Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bandelier Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are excellent! The principal & office staff aren't the best, but the teachers make up for it!

Bandelier Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ivan Reeves has taught 4 of our children and he is an excellent teacher. He has been so good to the kids and he's so good at showing gentle leadership.


Bandelier Elementary School 3

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Our two older students are now in middle school and we have one elementary child at this school.We have always loved this school and our children have had many wonderful learning experiences. There is a new principal as of the 2015-2016 school year. There is an insincere edgy quality to this person, and the school climate seems to be in jeopardy. I think a lot of the excellent teachers will be driven away by that. This is so unfortunate. Wise leadership makes all the difference.

Bandelier Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at this school are role models for these attributes and expect the same in their classrooms. The student assemblies support and celebrate character excellence.

Bandelier Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
I love the community at Bandelier. I have two children attending now. The teachers want to be there, the parents want to be there, so the kids do too!


Bandelier Elementary School 2

Posted October 13, 2014
- a community member
The school office staff is very unprofessional, even rude, and seem to have difficulty following simple instructions.

Bandelier Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is the BEST! The teachers truly care and Glenda Armstrong is such a capable leader.

Bandelier Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a community member
I'm now going to 7th grade but this was the best elementary school I've ever went to put of the 3. I attented this school for kindergarten through 3rd grade. I made some really close friends at this school. The kids are friendly and definitely the teachers. The lunch was delicious. The playgrounds were so much fun because there's two of them! (Sand and grass) I had outstanding report cards thanks to all my teachers!


Bandelier Elementary School 3

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
What a wonderful, nurturing school. We, parents, are fortunate to have AMAZING teachers work daily with our two children and soon third. However, because of various reasons, I believe, the school has some classrooms that are not as challenging or as engaged as others. The experience, from the parents' side, is "hit or miss", an inconsistency of quality of teachers from year to year. It is apparent to those parents, who are extremely well informed, which teachers are excellent in each year. However, unfair to those parents who may be less in the "know" there some less than enthusiastic teachers that are part of the school as well. The principal is very caring and we appreciate her attention to many details. However, her attention to minutia and details do not help her to see a strategic vision for the school nor help her to implement and work on larger changes or issues. Transparency for information, whether good or not so good, is always helpful to parents. She is not forthcoming with challenging information and will bog us many times down with too much detail. Leadership means having to do and say things in a timely way that is sometimes difficult.

Bandelier Elementary School 4

Posted March 04, 2012
- a teacher
As an educator, I find this school to be an excellent place in which to work. Staff cohesiveness is strong, exceeding that of many comparable schools that struggle to create unity in their vision to meet the needs of the students. The principal is a team player who supports all staff and welcomes democratic processes that create a collaborative system in which all interested players have a hand. Parental involvement at Bandelier outstrips most other schools, with dedicated parents who put their thoughts and ideas into action through advocacy and participation. The Banda Bear community makes this a well-rounded school of high quality.

Nearby schools

Bandelier Elementary School
3309 Pershing SE, Albuquerque, NM  87106
(505) 880-3744
Last modified Bandelier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top