Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marie M Hughes Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

I have had experience with this school for several years. Overall the school is average. There are some fantastic teachers and some not so great teachers and then there are those that fall in between. The Principal seems very nice, but the office staff is horrible. If this were a business, they would have been shut down a long time ago, because of how rude the two women in the office are (one more than the other). I get so tired of volunteering MY free time outside of my job only to be treated so poorly. This school needs parent involvement, but at the rate they are going, they will be lucky to get anyone to come in and volunteer. This will continue to be a "D" school until the administration starts embracing their parents instead of turning them away. The PTO has tried on several occasions to get me to join, but every time I have tried to volunteer I have been treated so rudely that I refuse. I know I am not the only parent that feels this way. Too bad the administration does not understand the meaning of the work "public" school. Great schools are not successful because of the office staff, but because of the strong community supporting them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

We are very disapointed with this School I have read the other reviews and parents with gifted children love this School but as a parent with a child with ADHD this School has treated our child Horrible. We have been begging for them to work with us to make School a positive experience for our child and they just ignore all of our efforts. The office staff is so rude and make parents feel like a bother ( I think its time for a new office staff). The best thing in this School is the nursing staff they have been amazing and have become the voice for our child. We will not be sending our child back to this mess of a School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

We are very happy with our daughter's teachers! We love the program for gifted children. The staff is very accomodating to meet her needs. The office staff treats parents as an interruption rather than part of the school community. This school does have some issues with bullying. Most of the problems come from the before and after school program run by the city. That program is terrible and not properly supervised. We had to remove her form the program it was so bad. Her teachers were helpful working with us to keep our daughter bullying during school to a minimum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Many dedicated, caring and intentional teachers. Classrooms getting too large (an APS issue). Art or music only once every other week every other year (better than nothing, but kids need to stretch right side of brain as well as left regularly). Great parental involvement, though front office staff makes it tough to be involved as they treat parents like threats instead of welcome partners. Some fun extracurricular activities,e.g. jogathon,book fair, game night and literacy nights, Husky Howl.In a state with some real problems meeting basic competencies, solid education is provided here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

this school was ok the gifted program was absolutely wonderful, I also had some good teachers. My one huge problem with the school was that they did very close to nothing about bullying. One child had to leave the school it got so bad. Also my little brother and I were bullied and it has continued until i went to middle school and my little brother is still being bullied


Posted June 22, 2010

My son came to this school from collet park and wow what a difference! Staff and students are so different. Staff is friendly and actually care about the students learning. My son had a huge change in attitude when he started Marie Hughes. I'm glad to know my daughter will be a attending this school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

This school offers a "gifted" program for the exceptional students. This program is a farce, the program fails to cater to the students needs beyond having higher levels of education. The "Gifted" students are segregated from the normal students not only by transplanting the "gifted" students into a special class room two to four days of the week, but by also making them sit together at lunch away from their other friends from the regular class they attend. This lunch table is also right next to the special needs student table. I found this program unacceptable and detrimental to the students growth both educational and social.


Posted May 27, 2010

A student at this school was reprimanded and discouraged from raising their hand when they asked how old the Earth is. The Teacher also did not answer the question.


Posted May 7, 2010

I was not satisfied with this school at all. I have had problems with this school since my child started to attend it. I would not recommend any parent with a special needs child to this school. I have a special needs child and the teachers and staff did nothing to help her and only made the situation worse. My child now hates school at 8 years old because of the poor example this school has set for it's students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

I think its a good school it shows leadership, confidence,success,and last it shows discipline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2006

Quality of academic programs: 8.5/10 The faculty & staff are clearly dedicated to investing as much energy as needed to meet individual student needs. From peer-based reading groups, to formal gifted education programs, to class projects, the quality of techniques employed for student benefit is high. Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities: 8.5/10 Excellent variety and opportunities beyond traditional teacher led instruction is available. There are numerous activities including, but not limited to, languages (eg Chinese, Spanish, Japanese,etc), sports, music, science fairs, regularly scheduled art/music/gym courses. Level of parent involvement: 9/10 There is something for everyone here. Clearly the member of the communities surround Marie Hughes are dedicated parents. Simply observe the sheer number of parents routinely assisting in the classroom and attending functions. Of course, more hands-off parents are welcome as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

116 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students56%
Female65%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female84%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students43%
Female44%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities17%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female59%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities11%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students62%
Female61%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities44%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students54%
Female56%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities13%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female82%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities12%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 59%
White 29% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 10%
Black 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5701 Mojave NW
Albuquerque, NM 87120
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT