Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 108 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
The Administrative Assistant Rachel is amazing. She is always friendly and willing to help at any time.

Montessori Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
Students receive a well rounded education that focuses on more than the basic subjects. The music program is the best in the city. The small campus is great for fostering community. All and all a great charter school.


Montessori Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Some outstanding teachers!!!! A few not so much... Thank you to those amazing teachers! I wish you had a better support system in place!

Montessori Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
There are many great teachers and families doing their best to promote fairness, integrity and honesty.

Montessori Elementary School 3

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
The Principal is dismissive to parents. It's her way or the highway. The school programs are excellent.


Montessori Elementary School 2

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
Beware. Most of the staff is related. Principal is confrontational and nepotistic. Children are allowed to walk around unassisted on campus. Would not recommend as an employee or a parent.

Montessori Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a teacher
Principal is confrontational. Interactions very ugly and unprofessional, so sad for what could have been a wonderful school experience for our child. Words of warning, brace yourself.

Montessori Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a teacher
The principal is a very abrasive and confrontational lady. Most unprofessional experience with her imaginable. Brace yourself.


Montessori Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a community member
i have been going to school here ever since kinder now i am entering 5th Grade the teachers are really nice and they explain things in different ways so that all kids can understand i thing that i dont like about TMES is that 4th And 5th graders have P.E. at the end of the day when it is really hot. Another thing that i didnt like about the pastyear is that there was no general music teacher like how there was one in the past. My favorite part of the past school year was probably the TWO overnight trips the 4th And 5th graders take every year one in August/September and one in May the one in May is more fun because the #rd Graders get to come!!!!. Another thing i love about this school are the Assistant teachers i like both of the Assistant teachers in 9-11. The way TMES puts kids in classes are not like any other school that i know of kinder is only 5 And ^ year olds but 6-9 is not the grade it is the age so 6-9 is 1st, 2nd and 3rd graders and 9-11 is 4th and 5th there is also middle school. I <3 TMES aka The Montessori Elementary School

Montessori Elementary School 3

Posted April 09, 2013
- a parent
My son started kindergarten at TMES this year. In all honesty, my list of pros and cons of this school pretty much even out. The school is small, more personal, more individual oriented - and I really appreciate that. I also really like that there is such a strong focus on music and art, but I think that there is a lack of focus on physical education and athletics. Also, the attitude towards standard school and testing is terrible (teachers are very snotty about Montessori being superior to traditional). My son was well ahead of kindergarten grade level in both reading and math when he started school, and it seems to me that he has not been challenged at all. Because he is able to figure things out on his own, he is often left on his own, and instructed to help other students rather than have the teacher do it or have him working on something new to him. I once went to pick him up early from school and was not allowed into the building! I understand not disrupting the classroom, but I should be able to walk in and get my own kid when I need to. I think the anti-parent policy (unless you volunteer all the time) should be addressed. Some of us can't be there every week.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Elementary School
3831 Midway Place NE, Albuquerque, NM  87109
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 108 reviews. (505) 796-0149
Last modified Montessori Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6
Top