Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Mesa High School

Public | 9-12 | 1616 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2011

This school is very dis organized when it comes to registration and scheduling. Called several departments BEFORE school was due to begin. Wanted to know basic information. Registration date, etc. NO ONE EVER ANSWERED THE PHONES IN ALL DEPTS! People were there! We saw them when my husband had to finally take time OFF from work to take over to the school! A party ensued and we were left hanging! This happened again when my grand daughter tried to go and get her schedule. All the women had to take a break and go eat. Told her to come back another day! She has to walk or take a CITY BUS, we live just short of the 2 mile mark for school bus riders! So, make sure if you are moving into this district you are: close to the school or 2 miles away! Don't bother calling!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

They give too much attention to the trouble makers n dont equalize the money spent on sports!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2009

To much attention given to the trouble makers and not enough to the brighter students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

I am of 2 minds about it. First, the teachers are great. It's hard to be a teacher at this school, but the teachers are dedicated to giving their all to try and help these students succeed. It is difficult for many reasons. The student body is incredibly large, and undisciplined. There are exceptions, but this is the case. Parents are not involved, and many of my colleagues talk about parents who get upset at a failing grade for a student that hasn't been to class all semester long, and wants to know why the grade can't be changed. The leadership of the school is a joke, especially the principal. She talks about supporting her teachers a lot, but then quickly finds reasons to belittle them. In my opinion, she has no place being a principal. She made it easy to leave this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 7, 2008

i went there for three years and i thought it was the best school ever it was fun the teachers are good specially ms. Bussey. They have good programs there and its a great school to be in you just have to do your work like your supposed to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2008

West Mesa is a great school I am currently a Senior here and have been going here all 4 years of my high school education. The teachers are great especially Ms. Glauner, Mr. DiGregorio, and Mr. See. I am so glad that I came to this school I have learned so much in my time here. They have great clubs and extracurricular activities and they give a great education to the students there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2008

West Mesa is a terrible school. It's straight up dangerous and when I went there, I absolutely hated it. Teachers are underpaid and never assited me with anything I needed help with. Students were rude and extracurricular programs were virtually non existant. I transferred to La Cueva High School this year, and it's a million times better than West Mesa. They have awesome teachers, great extracurricular activities, and the sports programs are spectacular. All of the sterotypes you hear about LC are completely false. So trust me parents and soon to be high school students, West Mesa is not a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2007

As a graduate of West Mesa I am proud that my sons are now going to West Mesa. Yes the school might be overcrowed but the teachers are very professional and always willing to help. There are some great teachers like Mr Westerberg and Ms Glauner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2005

I've had two sons graduate from this High School and have a gradchild currently attending. What I've noticed as a parent is that the atletics programs are in desperate need of equipment and in some cases leadership. Teachers are always willing to go the extra mile to help students who want to be helped. My experience with the principals has always been positive and as a parent I've been 100% involved in my child's progress in the classroom and throughout their sport's activities. Also as a parent I've spent countless hours volunteering whenever and wherever there was a need for my services. I have to say if there are any weaknesses that I could site it would be in the parents who are apathetic towards their children's progress in their academic endeavors. Parent's need to be involved on all levels and at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2005

As a former student of West Mesa agree that the Principle leadership is almost nonexistant. The teachers are truly under paid for their work, they were always there for me whenever I needed them. The extracurricular activities are there for whoever wants to be involved. Overall my experience as a Mustang was a great experience and I will never forget where I came from.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 22, 2005

The quality of academic programs is poor. They are under staffed, under paid, unorganized, and poorly planned. Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activity is limited. The funds are not avaible to let students particapate in these programs. Parent involvement is almost zero. Parents complain about PTA meetings. Never show up to parent teacher conferences, like it almost an inconvience to be a parent.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 11, 2005

As a former student I did my best to get involed in everything. Cheerleading was a big part of my student life. The teachers were and still are, willing to help the students come to terms with what life had to offer. I have succeeded in my life and I am proud to say I am a MUSTANG forever.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 40% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students17%
Female20%
Male14%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Native American12%
White17%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities2%
English Language Learner Current0%
English Language Learner Exited22%

Reading

All Students30%
Female40%
Male21%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Native American15%
White47%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities2%
English Language Learner Current2%
English Language Learner Exited39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students27%
Female25%
Male28%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Native American24%
White46%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities6%
English Language Learner Current0%
English Language Learner Exited20%

Reading

All Students50%
Female58%
Male44%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Native American41%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities16%
English Language Learner Current7%
English Language Learner Exited41%

Science

All Students23%
Female15%
Male31%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Native American7%
White46%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities3%
English Language Learner Current5%
English Language Learner Exited18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2011.

277 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2011.

276 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2011.

276 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
24%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 47% in 2011.

276 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students16%
Female13%
Male19%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Native American0%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learners7%

Reading

All Students45%
Female52%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Native American33%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learners15%

Science

All Students23%
Female20%
Male27%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Native American0%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learners5%

Social Studies

All Students30%
Female22%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Native American7%
White47%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 84% 59%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 10%
White 5% 26%
Black 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6701 Fortuna NW
Albuquerque, NM 87105
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Life Baptist Academy
Albuquerque, NM



Desert Hills School
Albuquerque, NM


St. Pius X High School
Albuquerque, NM


La Academia De Esperanza
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT