Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Apache Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 418 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2013

Apache Elementary School of Albuquerque New Mexico Love this school. But needs work on drop off and pick up for parents and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2010

I currently have one child attending this school. She happy but she seems to be behind compared to other school kids going to different schools. Some of the teachers do not respond to emails or give you updates to help your child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I love this school because the staff is truly dedicated to helping children succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Always striving to teach the students everything available to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

The staff at Apache are dedicated to student success and are supportive of each other in reaching that goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

The principal consistently demonstrates exemplary leadership, knowledge, and compassion, and she communicates well with staff, parents and students. The staff is impressively qualified,effective and dedicated, hardworking, innovative and always engaged. The school has a diverse community of learners--never a dull day! Students are interested in academic success and eager to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I feel at home. The community gives me the pleasure of friendship and the opportunity to serve. My life has purpose here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2010

Apache is dedicated to serving each student who who walks through it's doors. The staff is amazing and works so hard to get this incredibly hard job accomplished. I am happy to be part of such a wonderful learning community! I can say that I am THE proudest principal in all of Albuquerque!


Posted April 21, 2010

The principal, the teachers, the PTA, the cafeteria ladies, the janitorial staff and everyone in between is dedicated to the welfare of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

We have a great supportive staff, great leadership, wonderful students and parents, along with a few challenges, but many successes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

I have a first grader at Apache and have been happily surprised by the quality of education and support of the teachers and administration. Coming from a private school, I feel my daughter is continuing to excel here and is getting a great base education. The Camp Fire after school program has also been great--not overcrowded, and very supportive of completing homework as well as having fun in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

I love Apache because the staff and students really care about each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

I love my school.Four generations have gone to these school I hope we can make it five or even more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Excellent leadership! Teachers are flexible, creative, enthusiastic, I could go on forever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Apache has the best students, staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I have two children presently in HS (9, 12). Thanks to Apache teaching staff for laying out the groundwork for hard work, dedication to academic success and setting high goals for themselves. My children are very lucky to have started at Apache. I thank them for their support through these years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Principal and administrative staff are very supportive our students educational needs, they go the extra mile.


Posted September 19, 2009

We are only one of two schools to make AYP every year. We also are the only Elementary School in the World with a Wildlife Museum on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I am a parent of two students who attend Apache. My son needs special help, and I feel the counselor and the 6 teachers he has had went above and beyond for him. I am now at ease with him going into middle school because of the wonderful staff at Apache.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

Although I am satisfied with this school, I would caution parents to keep in touch with the principal over ANY problems with a teacher. Some teachers are over zealous in their discipline. Too late I found out that other parents had the same problem. I wish they had said something before I had my troubles.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

75 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students68%
Female70%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities18%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female80%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities9%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students18%
Female20%
Male17%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities7%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students37%
Female40%
Male33%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities14%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students36%
Female28%
Male45%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities14%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students29%
Female27%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities6%
English Language Learner Current0%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female37%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities18%
English Language Learner Current13%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 58%
White 23% 25%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 13%
Black 6% 2%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12800 Copper St NE
Albuquerque, NM 87105
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Acoma Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT