Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Zuni Elementary School

Public | K-5

We are best known for amazing teachers & technology.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2012

I have had my child at Zuni for five years. First, there is no way that half the staff has left Zuni in the last two years. Secondly, the new staff is WONDERFUL and the remaining staff is GREAT! My son has one of the best teachers I have ever seen this year. He loves school and is being challenged in ways I didn't believe was possible. The principal clearly has a vision for the school. Her desire to use technology to expand teaching and learning has resulted in my son producing work that is far beyond his current grade level. If you really want your child to be challenged and to be exposed to critical skills, send them here. Since it is a magnet school, they accept transfers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

I'm a concerned parent because I've seen nearly half the staff leave Zuni Elementary in the last two years. The high percentage of teacher turnover is alarming and I want to know why so many outstanding teachers are choosing to leave this school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

This has been the best year so far for my student! I think the changes they've made have been fantastic. My child's teachers don't seem unhappy at all, they seem to love their job and the school. My child learns quickly and is in a situation where he is grouped with others that also learn quickly. He doesn't have his needs ignored while the teachers spend all their time with kids who are struggling. Kudos to a school (and a principal) that is willing to step out, do something a little different, and give kids who are faster learners the challenge they need!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

I have been part of the Zuni Community myself for some time now myself and wanted to sort of "respond" to the last review. I, too, believe that Zuni has been trying to do a lot of changes without a lot of administrative support. I don't know if it is lack of support from the principal, or from the district, but I feel like the teachers are working very hard to make us, the parents, happy. I have had many questions for my student's teacher only to be redirected to a reading teacher or a math teacher. I don't think my student's teacher knows her as well as I wish she did. I think the communication is not a strong as it has been in the past, and this is hard for me. I wish my student had one teacher all day long. It would help a lot! Although I appreciate all of the technology Zuni has, I miss the way Zuni used to be. My student isn't in middle school yet! Don't treat her like she is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

I am class of 2011 at Zuni Elementary Magnet school. It was VERY VERY VERY FUN! All my teachers were nice and FUN! All the activities like Communication Celebration or Zuni fund -run were VERY FUN! Although we have 6 years of elementary school,I been at Zuni 5 years because I went to another school 1st grade. I think Zuni is the best school and I"ll never forget it. I"m going to miss Zuni.


Posted April 24, 2010

Both of my children went to Zuni, which is a magnet school for computers and communication. They went from Zuni to the Albuquerque Academy, a highly competitive private school, because they were well prepared. Currently Zuni is a Title 1 school, yet it has met Annual Yearly Progress because of the gains the students have made. I have taught at Zuni for 14 years, and currently hold the position of teaching the full day program for highly gifted learners. Students come to my program from all over the city. Zuni has not only a strong program for gifted students, but a strong commitment to keeping abreast of changing technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

My two children are transfers to Zuni. We were nervous about a new principal, but Mrs. Elder has already made some great changes and the teachers are really positive about her. We'll stay at Zuni for the duration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

My child has attended Zuni for the last couple of years. I think safety in this school should be reevaluated and taken a lot more seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2005

Zuni Elementary is a great school. My adopted son has been attending there since 1st grade. My biological children all attended there. The teachers and staff are personable, knowledgeable, and professional. There really have helped my learning-challenged son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students61%
Female56%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Current33%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female58%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Current8%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students71%
Female67%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female67%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female72%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students49%
Female49%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities15%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female74%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities15%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 59%
White 30% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 10%
Black 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Community Engagement Recognition, Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce (2009)

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:10
School end time
  • 3:45 (1:45 on w
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Deborah Elder

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • We have 15-25 volunteers daily who support every facet of the school, from classrooms to the library.
More from this school
  • Families choose Zuni because they want the highest quality of academic instruction with a focus on technology and communication.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 Claremont NE
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Queen Of Heaven School
Albuquerque, NM


Christ Lutheran School
Albuquerque, NM



The Family School
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT