Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Inez Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 451 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2010

I removed my daughter from Inez Elementary for several issues that have happened at the school. These issues range from religious discrimination from one of the teachers, to being told that it 'Wasn't worth the argument' when referring to teaching particular students all the way to the school allowing unauthorized persons to interact, photograph and touch my child. Personally, I would reccomend the Kindergarten 1st grade as the teachers I interacted with are exceptional, but once she moved into first grade, it went downhill from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2009

The teachers are phenomenal. Unfortunately, the school has a poor administrator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Wow, what can I say other than my family has been with Inez for the past 10 years and the change in principles from August 2007 to the current year 2009-2010 has really affected the school. The dynamic between staff, parents, and students has changed significantly. There have been many problems at the school including electrical fires and constant fire drills where our children were left outside for long periods of time. This angers me that I had to find this out from my children instead of through the proper adult/administration channels (the principle) so much for an experienced principle! I feel it is very important for the principle to be open and honest with parents about all activites both positive and negative. What a shame that parents did not even receive a formal newsletter from the principle. Due to these and many other incidents we have left the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I absolutely love this school!! My son was a transfer kindergarten student this year and he loved his teacher, Ms. M. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about ALL of the kindergarten teachers. As a parent, my husband and I attended a couple of the school field trips and I was very impressed with the teacher's and how they were very caring and truly concerned about the well being and safety of their students. Also, the PTO has been just wonderful! They purchased new playground equipment for the kindergarten this year. I am very happy to be part of this school and am looking forward to working with the teacher's and PTO in the future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

I have a son that goes there that has needs and i feel like they could try to make class's better for the kids with need. like my son has needs but can do the work but they put him in a class with kids that r disroptive which make it hard for him to do his work. if they could make a class for kids that have learning prombles but not behaver problmes. i thank kids like my son would beafit from it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

My kids are new students and I am so happy with the way they have been welcomed. They are very happy and I am confident they are going to receive the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

I would like to thank our PTO this year '07-'08. Dorothy, Ted, and Sean have been an exception to the rule as far as PTO leadership goes. A great big thank you for the money given to each student to help their families on the cost of seeing 'Tall Paul,' the money given to teachers to enhance their classrooms (whether it be increasing the classroom library, art supplies, crayons, or whatever was needed), lunch from the Quarters, and always thinking about our school first! Thank you so much!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2007

As the Mother of a young kindergartener, I have experienced incredible support from the staff at Inez. The Principal met my son early on as he was struggling at a fire drill. She looked at me and said, 'If that kind of energy is channeled in the right direction he will do really well!' I was so impressed with that kind of positive leadership and I must say it has been consistant around several school and student issues. Dawn Cappelman is a pro and the most resourceful, dedicated educator I have ever known. The ongoing educational and family activities for my child have created a real learning community for myself and my son. He can't wait to get to school in the morning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Great parental response posted on 9/27/07! It's nice to hear that Inez continues to live up to its reputation. As a staff member, I am pleased with how the behaviors of the students are progressing in the hallways, on the playground and in the cafeteria. As the students transition from one area to another, we can hear them encouraging one another to 'Walk...this is a walk zone!' I believe that this school will continue to be a fine school. The staff appear to continue to do what they love to do...teach!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted September 20, 2007

As a long-time parent at Inez, I have grown to value the helpful staff, the hardworking and caring teachers and the great programs which were developed and implemented over the years. With key faculty changes this fall - a new principal and a new councelor - we lost some valuable programs in transision. One is the 4th & 5th grade Student Mediators. This program taught students accountability, fairness, and leadership. Why were programs like this one not continued in the transition? Instead our kids get the newly mandated 'no running on the playground' rule. Were there any transitional meetings between old and new staff?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

What a difference a year makes. The leadership change has turned this school upside down and has left me as a parent looking for other options. Alexis Kerns,the new principal seems to have a 'my way or the highway' attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2007

My name is Alexis Kern. As the newly-appointed principal at Inez, it is my pleasure to work with the best staff, students, and families in all of Albuquerque! I am committed to quality and safety of the learning environment, student learning, and a system-wide approach to continuous improvement. It is my aim to be an active and reponsive school leader. I will continue to return phone calls and e-mails from families within 24-48 hours. I will also be happy to meet with any family who seeks an appointment with me. Having communicated this in our first three school newsletters, this year, it's nice to have an additional forum to do so. Many families have told me that their experience and focus at Inez positive, and that they feel empowered by the leadership change to become active at their children's school. Please join the PTO--membership is five dollars.


Posted September 11, 2007

My family has been attending Inez Elementary for the past 11 years. I have many concerns now that the school has a new principal, Alexis Kerns. Ms.Kerns has implemented many rules within the first month of 2007-2008 that have taken away the 'family and community' feel we have experienced over the years. In addition, Ms. Kerns is not readily available to speak with parents about concerns or questions they may have about their child or education. It is our community of students & parents that runs the dynamic of Inez Elementary, don't ruin it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Inez has a deservedly good reputation. The science & technology focus draws kids from all over the city; since most transfer students provide their own transportation, this tends to attract families who are more dedicated to education. The teachers and the principal are, for the most part, very caring and involved with the kids, and many staff members have been there a long time (and had their own kids go thru Inez). Some of the 'technology' (computers, etc.) is starting to age a bit, and the PTO maybe needs to focus some of the fundraising in this area. The science fair ('expo') is a major event that every student participates in. As in the rest of the district, art and music is only partially funded, but this year we've had a wonderful music teacher for the whole year. Parent volunteers participate in the Art in the School program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Principal Bartles is wonderful and the majority of the teachers I have dealt with during my son's five years here have been awesome. There was one teacher who I felt had no business dealing with children but she did seem to be the exception. Great emphasis is placed on science/technology and my son loved that, but when he was struggling to learn how to read, there was no additional help available. All the computers and technology perks the school offered meant little to me then. The school seems to focus on teaching the extraordinary and forgets that children also need the basics. It's great if your child masters the basics easily. My son only struggled in one subject so he wasn't bad enough to require special ed so he struggled for years in the regular classes. I begged for support as a parent and got nothing. It was rough going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

The teachers at this school are so friendly. I've hard the children say Hello to Mr. bartles the principal and he gladly greets them with a hug sometimes. Everyone in their depeartment is so involved and enthusiastic about the children. I've been to other local area elementary schools with expectations that they might be at least equivalent to Inez but I was shocked and let down by the others lack of enthusiasm. The farther South you drive from Inez the worse it becomes. I believe that Inez is the best so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

This school is small enough to get to know the teachers and staff easily and the children seem to get alot of attention. There are some wonderful teachers there and the emphasis on science is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is a wonderful school. The Teachers are great and the Pricipal is the best at the elementry level. The teachers really care about the students and want to see them do good at any costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

62 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

72 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students49%
Female41%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities8%
English Language Learner Current20%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female51%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities0%
English Language Learner Current20%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students43%
Female48%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities0%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female63%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities9%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female65%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities18%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students43%
Female46%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities7%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female83%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities29%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 58%
White 30% 25%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 13%
Asian 3% 1%
Black 3% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Pennsylvania NE
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Temple Baptist Academy
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT