Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Therese Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 130 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2013

St. Therese is a great school. My daughter is doing really well and the school is very family oriented. She is in a small class and gets a lot of attention that I would not find at any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

St. Therese Catholic School has been wonderful for our child. We have been at St. Therese for a couple of years and have found that the school is rigorous academically, the teachers are attentive, caring and above all, very knowledgeable in the subject matter that they teach, as well as show Catholic values. I am proud to call St. Therese our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

St. Therese School provided an excellent education for my daughter. We moved from out of state and were afraid it would be a hard transition. The students welcomed her and made her feel like family. She did very well and went on to St. Pius X high School where she continues to excel academically and spiritually. Small school, caring teachers and challenging curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

St. Therese Catholic School has been under tremendous changes over the last few years and because of this it does hinder the learning environment. Our child's math and reading scores were below grade level. Several times thoughout the year substitute teachers were brought in because full-time staff were pulled to take on other administrative tasks. A lot of fundraising!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My son has been attending St. Therese School for 6 years. It has been a wonderful experience for both of us. The classes are small and the teachers are excellent. St. Therese has a wonderful sports program which is offered to students starting in 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

St. Therese is a great school. It is hard to believe that such a small school that devotes itself to the children and parents exists in the middle of Albuquerque. The Volunteer program allows parents to support the school with their own talents and the teachers and administration are always there to listen to parents. Additionally the parents are sociable wonderful people who not only have their children's interest at heart but always want to helpo if needed. The extracurricular activities are abundant and my Kids are happy. Very Christian/Catholic school in a beautiful way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

The teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

I have two children at St. Therese, one in 5th and one in 8th grade. It is a kinder, gentler school than our previous Catholic School. They still believe in educating ALL God's children, not just the smartest ones. The administration, staff and teachers create a calm atmosphere, not frantic and rushed, and always appear eager to interact with parents. The teacher/student ratio is 1/15 or less. Parent involvement is excellent and encouraged. The school participates in special programs such as Math Counts through UNM and a Rocket Science program with Kirtland AFB and Sandia Labs. The teachers seem to give positive rewards for good results rather than just discipline for bad results. We have real Art and Music teachers. The Parish and the Priests are very involved with the school. We feel very welcome and accepted here, even though it is our first year at St. Therese.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

I have one child attended he is in 2nd grade..my child has attended since he was in the pre-k program. The principal is wonderful and is very kind..The school has great learning curriculum..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2005

We have been with St. Therese School for 6 years and have three children enrolled. My husband and I feel very blessed to have our children at this school. The principal and teachers are absolutely wonderful. I feel that my children are in a very safe environment. My children have excelled at St. Therese school. I wouldn't have them anywhere else. I encourage others to visit our school and see our family environment first-hand. I'm sure you will be impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

I have one child that has attended St. Therese since Kindergarden. The staff at the school are wonderful. The currriculum is faith oriented and the students go church at least once a week. They all participate by following along with the priest and by singing. I think it has been a terrific experience for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 55%
Two or more races 18% 1%
White 11% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 16%
Asian 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Santa Fe
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

311 Shropshire Ave NW
Albuquerque, NM 87107
Phone: (505) 344-4479

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Garfield Middle School
Albuquerque, NM


Extended Learning Center
Albuquerque, NM


Menaul School
Albuquerque, NM


La Luz Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT