Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dennis Chavez Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 709 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2011

My Daughter has been going to DCES for two years now and the first year her teacher was great. She went above and beyond to help the children learn more. This year it is a different story. My daughter was struggling with her math and reading. I could not understand how she was going from great to really bad in a summer. After looking at her homework and classwork, I noticed the way I was teacher her to do math was different then the teacher. She told the teacher she did not understand the way she taught it. I tried time and time again to get ahold of the teacher and she was always out that day or too busy to call me back. I am hoping for the best this coming year, but it is a wait and see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

We have been at this school for a little over a year now and my son does like it here. Yes they do only get 15 mins to eat but they can stay longer and miss out on some of their recess. My only complaint is that the teachers seem so busy and as soon as the bell rings they walk the students out and then are gone. If you want to talk with one of them you pretty much need an appointment . I realize they too have a life and family however if you have a question or comment they just seem to be rushed. Also we had curriculum night a week or so ago and in my son's classroom there was a 30min powerpoint with no time for questions or comments afterwards as the principle announced they had 5 mins to get to the office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

I am surprised and disappointed in some of these reviews. Dennis Chavez is an awesome school, and we are very thankful for the teachers, staff, and for the safe, wonderful environment. We have had nothing but kind teachers, who by the way do not make policy changes. Take that up at your next School Board Meeting, and let's give the Principal a chance. He's a nice guy, and doing a great job! Now for that May 5, 2010 Reviewer, you state you are a parent, but come on, with as much info as you came up with, that is just too hard to believe! AND for the other parents that hate Dennis Chavez, please do the rest of us a favor that have with a positive attitude, and LEAVE. We are happy here, and the test scores alone prove our children's success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

DCES is evolving. It is changing. Sometimes change is hard and slow, but it happens. In many ways the school is getting better. I don't think this is the forum for posting something that pertains to just you or your child unless it is widespread. If so, it is best to address your issue with the school first, and then the district. The lunch room situation is being addressed. Many of the teachers are caring and wonderful. A handful should probably be in another line of work. I would imagine this is true at all schools. I continue to believe that DCES is a fine school, and my child is entering the upper grades, where I only have great expectations for the last 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

This school is amazing and always has been because of the great teachers we have. Parents who come in and want to nit pick at everything obviously has never worked in a school. Lunches are not taken away, and the kids have only 15 minutes to eat so this time needs to be used to eat and not talk. This is not HAPPY HOUR or social hour, recess can be used to socialize. The upper grades have excellent teachers who work hard to give these children and excellent education. But unfortunately with ignorant parents who don't want their children disciplined for any reason, how can a teacher get their job done with these parents always butting in!!!! I would hate to have to work at this school with parents who always complain. They fail to realize that that teaching is a hard job. Overworked and underpaid, could they do it?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Parents- beware of the ratings and look at the dates on the comments! This was a good school up until about 2 years ago, but it has seriously gone done hill since then. Children screamed at nonstop rhoughout their 15 minute lunch, classrooms punished by having part of their lunch taken aware, student teachers crying because they cannot control the class while the real teacher leaves to go pick up food and catch a smoke break (not on off period), waiting six months for testing by a diagnostician. The school is still decent in the lower grades, but is severely lacking past second grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

This is a wonderful beautiful campus. Great teachers who really care and have taught my son so much. They make it a fun happy environment for the kids and still include all the necessary learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Hate this school. My daughter hates this school as well. The teachers for the most part are incompetent and the principal does not seem to exist. There is no parent involvement in the school and if your child has any special needs like ADHD then don't expect any understanding from the school. Rather they expect you to put your child on drugs or else you get threatened with them being placed in special ed. Even though my daughter is extremely smart and even ahead of where her class is, because she has ADHD they pretty much demanded that I have her placed on drugs to control it or else she couldn't stay in the normal classes. I hate this school and can not wait to move out of this location. This school is far from deserving of a '10' rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

My daughter is in 5th grade at DCES this year and has been there since Kindergarten. I have had nothing but positive experiences with the school and her teachers. As for not offering computer instruction, each classroom has computers in it and the students are provided with computer training so I don't understand that complaint. The principal is new and I don't know him well, but the previous principal was there for a very long time and helped the school one of the best, so it is understandable that Mr. Zuniga is receiving criticism for just being different. The school has always solicited and welcomed parental involvement, the school is well kept and I know my kids are safe there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

It is appalling that the school is not offering computer instruction any more. The PE teacher and a brilliant counselor were chased off a few months ago. My kids' enthusiasm for the school has plummeted. Luckily, there are still some wonderful teachers left - I wonder for how long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

I love the new principal! You are never going to make everyone happy. For our family, we have enjoyed the new principal's flexibility and willingness to listen. There are some amazing teachers at this school, we have been blessed with great teachers for our children. I do not feel like it is fair to comment on teachers that I have no experience with. It is a very diverse school and I feel like the staff goes above and beyond to reach every child. We must remember that it is not up to the school, we parents bear the responsibility of producing well rounded, hard working, and socially adept children. I have two children there and both perform very well both academically and socially. I give kuddos to the PTA and all the parents involved. I believe it is a great public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

This is a strong school with a lot to offer all kids. In reading some of the criticisms of the school/teachers/principal, I wonder how involved the parents were in the school. There's a yearly art fair, science fair, running club, yearbook club, chess club. There are events at least monthly from the small 'Popsicles with the Principal' to 'Balloons and Breakfast' (starting off Albuquerque's Hot Air Balloon Fiesta). If you don't participate, I imagine it could seem like there's not a lot of leadership/organization. If you attend theses events, you see how much time the parent association puts into the school, and how much the teachers and principal are receptive to and respond to that effort. As with any public school, you get out of it what you put into it, but this school goes the distance--it's provided a great education for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

New principal in 08, He lacks enthusiasm and leadership. 3 very well respected teachers left in 09. Dennis Chavez has some very strong teachers and some very unprofessional teachers. No technology program, no language program, school does not meet the needs of the very bright child. APS does not think outside a box very well and is too large to get anything done efficiently, students suffer. We transfered from Arizona school and this district is way behind the times in technology, curriculum and languages among other things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

Wonderful school with great teachers and safe enviornment. Much better school than others in the area. Great neighborhood and school district. A place where I feel very comfortable sending my children. I have had a good relationship with all the teachers my children have had so far and felt good about their devotion to the education of their students. I could not feel better about sending my children to a school in Alb, N.M.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

It is the best school! We are a transfer family and it is well worth the trip from the west side to the east side. I pray my son will be able to attend. They are not accepting any transfers for next year. Luckily he won't be going til the 2010-2011 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Classrooms are overcrowded with 20 - 23 students per class. Parents were told they could not help in classrooms, Teacher 'barked' at students, all of them, when a few misbehaved. Counselor was very helpful & concerned. Principal took time to speak with us. Duty teachers at lunch and on the playground should be aware of what the children are doing, listen to them. Don't tell a 6 year old to 'handle it'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

My son is a gifted student with special learning needs. He's attended other elem. schools in NM, but Dennis Chavez is the best by far! The entire staff at this school is like a family. They are 100% supportive of the kids on an individual level. The parents are wonderful and very involved. My neighbor's son is in an expensive private school that had a chess competition last week. Their school lost to Dennis Chavez, who took 1st place! The teachers are wonderful, and the curriculum challenging. This school is well-supported financially because of doting parents and a hard-working PTA. Also, a large variety of races and ethnic backgrounds in this school--asian, middle-east, african-american, caucasian. My son's best friend is from India. Prepare for homework if you attend this school. Parents are required to be involved in homework assignments. New additions added to the building and playground are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

I have 2 children in this school - teachers are good. Do the teachers speak up for our kids? There is no sense of pride about the children's accomplishments - varsity chess club won 1st in the league it was briefly mentioned & where did all the trophies go? Kids should feel the school supports them. New math this year & they shorten school time? Check surrounding states - no Wed 12:30 or the number of inservice days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

It is refreshing having a grade level that works so well together, third grade. Because of their plannning that they do together every week ensures that my child is receiving the same education that the other third graders are getting. My child has enjoyed the hands science that the school is using. Thank you DCE teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

Excellent school with one of the best, most-organized principals in the district. A school where parents are involved in a good way -- helping their students excel in the classroom without micromanaging the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

134 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

120 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students69%
Female67%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities27%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female85%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic72%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities27%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students77%
Female72%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Hispanic66%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited82%

Reading

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited91%

Science

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities12%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities24%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 25%
Hispanic 36% 58%
Asian 9% 1%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 13%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7500 Barstow NE
Albuquerque, NM 87109
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hope Christian School
Albuquerque, NM






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT