Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Star Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Principal Fascitelli is an excellent leader for North Star! We couldn't be happier to have her as the school principal.

North Star Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
As a parent, I couldn't be happier with our experience at North Star Elementary. Amazing principal and teachers.


North Star Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
The school's leadership sets the standard for excellence that is echoed by the staff and educators. (April '13 parent must not have attended NSES as the princiPAL leads the school, not the princiPLE). NSES boasts many programs including a Technology program led by an APPLE DISTINGUISHED EDUCATOR award winner (extremely high honor). Children are supported by committed educators who are backed by an influential PTA. We could place our boys in private school, but we would simply be paying tuition expense for an experience that doesn't match NSES. Downside: NSES casts a large shadow onto its Middle School partner. You will be disappointed when matriculating to Desert Ridge Middle School after the experience of NSES. DRMS doesn't replicate the environment or results of NSES. This is where many could argue value for a private school setting.

North Star Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Principal Stephanie Fascitelli and Assistant Principal Misty Smith are models for systemic effectiveness. They have created an environment that truly focuses upon students with an exceptional set of educators and staff. The school's environment is safe and inclusive while still promoting advancement and healthy competition.

North Star Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Let's not be fooled by bogus standardized assessments that do not truly measure an educator's ability to teach. The vast majority of teachers at NSES are exceptional--some do leave room for improvement, but the principal builds a great team for the children of the school.


North Star Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2015
- a parent
We left this school for a charter school down the road that offered many things but in the end it did not measure up to North Star Elementary. The teachers at North Star are amazing and the principal is top notch! We are glad to be back!

North Star Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a community member
North Star Elementary is a wonderful school! The teachers are amazing! Look up student scores and compare them to the rest of the state. It is always published that New Mexico scores are at the bottom, but compare North Star's scores to both the district scores and the state scores!

North Star Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
This school is the best public elementary school in Albuquerque. It is also better than many private schoools. I am lucky that my child goes there.


North Star Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
The phone number listed is incorrect. the correct number for the school is: (505) 856-6578

North Star Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
North Star is an excellent school. The principal, staff and teachers all work hard to make it one of the best schools in Albuquerque. I wouldn't want to send my children to another elementary school. The principal, Mrs. Fascitelli, is responsive to suggestions. The school would not be what it is without her. Highly recommended!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Star Elementary School
9301 Ventura St. NE, Albuquerque, NM  87122
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (505) 880-3744
Last modified North Star Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top