Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cross of Hope Elementary School

Private | PK-5 | 171 students

Our school is known for its strong Christian and Service education component .

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2013

We love CoH because it's more than a school, it's a family! My daughter attended 2 years of CoH preschool. Knowing what the preschool had to offer, we were pretty confident the elementary school was our choice. Prior to even registering for klndergarten, the evnriornment was welcoming and warm. No matter whether we saw the principal, the office manager, any of the teachers, the Pastor, the church members...ALL of them had a smile on their face and made us feel welcome. As planned, we enrolled our daugter in Kindergarten this year and the warm, welcoming feeling is still there today. There is such a great desire to teach the children the academics and about God and the foundation for which he created us in a relaxed environment where high standards are reached. We are so blessed to be a part of the CoH family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Cross of Hope Elementary School has been the perfect fit for my son. The teachers have high standards and expect a lot from the kids, but they do not try to fit them "in a box" of how they should learn. Instead, they seek to understand each child's unique learning style to enhance their experience. The small classroom size and encouraging atmosphere has allowed my shy son to blossom in his confidence. When I first visited this school, it was actually not on my radar, or a first choice based on online research, but after visiting and seeing the school, my gut told me it was right and I am so happy that we found Cross of Hope.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

The Cross of Hope community of parents, teachers, administrators, and church members, are wonderful. They work hard to make each student a success. The small class size and dedicated teaching staff makes this school a gem. This school has done great things for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

COH has been a wonderful experience for our whole family. We transferred mid year from another larger school and immediately knew that it was the right fit for our kids. The very well trained and talented teachers provide a challenging, but fun and loving classroom environment. The principal is top notch in professionalism, in her love for the children, and in leading with integrity and graciousness. Christian character and solid principles are nurtured into the whole school day, not just during a Bible lesson. There is a very sweet spirit here that is evident even on the playground--older children helping and playing with the younger children. The school is clean, attractive, and welcoming. It feels more like being part of a family than a school and parent involvement is welcomed. The stellar test scores plus the more affordable tuition make this a gem of a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

Cross of Hope offers an outstanding academic progrram for children in pre-school through Grade 5. We recently moved from out of state where my daughter was enrolled in accelerated classes. I was concerned with finding a strong academic program that would keep her challenged. We have been thrilled with Cross of Hope. Their test scores are very impressive and, because of the small class size, teachers can tailor lessons to their students' needs. My daughter loves the small environment. It is a warm wonderful place with caring committed teachers. It is affordable -a great value in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

Cross of Hope is an amazing school! My children have been going there for two years and we absolutely love it. The academics are very strong as evident by their nationally ranked test scores. The teachers at Cross of Hope are wonderful. They are highly educated and use their skills in amazing ways in the class room. Cross of Hope fosters a warm and caring environment that allows student to feel comfortable to excel at learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

We love Cross of Hope. The community of parents, teachers, administrators, church members, etc. is wonderful. They work hard to make each student a success. The small class size and dedicated teaching staff makes this school a gem.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2012

We love this school. Excellent teachers and high standards. Kids have a blast in school while learning. Our daughter started out in their preschool and is now in kindergarten; we couldn't be any happier. I like the fact too that parents are really involved in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

All three of my children have attended Cross of Hope. My oldest is a graduate and now attends Hope Christian Middle School. He was well prepared for MS and the transition was not difficult for him. I also have 2 daughters currently enrolled in the school. We all love the school! They are receiving an excellent education in an caring atmosphere that makes them feel important and encouraged. The individual attention and support given to each child is invaluable. The smaller, Christian setting has provided a community that truly feels like family. We are thankful for COH School, our teachers and staff!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

My daughter attended all 5 years and my son begins in the fall. I can not say enough good things. While no place is perfect, the overall environment and staff are fantastic. My daughter's education has been above average. We did a short stint out of state is a highly rated public school and she was well ahead of the other students there. Her national test scores are solid and if you look at the test scores of the overall school nationally it's amazing for a school of this size and age and tuition cost. I love that every single staff member know's who my child is what her name is and what my name is. They care about HER success, not how she makes the class look or how it reflects on the children around her. Fantastic, and money well invested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

Fantastic school! We have been here for the past two years and can not say enough good things. The principal and teachers provide a safe, caring school for children to learn and thrive. The academics are superb. We are confident that our children are provided with an excellent education and a love of learning. This school does participate in standardized testing so you can compare scores with a national ranking. We like the small class sizes and feel that it provides the children with the opportunity to receive individual attention. The teachers are loving, smart, and sometimes quirky which provides for some wonderfully funny moments. Mrs. Halstead is an excellent principal who runs the school very well. She is present and active in ensuring that everything flows smoothly and that the students are receiving the best experience that can be provided. Parents are welcomed and encouraged to play an active role in the school whether helping in the classrooms or offering support in after school activities. We feel blessed to have found such a wonderful school community and look forward to the years ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

This school is a great environment for children to learn. The teachers are talented and caring and it has a very active parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2010

Cross of Hope Elementary was founded in 2004 beginning with kindergarten. It has now grown to a school with grades Kindergarten through 5th grade. It has a solid and competitive core curricular program as well as music, physical education, art, computers, library, student council, daily Spanish and Christian education, and after-school care. There are currently 76 students enrolled in the elementary school and 105 students in the preschool. The school building and playgrounds are safe, clean, and attractively laid out. This school is growing steadily and is strongly committed to community service and Christian values. It has an excellent and dedicated staff of state certified and degreed teachers. Check out our website at www.crossofhope.org for more information.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 24, 2009

This school will be great in a few years. For the Fall 2009 school year COHLES underwent a huge re-structring. All of the teachers except one and the principal were replaced. So, all of the statistics are based on the efforts of emplyees who are no longer there. The staff are very caring and the Christian environment is superb but they are lacking scholastically and in organization. I would highly recommend that parents wait a couple of years for the school to sucessfully re-organize before enrolling their child. The staff has the desire to be great again but they aren't meeting my expectations at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

We love the Christ centered education that our son received at Cross of Hope. The teachers show daily that their number one desire is to love these children and to teach them from their hearts. These teachers truly love their job and it easily shows in the way the children learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

My son is starting first grade there this year; he finished kindergarten there in May. It has been overwhelmingly a positive experience and feel that it is the best money I spend every month - every penny is worth it. He has learned so much, is receiving an excellent Christian education, and experiences great role models in his friends, their parents, and especially in the educators. fabulous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

This is one of the best schools is Albuquerque. I have a daughter that just graduated and another in third grade. The teachers and principal are top notch, most of the teachers have master degrees +. If you want a quality, christian based education, at a resonable price then COH is your choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

Cross of Hope has a great preschool program. The teachers are friendly and patient and my daughter has enjoyed her time there for 2 years. I don't, however, see that it's any better or any worse than any other preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 26%
Hispanic 39% 59%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 1st place City-wide Spanish Poetry Contest (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • American Heart Association Rookie of the Year (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sharon Halstead, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ELEA
Fax number
  • (505) 897-9455

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Bosque Field Science
  • American Heart Foundation
  • APS Special Education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Houses for character developme
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
171
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
171

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bosque School
Sandia Prep
Hope Christian
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6104 Taylor Ranch Rd NW
Albuquerque, NM 87120
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 897-1832

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT