Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
252 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Charles Borromeo Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Torres, Mrs. Wheeldon, Mrs. Mulhorn are all good teachers. Thank you to all of them.

St Charles Borromeo Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
As with any school, some teachers are better than others. The Elementary teachers are top notch!


St Charles Borromeo Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
In most cases the amount of homework is just right but some teachers are a bit excessive.

St Charles Borromeo Elementary School 3

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
We have been with this school for 3 years now. Overall we have been mostly satisfied, the education up to now has been top notch and the camaraderie among the students, parents, faculty is amazing. We are going through some serious changes though that are rather concerning. We have a new Principal who has never been an Administrator before. He did inherit a debt that was left by his predecessor but the changes he is making are putting the education of our children in jeopardy. Several teachers were terminated at the end of this year and there are rumors of combination classes, elimination of programs, plus the increase in costs. He lost many students this year which didn't help the situation. He will have trouble recruiting new students with the decisions he has made. Not good for a first time Administrator. We are hopeful that the school can recover and move forward but at the same time we are shopping around for an alternative.

St Charles Borromeo Elementary School 2

Posted December 14, 2014
- a parent
Both my daughters attended St. Charles K-8 and we had been with the school a total of 14 years. We were very happy with the service and education in the beginning. I believed principal BJ was great! She valued fairness and viewed all students education to be her highest priority. She left when my youngest daughter was in 7th grade. Although I only experienced Mrs. LaValley's leadership 1 year I was glad my daughter was graduating. The new principal seemed inexperienced and did not have things in order. In her first year there she spent a lot of money on things that just seemed unimportant (buying a soccerfield when we had a large field to begin with). My daughter had more run ins with this principal in 1 year than she had in all of the prior 8 years. I found it odd that instead of hearing these incidents from the principal, I heard them from my daughter. I believe that after the new principal was instituted the school went downhill. I have heard from other parents almost all the money was spent up in a short span of time and teachers who had been there for more than 9 years were dismissed. I probably would have pulled my kid out if she had anymore than 1 year left there.


St Charles Borromeo Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a teacher
St. Charles is a positive, academically challenged, and faith-filled school. This is my first year teaching at St. Charles and I love it. The principal has an open-door policy that everyone seems to appreciate and that includes parents, teachers, and students. She handles issues, no matter how small or large, with care and follows through with what needs to be done; of course not everyone will agree with a person s actions and decisions, but the principal will always explain her reasoning behind her decisions and actions. As a new teacher at St. Charles I have been mentored by so many amazing teachers. Most of the teachers support and help each other in every aspect needed. The tuition expenditures have always been made available to parents and staff through numerous ways such as the State of the School, the CCC meetings, and the PTO meetings. Parents who are involved and take part in these activities stay well informed of the daily activities of the school. I feel really blessed to be in such a school that welcomes everyone with open arms.

St Charles Borromeo Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at St. Charles and feel it is a great school. From what I have seen the parents that complain the most are the ones that are not involved. As an example I have heard parents that say that they are unaware of where tuition is going for expenditures. If you had attended either the CCC meeting or a PTO meeting you would know because the principal presented the budget in each of those meeting at least one. It seems as if it only a small group of parents that continually are involved in the school. My only complaint is the the communication is a little lacking. Though with the principals open door policy it is easy to get any information I want.

St Charles Borromeo Elementary School 2

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
I am very sad to say this school has gone downhill. The principle may have an open door policy but she also only tells you what you want to hear. She does not follow through and she makes promises she can not keep. Over the past three years my child has suffered academically. We have lost great teachers and the new ones are not mentored and are set up for failure. Theis is the principles fault not the teachers. Your staff is only as good as their leader. Communication is key but there must be honesty behind that communication. Where is all our money going no one seems to know.


St Charles Borromeo Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a teacher
St. Charles is an excellent school! It has an amazing staff that truly cares about the students. The Principal has an open-door policy, and families are always stopping by to talk, and they feel welcome to talk to the Principal at any time (she has never once turned anyone away). The students are wonderful. All around, it is a great place to be.

St Charles Borromeo Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a teacher
I am in my 4th year as a teacher at St. Charles. This is without a doubt the best school I have ever worked at. The principal has an open door policy to all. This includes the students. Everyone has a voice. The staff spends countless hours outside their scheduled day to help our children learn. We have high expectations for our students. We instill the teachings of Jesus Christ. This is a school where your child can make mistakes and not be made to feel like a mistake. Yes, we have had turn over the last three years since our new principal has arrived. In most cases, the turn over happened because the teacher wanted a change. The school was stale and needed a new direction, a fresh coat of paint. I worked for both principals, the last one was good. This one is great. If you want a school where your child is held accountable then we are your school. If you want a school where your child is taught to his learning style then we are your school. If you want a school where your child is treated the way Jesus would treat your child, then WE ARE YOUR SCHOOL. I hope one day to teach your child Mr. Meyer 5th grade teacher

Nearby schools

St Charles Borromeo Elementary School
1801 Hazeldine Avenue Southeast, Albuquerque, NM  87106
(505) 243-5788
Last modified St Charles Borromeo Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top