Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Albuquerque, NM
Students enrolled: 1,875

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cibola High School 1

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
In three states and four high schools, Cibola was by far the very worst high school our child ever attended. To say that the teachers are centered around themselves rather than the students is an understatement. It is a school of the teachers, by the teachers, and for the teachers. Your student's education is far down on the list of school priorities. In fact, several teachers actually have a vested interest in your child failing. We could get absolutely no help for our child and ultimately pulled our child from the school. If you need a great high school near Albuquerque, move to Rio Rancho and attend Rio Rancho High School! Cibola is just another inner-city concrete prison, with the least caring administration we have ever encountered. If you send your child there, you do so at the risk of your child's education. If we could give this school and its teachers zero stars, we would.

Cibola High School 1

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Terrible school. Other comment is correct...very teacher centered, rather than student centered. If you go to the staff with a concern, you will be made to feel like YOU are the one with the problem. Principal is rude. This school is overcrowded and the kids aren't welcoming to newcomers.


Cibola High School 1

Posted December 22, 2012
- a parent
Priorities are wrong...it is teacher centered rather than student centered. If your child has a learning disability or needs special help...don't expect much support.

Cibola High School 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cibola High School 5

Posted July 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Cibola High School 0
no rating

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
Ny daughter graduated in 2008 and has gone on to be very successful in college. The teachers gave her every opportunity to advance and excell, but they also made her responsible for her own learning. What better way to help her succeed in@a the real world. Cibola Rocks!

Cibola High School 5

Posted July 17, 2009
- a student
I went to Cibola all four years of high school and just graduated in 2008. Yes it does have its share of problems but it is was of the best schools you can go to. Most of the teachers care about their students, My senior year is the year that changed my life. My teachers helped me get my career started as a student teacher coming this fall. I hated school for the longest time but its because of my teachers that I stayed in school. I would pick Cibola for my kids to go to and I think you wont be disappointed.

Cibola High School 1

Posted January 23, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Cibola High School 2

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
I attended Cibola High School, and even though I took honors and advanced classes I was still behind in many things when I attended college. The teachers do not focus on the things actually needed for college and later in life.

Cibola High School 5

Posted July 17, 2008
- a parent
This school provides your child with a great mix between school and sports. While it is large in numbers the opening of Valcano Vista should rduce the size of Cibola tremendously

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cibola High School
1510 Ellison Dr NW, Albuquerque, NM  87114
(505) 880-3744
Last modified Cibola High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cibola High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top