Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cibola High School

Public | 9-12 | 1859 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

In three states and four high schools, Cibola was by far the very worst high school our child ever attended. To say that the teachers are centered around themselves rather than the students is an understatement. It is a school of the teachers, by the teachers, and for the teachers. Your student's education is far down on the list of school priorities. In fact, several teachers actually have a vested interest in your child failing. We could get absolutely no help for our child and ultimately pulled our child from the school. If you need a great high school near Albuquerque, move to Rio Rancho and attend Rio Rancho High School! Cibola is just another inner-city concrete prison, with the least caring administration we have ever encountered. If you send your child there, you do so at the risk of your child's education. If we could give this school and its teachers zero stars, we would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Terrible school. Other comment is correct...very teacher centered, rather than student centered. If you go to the staff with a concern, you will be made to feel like YOU are the one with the problem. Principal is rude. This school is overcrowded and the kids aren't welcoming to newcomers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

Priorities are wrong...it is teacher centered rather than student centered. If your child has a learning disability or needs special help...don't expect much support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

Ny daughter graduated in 2008 and has gone on to be very successful in college. The teachers gave her every opportunity to advance and excell, but they also made her responsible for her own learning. What better way to help her succeed in@a the real world. Cibola Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

I went to Cibola all four years of high school and just graduated in 2008. Yes it does have its share of problems but it is was of the best schools you can go to. Most of the teachers care about their students, My senior year is the year that changed my life. My teachers helped me get my career started as a student teacher coming this fall. I hated school for the longest time but its because of my teachers that I stayed in school. I would pick Cibola for my kids to go to and I think you wont be disappointed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2008

I attended Cibola High School, and even though I took honors and advanced classes I was still behind in many things when I attended college. The teachers do not focus on the things actually needed for college and later in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

This school provides your child with a great mix between school and sports. While it is large in numbers the opening of Valcano Vista should rduce the size of Cibola tremendously
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

Cibola high school is a marvelous school. It is very large in numbers but makes up for it with its wonderful teachers and administration. The school spirit is very high great location!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

Cibola is the best High school in Albuquerque. The principle is Amazing adnd the school sets the standards in every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

Cibola is a amazing school with teachers who care and kids who are great. Test scores are great and dropout rate very low the best in NM
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

Cibola High School has been a terrible experience for my daughter. It is so overcrowded that even if you do find a good teacher, they do not have time to care about the students or their future. My daugher (previasly a happy straight A student) was miserable and was ready to quit school all together. After many attempts to try to communicate with the teachers, I finally decided to pull my daughter out of this school. It was the best thing I could have done for her. She is now happy and doing very well in a much smaller school with teachers who really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

I've had two children at Cibola (so far), one recently graduated,and one is a Junior.Cibola is the largest HS in the state and yes,there are issues with overcrowding.Hopefully that will be alleviated when the new NW high school opens in two years. As in any school, there are mediocre teachers, incredible teachers who genuinely care about students,and unfortunately, teachers who don't like kids and make no bones about it.I've dealt with them all,admired some tremendously and butted heads painfully with others. Overall, I truly believe Cibola is trying, and generally succeeding..their scores are among the highest in the state,their drop out rate among the lowest. Its not a private school..if your child needs one on one you might think of a different school. But life is about figuring out systems, isn't it? Might as well start in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

Cibola is an awefull school. Its overcrowded with well over 3,300 students and the teachers don't help the students learn. I do not reccomend this school at all. My daughter goes there and is so unhappy. I wish the school would do something to help the students out, as they are paid to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

My two sons graduated from Cibola High School in 1999 and 2002. Our sons, my husband and I had an absolutely wonderful experience at CHS. From the administration to the teachers to the remainder of the staff, we found our experiences with everyone extremely rewarding. As it certainly takes a village to raise a child, we as parents can't take full credit for the success of our children. I feel confident in saying that everyone at CHS provided numerous positive contributions to helping raise them to be the fine young men they are today. I am so proud to be associated with Cibola HS. We still enjoy lasting realtionships with many of the dedicated staff and coaches. I tell people all the time that Cibola High School is APS's best kept secret! We were active in our childrens' education from K on, and Cibola and the staff are simply the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

The 2004 JV football team was the best I've ever witnessed in my 28 years of head coaching. Go cougars!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2004

This school is so overcrowded that the kids get shuffled through the system. The counselors are assigned 500 kids each! Forget any help getting into college or even getting the kids up to speed on when ACT/SAT tests are offered. I went to teacher conferences where the teacher wanted to know why I was there (after all my kid had higher than a 'C' average and wasn't in trouble). Administration wants no parental input. It's all up to parents to help the kids figure it out...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

The school has good teachers, but they seem not to care about the students, they all seem to be numbers. My student was a straight 'A' student, but not because she went to the teacher or counselors, she did it because she had her parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

It was a good school for my child, even though he was there for a little while.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

I'm actually a parent volunteer at Cibola and feel there is a lot going for the school. Our Principal, Grace Brown, has been instrumental in adding AP classes which will help students as they apply for college. We also have a small core of parents (could be larger though) who are working for the betterment of the school. Cibola is a model of good communication between parents and the school. They provide a newsletter (mailed home), a parent e-mail list, and parent/teacher conferences (almost unheard of at the high school level). The number of students attending is a negative (CHS is the largest in the state--and is overcrowded), but that is because the city of Albuquerque has allowed west side city sprawl without providing infrastructure to support it (i.e. too many kids, not enough schools!). I've loved the counselors (gifted) my son has worked with. They've helped tremendously as he prepares to apply to colleges. Our sports teams are usually in the hunt for state championships which helps with school spirit. There are always things schools can do to improve; I feel the administration is working to make such improvements at Cibola.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2004

Cibola has become very overcrowded. There are sometimes up to 40+ kids to a class room. If you need to transfer your child out of a class, you can just forget it, the administration won't budge. My son hated Cibola even though the teachers and counselors were not too bad. They were always willing to meet with me. My son was eventually pulled out of this school and placed in a charter school(SW learning center) which he is doing very well and absolutely loves! I would not recommend Cibola to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

400 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 40% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students38%
Female41%
Male34%
African American10%
Asian41%
Hispanic34%
Native American25%
White51%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities2%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited14%

Reading

All Students48%
Female58%
Male34%
African American30%
Asian47%
Hispanic43%
Native American36%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities3%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students53%
Female52%
Male54%
African American11%
Asian69%
Hispanic53%
Native American50%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities12%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited26%

Reading

All Students69%
Female75%
Male61%
African American40%
Asian81%
Hispanic69%
Native American57%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities32%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited74%

Science

All Students51%
Female48%
Male54%
African American11%
Asian69%
Hispanic47%
Native American32%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities17%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2011.

435 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2011.

434 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2011.

434 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 47% in 2011.

435 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students56%
Female58%
Male55%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Native American39%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learners13%

Reading

All Students62%
Female65%
Male58%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Native American50%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners25%

Science

All Students47%
Female44%
Male50%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Native American39%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners25%

Social Studies

All Students61%
Female58%
Male64%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Native American50%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learners31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 58%
White 33% 25%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 13%
Black 4% 2%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1510 Ellison Dr NW
Albuquerque, NM 87114
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Ask Academy
Rio Rancho, NM



Victory Christian School
Albuquerque, NM





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT