Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Double Eagle Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 497 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

121 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2013

This is a great school with much parent involvement. However last year the district lines were re-drawn to ease the overcrowding at North Star. The result? Twenty-seven children in our child's 5th grade class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

This is my daughter's second year at the school and she loves it. The staff are wonderful and very personal. They take the time to get to know the families personally so I feel like I have a close relationship with my daughter's school. They are very family oriented and I appreciate that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

My daughter has attended the school for the last two years, 3rd and 4th Grade...she has been entirely happy and settled in well. As a parent I have been pleased with the school and her teachers both educationally and the care/support provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

I have two children who currently attend Double Eagle. We have been very pleased with our teachers. They are all caring individuals who want the best for each student. In my experience, if a student is struggling, the teachers are willing to work with parents to find the right method that works for that child. Additionally, our experiences with the administrative staff have been positive. There is a high level of parental involvement at this school, and this creates a positive sense of community for students and parents alike. We feel very lucky to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

I have had the privilege to work at six different APS schools in my decades as a teacher. Double Eagle has the strength of dedicated and passionate teachers as well as a strong principal who works well with, and listens to students, families, and the staff. Teachers work to provide meaningful lessons that meet the needs of each student. Art and music are often integrated into a variety of lessons. One characteristic that makes Double Eagle outstanding is the support of the parent community. The students and staff are very fortunate to have such dedicated and generous parent volunteers. I feel extremely fortunate to work at this wonderful public school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 12, 2012

I've been working as a teacher for Albuquerque Public Schools for a number of years now. I've taught at several different schools in the city while working as both a student teacher, and then a professional teacher. I've met many wonderful, and hard working, teachers (and parents) at each of these schools regardless of their test scores. I respect the work that my colleagues in APS are doing. That being said, the community that I have the pleasure of working with at Double Eagle is by far the most, positive, hard working, thoughtful, and dedicated group of people I have ever met. The principal is supportive of the teachers, while understanding of the needs of the community as a whole. She has high expectations for the students and staff, and she works tirelessly to ensure that we're always striving for excellence. The parents are highly involved in the school, and the staff invite the parents to participate in their child's education whenever possible (within reason.) The teachers often work well beyond their required hours to ensure that their classrooms are positive, productive, safe, and caring learning communities. I am proud to call myself a Double Eagle teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 9, 2011

I agree with the review posted on 02/05/11. "There are a handful of great teachers and if you're lucky your kid will get one. Really don't know why this school gets so many great reviews." Not a strong principal. Private school is definitely the way to go in Albuquerque.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

Double Eagle is an okay school. There are a handful of great teachers and if you're lucky your kid will get one. Really don't know why this school gets so many great reviews... other than parent involvement there is really nothing all that special and now, more so, with all the recent budget cuts. If you can afford to put your kids in private school you're better off especially when it comes to public education in Albuquerque.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

The teachers go the extra mile!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

My three grandchildren are very happy at Double Eagle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

Strong parent involvement and volunteering
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

interactive teachers; online review material
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Double Eagle is a great community of educators and parents who recognize the importance of excellent elementary school education and strive to provide it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

The teachers and the stuffs are so nice and full of energy, most important they are professional, they care about their students and work hard with their hearts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

Great teachers & facilities; involved parents. The principal is on top of things. I have a Special Needs child and they are working very hard to accomodate his needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

Parent interaction within the school makes it much more successful. We always have a parent who is willing to run a program. We have a wide range of activities and groups that the kids can paticipate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

This school has really fantastic,hard working teachers who are very dedicated to their students; they encourage the children to be the best they can!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

Because my niece goes there and she loves it!!!


Posted November 2, 2010

Double Eagle has been a wonderful experience for my children in more than just an educational way. The community and family atmosphere created by parents, faculty and students has made learning for both of my children both academic and emotional. I've been pleased with the teachers and their interest and care in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

Excellent school and teachers...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students85%
Female86%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities55%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities55%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female94%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students71%
Female67%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities10%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female91%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities50%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 26%
Hispanic 25% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 10%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8901 Lowell NE
Albuquerque, NM 87122
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Mountain View Academy
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT