's and their opinion too. Which this is a new school about 10 year's now and they are soooooo understanding that i think this is the best school to go to. My childen are learning so much about repect and how to walk in Allah's light. Yes my childen are getting a good education as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

as parent i am not happy with the school i found my kids suffering a lot from the teachers now every year we had new principal, we are not safe in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

I am a parent of three kids in Salam academy. I am so happy with the academic acheivement of my kids in the school. I am happy to see them all reading more and more new Suras of the Qur'an. Thanks to the admin. of the school and to all the teachers. Keep the good job. May Allah reward you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I feel that my child have a better opportunity to learn in this school Arabic and Islamic study beside the regular curriculum than in the regular public school system. I have1 child attending Salam Academy this year. I have been involved with two other charter schools and I must say, this one is the best. Salam Academy makes you feel welcome and they care about your child being successful. The teachers are very good about assisting a child and motivating him to do his best. The principal knows each child and parent by name and never treats you as you are below her. I have enjoyed being involved with Salam Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 1%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 59%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
Urdu
Hindi, Farsi, Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Arabic languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Hindi, Farsi, Spanish
  • Urdu

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Ahmad Hasan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Islamic
Fax number
  • (505) 888-7646

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Differentiated Learning
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arabic languages
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Hindi, Farsi, Spanish
  • Urdu
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

August 01, 2014

 
21
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
92
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Students typically come from these schools
Albuquerque Public Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
AIMS
Sandia Preparatory School
Albuquerque Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3939 San Pedro NE Bldg E
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 888-7688

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cleveland Middle School
Albuquerque, NM


The Learning Community
Albuquerque, NM




Mc Kinley Middle School
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT