Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Of The Rio Grande

Charter | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

My daughter began in the 2nd grade and is now in 5th. She excels in every subject, is allowed to work beyond her level, receives the support and guidance she needs and loves going to school every day. She has built some wonderful friendships as well. The administration is knowledgeable, helpful, professional and friendly. I have never hesitated to ask questions and always receive wonderful responses. My son began attending in his kindergarten year and although he has behavioral issues I felt that the teachers and Ms. Bonnie (the principal) went above and beyond to find ways to assist me and him. Montessori is a style of education that promotes personal growth, accountability, responsibility, community, and fosters learning & MRGC does a fantastic job being a model Montessori school. There is diversity in the community of families and the feel is friendly, welcoming and positive. I can't say enough positive things about this school. Last year's AYP report gave the school a B which is far above almost all public APS schools. I give it an A+ and my kids would agree. At MRGC a child does not just learn, the child flourishes and builds character that s/he will carry through life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

As a new parent to MRGC, I have been actively engaging the school community since Spring09 when my daughter was accepted thru the lottery app process for the 09-10 year. Amazing staff is personable and professional and wonderfully balanced male/female wise. They all care so much about the students and are strict about students' need for personal safe place to learn and aren't afraid to advocate for it. Many other charters seem to cater to parents (probably out of fundraising & PR needs) but this school quickly focused in on my child instead of me. She OWNS that school in her view. That seems to be their view, too, and I like it. As a kindergartener, one would expect nervous hesitation at 'goodbyes' for at least the first week or two. She hesitated very slightly the first day then was ready to fly every day after. So far so good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2008

This is my second year as a classroom teacher at Montessori of the Rio Grande Charter school. Ms Bonnie is the best! She is always putting the children first making sure that they are on target to do their very best academicaly and socially. I could not ask for a better partner in education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2008

In the few months my five-year old has attended the kindergarten program at Montessori of the Rio Grande, she has markedly excelled in reading and other tasks. The administrator is very capable and responsive, as are the instructional coach and my daughter's teachers. The curriculum is well rounded over and above the 'basics.' I love that she is learning about, among other things, nutrition, peace and non-violent communication, world perspectives, etc- and art and Spanish in after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

This is the first year for my son at this school. Coming from an excellent choice preschool I feel as a parent that he is getting the attention and education he craves. The experience so far for him and our entire family has been nothing but positive. There is a wonderful famliy quality and sense of reassurance given from the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

The school is on a beautiful campus and when I started my child there in the private preschool the staff seemed very professional and helpful. The Charter School is a totally different matter. Leadership is poor and erratic at best. The classes seem overcrowded and barely adequate for the kids' needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

Unfortunately, I will not be giving this school a good rating. My child started Kindergarden at this school and is not up to par with children at other schools the leadership at this school has many challenges and unfortunately because of that I know many children who are below garde level. The test scores on this website confirm what I have written. I also know many parents who have enrolled their cildren in tutoring and summer school in order to prepare them for the next grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

We are about to complete our fourth year as a charter school. Our methodology is based upon the work of Dr. Maria Montessori. Our children have opportunities to learn at their own pace with differentiated instruction. Teachers spend many hours observing, implementing, and assessing each student. The campus is surrounded by Cottonwood trees, has a Wetlands with observation deck, a viable gardening program, a park beside us, the Rio Grande River withing walking distance...it is a true place of learning and growing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

My daughter is in 5th grade and has been going there since the first year it became a charter school. I am extremly disappointed in the school system. The majority of all fifth graders that tested for private middle schools did not get in. A large amount of students are in tutoring because they are not even at their grade level. If you want to child to be prepared when they enter middle school even if it is public school please re-think sending your child to MRG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

My girls have been going here since it became a chater school. Teachers care about the childern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

My child is in the 3rd grade. He has been at this new Charter since the 1st grade. The lower elementary, under 4th grade, have been excellent. The whole person approach of Montessori is good for the student and practicing the appropriate human interaction. I have some misgivings about 4th/5th grade as the instruction has been disrupted with 2 changes of teachers this year. The reading program is effective and fun. The use of Montessori materials for more advanced math has not been satisfactory. The cooperative council and the principal have been responsive and receptive to the critics and work to improve. More parent participation is needed as all Charters are administered by the parent council and it is an exhausting job with little parent support school wide. I mean support by showing up, doing the 'work', etc. 150 students is a great bunch of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

29 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

32 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students45%
Female41%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female76%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students63%
Female59%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female88%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students60%
Female69%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female92%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 26%
Hispanic 41% 59%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Black 3% 2%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A68%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1650 Gabaldon Dr NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Horizon Academy West
Albuquerque, NM




Manzano Day School
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT