Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Albuquerque, NM
Students enrolled: 875

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carlos Rey Elementary School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
Horrible school!!! First of all at registration, I was never asked for shot records, proof of recidence and my kids student transcripts were never requested from Rio Rancho Public Schools. My kids were assigned teaches on the morning of the first day of school! Throwing them in ANY class. One of my kids has been moved 3 times in less than a month! When I called to complain because no one ever returned my call. No one took responsibility and they could not tell me what class my child was in! I didn't know the teachers name because they had just moved my child the day prior. Ridiculous!!! I have decided to take my kids out of this horrible situation by taking them out of APS. I now understand why APS is always on the news. I feel bad for the children who have no option but to stay in that environment. I believe that our children are a product of their environment and we the adults have the responsibility to provide them with the proper environment to have the option to become great knowledgeable successful adults. It is unfair for educators to not take a child's education seriously. I am saddened by the odds that face the children we leave behind.

Carlos Rey Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is wonderful. Carlos Rey has a caring staff that pays close attention to its students and their educational needs. They offer many programs to provide learning opportunities in every subject of education. My son has improved greatly in his reading and comprehension skills thanks to the teachers and the testing they require. My son was placed in a program called Title 1 that focused on his reading and he has more than tripled his grade. Thanks Carlos Rey!!


Carlos Rey Elementary School 1

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is terrible!!! The principal is a bully! The teachers seem like they hate their jobs. They never return any phone calls and there has been numerous times that I show up for meetings and teachers have forgotten about it or cancelled the meeting and forget to let you know. The teachers are very negative with the children and never give them praise or encouragement.

Carlos Rey Elementary School 1

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
My youngest child left Carlos Rey this year. This school has no programs for non-Hispanic children. It is my opinion that this school is neglected and neglectful. The principle was at best a bully. This school is in desperate need of change. If I had it to do again I would have bought a house in another area rather than subject my kids to this school again

Carlos Rey Elementary School 1

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
Posted December 4, 2008 Report it This school is far from a 'Great School' on so many levels. The programs are remedial at best and there is no challenge for the children. The teachers seem disinterested and the principal runs it like a baron. There is little structure and certainly nothing that makes it stand out other than the break-ins and graffiti it suffers on a regular basis. I'm trying to get my kid to a charter school where people actual care as much as I do about my child's education. Submitted by a parent Write your own review


Carlos Rey Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
My student has attended Carlos Rey since kindergarten. I have gotten to know, both the Principal & Vice Principal. My son continued from Kindergarten until 5th grade. This school was not our residential district, but did everything to keep him at this school, because I saw the good programs offered in the school and because of this administration. I know they go over and beyond their job description & want the best for our children. Mrs. Touloumis has our children's best interest at heart and does a job that 99% of people would never do; not even to mention the minimal pay she receives. I am proud of the work this Administration puts in welcoming parents, quality programs, services & teachers they ensure work at our school! My son is happy at Carlos Rey & I highly commend this administration! Anyone who says different is ignorant of our real school!

Carlos Rey Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Carlos Rey Elementary School 3

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Carlos Rey Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
This school is far from a 'Great School' on so many levels. The programs are remedial at best and there is no challenge for the children. The teachers seem disinterested and the principal runs it like a baron. There is little structure and certainly nothing that makes it stand out other than the break-ins and graffiti it suffers on a regular basis. I'm trying to get my kid to a charter school where people actual care as much as I do about my child's education.

Carlos Rey Elementary School 2

Posted March 28, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carlos Rey Elementary School
1215 Cerrillos SW, Albuquerque, NM  87121
(505) 880-3744
Last modified Carlos Rey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carlos Rey Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top