Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Comanche Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 412 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

I find the glowing reviews written April 21, 2011 - April 23, 2011 to be very fishy. Let me tell you how it is. The school is ok. There are many phenomenal teachers at Comanche, and there are some fair teachers. The principal, however, leaves very much to be desired. The principal is the worst part of the school, and really brings the school down. She has driven away some great teachers. The school is at risk of not having a PTA next year because no one wants to work with the principal. APS should take action. It speaks poorly of APS that they leave such an incompetent leader in this school. LOVE the teaching staff though! I would give the school 4 stars if it had competent leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

Proud parent of Comanche Elementary students. The principal and teachers really care about their students' education and safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

I enjoyed reading the comments from all of the staff, but that really is not appropriate. That said, I must compliment the teaching staff at Comanche. I think they are fantastic. The PTA is great as well. The Principal is HORRENDOUS. She does not take the time to learn the names of the children. I pick my child up after school everyday, and it has become a joke that I stop by the office on my way in and ask if Mrs. Highland is in -- she never is. It is really sad that the parking spot reserved for the principal is always vacant!! I wonder if APS is aware of this absentee Principal? To sum it up: Fantastic Teachers!! The Principal is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

Both of my children Comanche ES. The vast majority of the teachers are excellent. The administration can be difficult to understand...and communication between the adminstration and parents is lacking skill. However we have very low teacher turn-over so something must be right with the administrations approach. I know my children are safe, and Comanche teachers take a personal interest in the children. My children are known by first name by the majority of the staff. I believe the administrative problems to be more endemic of APS than Comanche specific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

In my experience as a staff member at Comanche, Mrs. Highland is a very professional principal who always concerns herself with the needs of the children, staff and families. She is fair and nonjudgemental in all aspects of her job.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2011

My family has been at Comanche for a number of years and I have found it to be a welcoming, professional place for both children and families. Mrs. Highland has always invited parents to be a part of the decision making process and she has been accessible whenever I had questions or concerns. I always recommend our school to any parent who asks me. The teachers I know are excellent educators with my child's best interests at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

As a parent of two children who have and do attend Comanche, I have to comment here. The previous comment is completely fictitious, anyone who knows the Principal and staff at Comanche knows that Children come first. The staff turnover is extremely limited, usually to retirement and or cuts, and is very small. The Principal is caring to ALL families, and is very involved with the children and treats them all with kindness and fairness and encourages and helps them all to succeed. Congratulations Comanche Principal and Staff - I would recommend you to any and all my friends and family. Thank you for al you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

Comanche is an extremely well run school. With caring and well qualified staff who work hard each and every day with a good attitude. We are a community within and of a community that surrounds us thanks to an amazing Principal who cares enough to make a difference. I would recommend this school to any family that wants to belong to a school that cares. Come join us. :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2011

My experience with Mrs. Highland is just the opposite of the previous reviewer. I have found her to be extremely professional, enforcing the rules evenly and fairly. Everything she does is with the best interest of the children in mind. Maybe some parents don't always understand all the reasons for the rules, but I feel they are there for the good of the kids. I have found her to be very approachable and she always listens to my concerns. Teacher turnover happens for various reasons, many unrelated to the principal. The turnover at Comanche has not been because of Mrs. Highland. I think the teachers and parents are very happy with her and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

Comanche is an amazing school! I have the privilage of being able to work with intelligent and professional teachers and staff. We all share one common goal, "Our Comanche students come first!" We work as a team every day and we are truely a family. Without the support of our phenomenal leader, Mrs. Highland, we wouldn't be able to make the positive differences for children and families! With open arms and a smile, I welcome families to come and see what we are really about! Comanche is a great school for children to learn and grow!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 27, 2011

I have two children who attend Comanche. Before my oldest started at Comanche, I was told by a few parents that this was a great school, however, I have found our experience with the school to be only satisfactory. Most of the teachers at the school are awesome teachers and great with the kids, however, because the school has in the last 5 years gotten a new principal, there seems to be increased turnover with the teachers. The principal is very difficult to deal with- she seems to say one thing but do another, she is not consistent with the rules, and she seems satisfied with mediocrity. the PTA is wondful bit small and not well supported.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

I am a proud parent of Comanche Elementary School because I am kept informed and I feel that my children are making progress. My children come home and are excited to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The school is great. The Principal is just so-so. It could be worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

This school has a caring PTA as well as good teachers. The parents stay involved and keep up with assignments. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

my child is in her 2nd yr. at comanche. it is a very big improvement from her former school in not too far away. in her former school she did not get the help she needed for her spec. needs. at comanche, she gettising the help she needs. my only prob. with this school is, I don't feel comfortable with the lack of enthusiasm to have parents involved in the classrooms. i also do not like the fact that there is no telephone in the portable. i feel that this is a safety issur that needs to be fixed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

Pay no attention to the prior ratings. Mrs. Highland is a wonderful woman and Principal. She cares deeply for the children at Comanche and for their safety. Comanche is one of the safest schools in our district. Some parents just want their way. Mrs. Highland is a new Principal at Comanche and some parents think they can push her around. She is doing a fabulous job. I am an active member in the Comanche PTA and work closely with Mrs. Highland. I would reccommend Comanche to everyone. Some people just have to be mean to others....the prior postings are a perfect example of that. We love Comanche....we are going on our 7th year there and would not have changed it for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I am a parent at Comanche and my daughter has been a student there for 4 years. the last two years have been a complete nightmare because of Ms. Highland. The staff is great however the that's no longer good enough. Highland does not care about the kids safety or their feelings. She does not have any respect for the parents or the children. So from a parent to a parent, do not enroll your kid in Comanche. The school is going down hill fast and I am so happy this will be my daughters last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I have to agree with the prior post. This school has gone down hill since Ms. Highland's arrival. If it were not for the excellent teaching staff, my children would have been removed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

The leadership of this school has certainly declined since Rena Hiighland took it over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

My child is in his third year at Comanche, and loves it! This is a wonderful school with caring staff and faculty. When it comes to parent involvement, Comanche has anywhere from 95-100% participation. The key to a great education is caring educational instructors and Comanche has just that; from the Principal to the Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

68 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students73%
Female81%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities20%
English Language Learner Current59%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female81%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities20%
English Language Learner Current56%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students44%
Female49%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Native American27%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities0%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female72%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Native American46%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities8%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students67%
Female72%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Native American46%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities25%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students49%
Female50%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Native American30%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female61%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Native American40%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 59%
White 33% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 10%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3505 Pennsylvania NE
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Christ Lutheran School
Albuquerque, NM


Shepherd Lutheran
Albuquerque, NM





Salam Academy
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT