Advertisement
Advertisement

Annunciation Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 431 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2013

After living in NM for almost 30 years, and experiencing and interacting with students and families from every Catholic school in the city, Annunciation continues to impress me. The students are genuinely happy, and the breadth and depth of the school's curriculum is top notch. The administration is focused on developing the whole child, and encourages each student to find and excel in whatever they (the students) are truly passionate about. The students that graduate from this school are prepared to take on the world, and our community is better because of it. Highly recommended.


Posted May 15, 2013

In terms of academics, a little higher standard than the aps school my child used to attend. In terms of discipline, horrible. For a Catholic school, the behavior of a few kids in the school is horrendous. There are a good group of kids & their families that are trying to stick it out, I wish them luck. Unfortunately the administration does not reward the good, but instead tries to counsel to understand & empathize with the destructive behaviors of repeat offenders. Character, reputation & Christ-like behavior are not rewarded here. Grumpy front office staff, apathetic principal & assistant principal who seem above parents concerns. Unorganized planning if any. No one seems to communicate & if they do it's in a rude manner. Witnessed several instances of "gossip" about trouble maker students by school employees, which is unacceptable. Also witnessed admin & teachers on iphones during lectures, etc. Take that to your home if you feel a need to vent or check out the internet. What kind of an example is being set? There are many outstanding teachers at this school; I wonder if they are getting the support they need from parents & their Admin. Disappointed & not returning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

My children have had nothing but great experiences at Annunciation. The principal is approachable, the teachers are firm but loving, and the students are kind and welcoming. My children love to go to school and look forward to Monday! We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

We have pulled our child out of Annunciation after attending K through 3 as the school is in a downward spiral and is no longer tolerable. We have found the discipline to be close to non-existent and the inconsistent, non-goal oriented curriculum to be unacceptable. We know of many parents who are having their children privately tutored just to maintain what they feel is acceptable level of academic achievement, or to get into another school. Bullying is a real problem, and the school administration's solution seems to be to council the bullied to better understand the bully. In addition, the administration does not give clear guidance on how to report bullying, instructing students that they shouldn't be "tattle tales", which sends a conflicting message and just frustrates the children even more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

The administration at this school is leading it down to road of destruction. They allow the teachers to teach different curriculum's at each grade level. There is lax discipline, the Principal and VP ignore or just brush things under the table, nothing is really ever resolved. The Priest does not seem to be engaged in the school at all. There are groups of parents that won't even look at other parents and their children model the behavior of their uppity parents well. Yes, they have a music program and a drama program new to the school this year, but you have to pay extra for the programs. Many other Catholic Schools have these programs for free. If you are looking for a real Christian atmosphere I would find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

We love this school! We have wonderful leadership from the pastor and from the administration. Caring teachers, parents, and students make for an especially involved and supportive community. The school has high academic standards and innovations in the classroom provide each student with an appropriately challenging education. The administration is very dedicated and has been making improvemnts in many areas of the school including upgraded science labs and after school music and drama programs. Recently hired middle school teachers have really energized and modernized the mid school curriculum. I'd recommend this school to any family that wants a fabulous Catholic education and desires to be part of a very special community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

Annunciation has been going through many changes. Some are great and others are not. The academic standards at the school are no longer important as can be seen just by reading the handbook. Teacher turn-over is also quite high. The discipline in the school leaves a lot to be desired. Almost any type of infracture can be explained away and accepted. I think the school has a lot of potential but is heading in the wrong direction right now. However, the school is full and that seems to be the bar for measuring the success at the school. It is a Catholic school that does practice the faith in every aspect and that is positive. Make sure you know what you expect from a private Catholic school before making your decision here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2006

Great school! We love it! This school really excels in teaching the kids and making it fun. The new principal is a God-send and really makes it a warm and inviting environment. Couldn't ask for a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

My older child graduated from Annunciation prior to the new administration. I was pleased with the school then, and I am pleased with the new administration as well. The students and teachers are welcoming to newcomers, the atmosphere in the school is upbeat and positive, and the education remains top notch. Class size is small, and the school teaches Christian values as well as academics. I love the expanded after school sports programs for both boys and girls, which children this age really need. They also have a strong technological initiative in place. Would like to see the music program expanded to include show choir and band. Overall, this is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

Wow! Annunciation is in the midst of many changes ranging from campus improvements to a technology initiative. The leadership of the pastor and administration has impacted our school in positive ways and our children enjoy the learning environment. The principal seeks out input from parents and students and acts on the input received to better the school as well as recommending changes to encourage even more interaction amongst the community of parents, teachers, and students. All our family members have made many valuable new friendships because of our involvement at the school. Most importantly, we appreciate the school building on the morals and values we are instilling in our children at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

Our children have attended Annunciation for 6 years now. We have been very pleased with the academics, the staff (especially the new administrative team), the extracurricular programs and the parent involvement, that is not only welcomed, but encouraged. I love the fact that I am familiar with most of the families that attend, and have gotten to know many very well. I am pleased we seem to share similar values, and that all of the parents take an active role in their childrens' education. Nearly all of the children who attend Annunciation go on to college. I am very proud that the children start and end each day with prayer, and that our religious values are reinforced in the classroom (something you certainly won't get in public schools).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

There is a brand new administration as of fall 2005...my kids have attended since kindergarten; my oldest graduates from 8th grade in a month. Wonderful school w/small town feel, excellent teachers, high academic standards. Our new principal and vice-principal are top-notch, new pastor wonderful, I highly recommend Annunciation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

Great school - a wonderful christian environment that encourages parent involvement in academics and spiritual growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

Think twice before entering your child! The only concern from administration & the pastor is making money. They came across as very uncaring and showed no compassion unless you had money. My children are most happy they are no longer associated with this school. Administration, especially the vice principal, never seemed to support the removal of trouble makers; his only concern seemed to keeping students no matter the cost! There are many excellent public schools in ABQ; don't waste your money and child's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 26%
Hispanic 33% 55%
Two or more races 17% 1%
Asian 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 16%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cindy Shields
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (505) 299-2182

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Santa Fe
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2610 Utah St NE
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 299-6783

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Christ Lutheran School
Albuquerque, NM



Inez Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM




Madison Middle School
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT