Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mc Kinley Middle School 1

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
If your looking for a middle school for you student to attend I strongly advise you to not choose McKinley middle school. This is the most unqualified and unprofessional staff I have ever dealt with. From the principle down to the "teachers". Their M.O is anti-bullying but this school is notorious for bullying and the staff not doing a thing about it. A "teacher" even put her hands on my son and when we confronted the principle about it she told me campus APD was looking into it and nothing was done about it. The staff has an attitude and don't care about the students education and care less of what concerned parents think. Again I strongly encourage you to not let you student attend this joke of a school. McKinley gives APS a very bad name and I would hate to see any student go through what my son has endured in the time he was there. Please DO NOT let your child attend this school. I would give this school a zero but one is the lowest I could choose. Very bad school.

Mc Kinley Middle School 4

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
Its a good school, the curriculum is very good, this is my daughters first yr and so far it has been a good experience for her. Only thing is the school lacks funding for updated equipment. It would be nice to see this school get a little help in expanding the tools for teaching these bright young students.


Mc Kinley Middle School 2

Posted July 26, 2012
- a parent
While there are some great teachers, overall the school is terrible. Bad kids, bad teachers, no communication, etc. I never even heard from half of my child's teachers. When I asked for contact info I learned half didn't have emails! At 1 meeting I asked about repeating since she had failed all year and nobody knew!! I couldn't even get an update on her grades! We were bombarded with the anti-bullying message, yet when my child was bullied - NO RESPONSE. She tried meeting with the counselor for help & was turned away. She also tried to report bullying towards a friend and was repeatedly turned away/ignored. Teachers would refuse to answer questions and told kids to "figure it out" My daughter gave up because "I'm frustrated because they never answer the question I am asking" When I asked her what she learned this year she said, "to act like a brat like everybody else. It's a good thing I was only there 1 year or I'd have a bad attitude too." She heard teachers call students toads & brats, told students they couldn't be trusted, etc

Mc Kinley Middle School 5

Posted September 07, 2011
- a parent
Great Teachers! Very Caring and Interested in each child. Teachers spark interest for students and that is important!

Mc Kinley Middle School 4

Posted March 06, 2011
- a teacher
McKinley, despite some comments, is actually full of caring staff and faculty. We have great kids, caring teachers, and all strive daily to make our school as great as possible. It's difficult to read other comments that sum up our whole school by ONE experience. I have been teaching here for five years and believe I work with one of the most caring staff APS has to offer.


Mc Kinley Middle School
no rating

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
Very unresponsive. Have had very little feedback from the teachers. The IEP Meeting was a joke. They have failed to tell me what they plan on doing to help my child learn in the classroom and kept asking me when I plan on putting my child on medication.

Mc Kinley Middle School
no rating

Posted February 09, 2010
- a student
I think that this school can be fun and educational but the students just need a little more support from the teachers! And parents!

Mc Kinley Middle School
no rating

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
This is the most child unfriendly school we have experienced. The focus is not on encouraging children to choose education but to encourage them to choose their rules and regulations. The atmosphere is negative toward child development. They don't seem to be able to handle teen development and challenges in a positive manner.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mc Kinley Middle School
4500 Comanche Rd NE, Albuquerque, NM  87110
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (505) 880-3744
Last modified Mc Kinley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top