Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Albuquerque, NM
Students enrolled: 438

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Annunciation Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a community member
After living in NM for almost 30 years, and experiencing and interacting with students and families from every Catholic school in the city, Annunciation continues to impress me. The students are genuinely happy, and the breadth and depth of the school's curriculum is top notch. The administration is focused on developing the whole child, and encourages each student to find and excel in whatever they (the students) are truly passionate about. The students that graduate from this school are prepared to take on the world, and our community is better because of it. Highly recommended.

Annunciation Elementary School 2

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
In terms of academics, a little higher standard than the aps school my child used to attend. In terms of discipline, horrible. For a Catholic school, the behavior of a few kids in the school is horrendous. There are a good group of kids & their families that are trying to stick it out, I wish them luck. Unfortunately the administration does not reward the good, but instead tries to counsel to understand & empathize with the destructive behaviors of repeat offenders. Character, reputation & Christ-like behavior are not rewarded here. Grumpy front office staff, apathetic principal & assistant principal who seem above parents concerns. Unorganized planning if any. No one seems to communicate & if they do it's in a rude manner. Witnessed several instances of "gossip" about trouble maker students by school employees, which is unacceptable. Also witnessed admin & teachers on iphones during lectures, etc. Take that to your home if you feel a need to vent or check out the internet. What kind of an example is being set? There are many outstanding teachers at this school; I wonder if they are getting the support they need from parents & their Admin. Disappointed & not returning


Annunciation Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
My children have had nothing but great experiences at Annunciation. The principal is approachable, the teachers are firm but loving, and the students are kind and welcoming. My children love to go to school and look forward to Monday! We couldn't be happier.

Annunciation Elementary School 2

Posted July 27, 2010
- a parent
We have pulled our child out of Annunciation after attending K through 3 as the school is in a downward spiral and is no longer tolerable. We have found the discipline to be close to non-existent and the inconsistent, non-goal oriented curriculum to be unacceptable. We know of many parents who are having their children privately tutored just to maintain what they feel is acceptable level of academic achievement, or to get into another school. Bullying is a real problem, and the school administration's solution seems to be to council the bullied to better understand the bully. In addition, the administration does not give clear guidance on how to report bullying, instructing students that they shouldn't be "tattle tales", which sends a conflicting message and just frustrates the children even more.

Annunciation Elementary School 2

Posted January 17, 2010
- a parent
The administration at this school is leading it down to road of destruction. They allow the teachers to teach different curriculum's at each grade level. There is lax discipline, the Principal and VP ignore or just brush things under the table, nothing is really ever resolved. The Priest does not seem to be engaged in the school at all. There are groups of parents that won't even look at other parents and their children model the behavior of their uppity parents well. Yes, they have a music program and a drama program new to the school this year, but you have to pay extra for the programs. Many other Catholic Schools have these programs for free. If you are looking for a real Christian atmosphere I would find another school.


Annunciation Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
We love this school! We have wonderful leadership from the pastor and from the administration. Caring teachers, parents, and students make for an especially involved and supportive community. The school has high academic standards and innovations in the classroom provide each student with an appropriately challenging education. The administration is very dedicated and has been making improvemnts in many areas of the school including upgraded science labs and after school music and drama programs. Recently hired middle school teachers have really energized and modernized the mid school curriculum. I'd recommend this school to any family that wants a fabulous Catholic education and desires to be part of a very special community!

Annunciation Elementary School 3

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
Annunciation has been going through many changes. Some are great and others are not. The academic standards at the school are no longer important as can be seen just by reading the handbook. Teacher turn-over is also quite high. The discipline in the school leaves a lot to be desired. Almost any type of infracture can be explained away and accepted. I think the school has a lot of potential but is heading in the wrong direction right now. However, the school is full and that seems to be the bar for measuring the success at the school. It is a Catholic school that does practice the faith in every aspect and that is positive. Make sure you know what you expect from a private Catholic school before making your decision here.

Annunciation Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2006
- a parent
Great school! We love it! This school really excels in teaching the kids and making it fun. The new principal is a God-send and really makes it a warm and inviting environment. Couldn't ask for a better school!


Annunciation Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2006
- a parent
My older child graduated from Annunciation prior to the new administration. I was pleased with the school then, and I am pleased with the new administration as well. The students and teachers are welcoming to newcomers, the atmosphere in the school is upbeat and positive, and the education remains top notch. Class size is small, and the school teaches Christian values as well as academics. I love the expanded after school sports programs for both boys and girls, which children this age really need. They also have a strong technological initiative in place. Would like to see the music program expanded to include show choir and band. Overall, this is a very good school.

Annunciation Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2006
- a parent
Wow! Annunciation is in the midst of many changes ranging from campus improvements to a technology initiative. The leadership of the pastor and administration has impacted our school in positive ways and our children enjoy the learning environment. The principal seeks out input from parents and students and acts on the input received to better the school as well as recommending changes to encourage even more interaction amongst the community of parents, teachers, and students. All our family members have made many valuable new friendships because of our involvement at the school. Most importantly, we appreciate the school building on the morals and values we are instilling in our children at home.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Annunciation Elementary School
2610 Utah Street Northeast, Albuquerque, NM  87110
(505) 299-6783
Last modified Annunciation Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Annunciation Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top