Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Armijo Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2009

There are way too many children in one class. My child is in 3rd grade now and she has 29 other kids in her class. Unfortunately that is way to many kids in one classroom. Some of the teachers are great but they can not teach that many kids without leaving the ones at the top behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

This is a wonderful school. The teachers are the best of the best. We couldn't ask for any better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

My child has had a wonderful year at Armijo. Both of his teachers have been supportive. I feel that the principal does make an effort to be at school functions and greet parents. There is also an effort to let students shine. It is difficult for any administrator when they and the teachers are being held accountable for a school's success or failure. I think that this can lead to a very stressful work environment and this is taking place in schools all over America thanks to 'No Child Left Behind. Parents should also be held responsible as children begin their life of learning at home. I have noticed teacher turnover, but there are also a lot of veteran teachers who have stayed with Armijo for a long time. I'm sorry, but the comments posted prior to this seem to be principal bashing at its best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2006

My children have been at Armijo for several years now. I have noticed that many teachers leave the school after teaching there one or two years. I am puzzled. This is not good for my children. I wonder why teachers are leaving. The teachers are excellent human beings. The office staff is not pleasant. They do not transfer calls to teachers. I have difficulty communicating with my children's teachers because of this. The principal claims to have an open door policy. I have not been able to see her when I have needed to. I am giving the school one more year to keep it's teachers. I would hate to take my children out of district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2006

A school with such a high turnover rate should be evaluated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

I believe the staff at Armijo is incredible. I am concerned about the high turnover of staff for the past 4 years. Armijo has lost many many excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

It is sad to see that the staff who make a difference are the ones to leave Armijo. Example; Olivia, Mrs. Randall, Miss. Annabell, to name a few. Every year we loose staff if not all at this school maybe we should be looking at the principal. APS should give us a new principal and ask why is the staff leaving this school other schools don't have this much of a problem. My children attend Armijo and I don't feel welcomed at this school by the principal she is more interested in looking good than what's going on at her school. She should make hispanic families feel comfortable, she should be approachable, caring, understanding to the families. I think Armijo Elementary does have a problem & it's not the staff or the students, it's the captain of the ship: The Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

I do not feel that Armijo Elementary is a school which students should attend. The teachers don't show any motivation and they don't show much care for the parents. It is unfortunate that the administrative staff ( principal) doesn't work on its ethics for caring for the kids. I personally feel that the school not only needs a lift in motivation but also needs an entire new staff. One that actual can do the job that they are paid for and if you are not happy then you are in the wrong business. The business of helping children is an awarding business not a lucrative one. I sincerly hope that everyone reads this because we all need to remember what educating is about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2004

Armijo Elemenary is in definate need of help. The majority of the students are at a very low reading level and the teachers don't motivate the student enough, except for a few extremely good teachers(Mrs. Randall 5th grade, unfortunatly switching schools for the 2004-2005 school year.) The students here are not academically based and in my opinion, should not be enrolled here.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students25%
Female22%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities0%
English Language Learner Current17%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students33%
Female37%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities0%
English Language Learner Current25%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students30%
Female30%
Male30%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities11%
English Language Learner Current11%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students24%
Female33%
Male15%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities5%
English Language Learner Current5%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students44%
Female43%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities6%
English Language Learner Current32%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students20%
Female16%
Male24%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities5%
English Language Learner Current4%
English Language Learner Exited25%

Reading

All Students33%
Female35%
Male30%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities10%
English Language Learner Current15%
English Language Learner Exited50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 94% 59%
White 4% 26%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1440 Gatewood SW
Albuquerque, NM 87105
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Valley Gospel Academy
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT