Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of The Assumption Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2012

Our Lady of the Assumption is a fully accredited educational institute. OLA is a family and community oriented school sustained in a Christian environment. The teachers and staff are dedicated to providing a solid, well rounded educational program based upon the Catholic tenets of faith, love, and forgiveness. OLA develops and nurtures young, creative minds and prepares them for a responsible role in society and life-long success. OLA is truly a remarkable school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

I went to this school and then moved to a different state with a highly competitive school district and was very unprepared for the average curriculum. The 7th grade math teacher was very bad, and overall i felt i received a subpar education.


Posted January 12, 2012

I whole heartedly love Our Lady of the Assumption Jr. K - 8th. From the beautiful campus (with grass) to the fantastic teachers and staff, OLA is the best school. They have high academic achievements, consistently placing well above the national average. The school is small with one class per grade and has a very family-like atmosphere. The campus is gated & safe and offers a lovely field and playground for recess and sports. The enrichment classes are fabulous; art, music, library, computers, spanish, and health & physical ed. They also have several extra-curriculars like band, gardening, and sports to name just a few. Best of all the tuition is affordable and they provide free early care as well as very low cost aftercare that extends to 6pm most nights. My boys feel very safe and loved at OLA and I feel they are getting the best education with strong Catholic Values; love and respect. My boys are encouraged to learn and nurtured in every step. The curriculum is tailored to them, they have upper class reading, Mass, and math buddies, which is an excellent way to get to know the whole school and feel like family. I extend an invitation to everyone to come and visit OLA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

I myself have attended Our Lady of the Assumption for four years now. I absolutely love it here! When i was first making my decision on which school I would like to go to, I had a choice between Holy Ghost Catholic School (HORRIBLE compared to OLA) and OLA. I had already attended Holy Ghost. Lets just say that I along with three sisters had a HORRIBLE experience. But ever since we have transfered to OLA we have not had a single problem! Great School!


Posted March 3, 2011

THIS IS A FANTASTIC SCHOOL. not only is my child excelling in school but is learning kindness and christian behavior. my child has been at ola for 7 yrs. we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

I have 2 children who attend this school. We love it! My children are happy, above grade level and learning at a great rate. I believe OLA provides a flexible learning enviroment for children of varying learning levels. The school is warm and very much like a mini-family with older children connecting with younger children. The parents and staff are committed to educational excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

I went there when I was young, and my daughter is attending now. It is and has been a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

Our Lady of Assumption Catholic School in Albuquerque provides the best education value anywhere in the metro area. My children have been enrolled there for 3 years. The tuition cost is very reasonable; the staff and teachers rate as the best and the important criteria academic achievement - consistently rates TWO grades above the NATIONAL average. With excellent curriculum and facilities and results to prove it, there is no better place in Albuquerque to educate your child. There are more expensive private schools to go to but the education value for your dollar at Assumption far surpasses other private and public offerings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

i love ola! it the best school ever. the students are all really nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

My child has attended this school for 4 years. It is an interactive community between students, parents, teachers, staff and church. It is a wonderful environment that encourages students and parents to become responsible in action and thought. If you want your child to learn how to be accountable and obtain a high level eduation, this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

OLA is the only place for my children. The teachers and staff are outstanding. You feel immediately like part of a family where everyone cares about your child and you. There is a strong sense of faith and the students are respectfull and look great in their uniforms. OLA offers Religion, Music, Computer Technology, Library Science, Art, and Spanish in addition to the core classes. The school Mission Statement is :To take resposnibility for learning and Christ-Like behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 59%
White 30% 26%
Two or more races 11% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 10%
Black 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Santa Fe
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

815 Guaymas Place Northeast
Albuquerque, NM 87108
Phone: (505) 256-3167

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hayes Middle School
Albuquerque, NM




Inez Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT