Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Comanche Elementary School 2

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
I find the glowing reviews written April 21, 2011 - April 23, 2011 to be very fishy. Let me tell you how it is. The school is ok. There are many phenomenal teachers at Comanche, and there are some fair teachers. The principal, however, leaves very much to be desired. The principal is the worst part of the school, and really brings the school down. She has driven away some great teachers. The school is at risk of not having a PTA next year because no one wants to work with the principal. APS should take action. It speaks poorly of APS that they leave such an incompetent leader in this school. LOVE the teaching staff though! I would give the school 4 stars if it had competent leadership.

Comanche Elementary School 4

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
Proud parent of Comanche Elementary students. The principal and teachers really care about their students' education and safety.


Comanche Elementary School 3

Posted November 14, 2011
- a parent
I enjoyed reading the comments from all of the staff, but that really is not appropriate. That said, I must compliment the teaching staff at Comanche. I think they are fantastic. The PTA is great as well. The Principal is HORRENDOUS. She does not take the time to learn the names of the children. I pick my child up after school everyday, and it has become a joke that I stop by the office on my way in and ask if Mrs. Highland is in -- she never is. It is really sad that the parking spot reserved for the principal is always vacant!! I wonder if APS is aware of this absentee Principal? To sum it up: Fantastic Teachers!! The Principal is a joke.

Comanche Elementary School 4

Posted September 28, 2011
- a parent
Both of my children Comanche ES. The vast majority of the teachers are excellent. The administration can be difficult to understand...and communication between the adminstration and parents is lacking skill. However we have very low teacher turn-over so something must be right with the administrations approach. I know my children are safe, and Comanche teachers take a personal interest in the children. My children are known by first name by the majority of the staff. I believe the administrative problems to be more endemic of APS than Comanche specific.

Comanche Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2011
- a teacher
In my experience as a staff member at Comanche, Mrs. Highland is a very professional principal who always concerns herself with the needs of the children, staff and families. She is fair and nonjudgemental in all aspects of her job.


Comanche Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
My family has been at Comanche for a number of years and I have found it to be a welcoming, professional place for both children and families. Mrs. Highland has always invited parents to be a part of the decision making process and she has been accessible whenever I had questions or concerns. I always recommend our school to any parent who asks me. The teachers I know are excellent educators with my child's best interests at heart.

Comanche Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of two children who have and do attend Comanche, I have to comment here. The previous comment is completely fictitious, anyone who knows the Principal and staff at Comanche knows that Children come first. The staff turnover is extremely limited, usually to retirement and or cuts, and is very small. The Principal is caring to ALL families, and is very involved with the children and treats them all with kindness and fairness and encourages and helps them all to succeed. Congratulations Comanche Principal and Staff - I would recommend you to any and all my friends and family. Thank you for al you do.

Comanche Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2011
- a teacher
Comanche is an extremely well run school. With caring and well qualified staff who work hard each and every day with a good attitude. We are a community within and of a community that surrounds us thanks to an amazing Principal who cares enough to make a difference. I would recommend this school to any family that wants to belong to a school that cares. Come join us. :)


Comanche Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2011
- a parent
My experience with Mrs. Highland is just the opposite of the previous reviewer. I have found her to be extremely professional, enforcing the rules evenly and fairly. Everything she does is with the best interest of the children in mind. Maybe some parents don't always understand all the reasons for the rules, but I feel they are there for the good of the kids. I have found her to be very approachable and she always listens to my concerns. Teacher turnover happens for various reasons, many unrelated to the principal. The turnover at Comanche has not been because of Mrs. Highland. I think the teachers and parents are very happy with her and the school.

Comanche Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2011
- a teacher
Comanche is an amazing school! I have the privilage of being able to work with intelligent and professional teachers and staff. We all share one common goal, "Our Comanche students come first!" We work as a team every day and we are truely a family. Without the support of our phenomenal leader, Mrs. Highland, we wouldn't be able to make the positive differences for children and families! With open arms and a smile, I welcome families to come and see what we are really about! Comanche is a great school for children to learn and grow!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Comanche Elementary School
3505 Pennsylvania NE, Albuquerque, NM  87110
(505) 880-3744
Last modified Comanche Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Comanche Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top