Advertisement
Advertisement

Immanuel Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 208 students

ILS is best known for affordable, strong teachings with a Christian worldview.
 
 

 
 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Awesome! The teachers are very caring and go above and beyond to help their students. The church pastor is amazing, a wonderful, supportive pastor.


Posted Thursday, April 10, 2014

Immanuel provided my son with an excellent education. The teachers and staff were loving and devoted to their students. He was taught and learned the fruit of the spirit: Love ,Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfullness, Gentleness, and Self Control. Galatians : 5 22-23.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

an excellent place to learn and grow in God. I am very happy with the quality of education that my children are receiving at Immanual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

The staff is dedicated in providing a challenging education to prepare children for their future both as students and servants of Christ. More importantly, Jesus is proclaimed every day, and God's word is taught in truth. My boys went to Immanuel and we now live out of state. They have done remarkably well. I feel they were very well prepared by the faculty and staff at Immanuel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

After watching the news tonight, our kids (and we) were floored at the local superintendent's interview. We reminded them how lucky they are to be at Immanuel. We have lots of friends at APS and in good charter schools, but I wouldn't change this for the world. Thank you, ILS, for your generous tuition program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

ILS has been such a blessing to our family. The teachers and staff are loving and committed. No over crowded classrooms where the teacher doesn't know your student! The one on one attention given here is what every child deserves. The teachers' devotion and love for what they do is apparent. The school is Christ centered in its teachings and encourages the children to love and support one another. With beautiful facilities in a likewise beautiful neighborhood, Immanuel is a real gem. What I appreciate most is each teacher's willingness to have open and honest communication about each of my children and how they are progressing and what their individual needs are. Academically it is challenging and fun. The teachers are always looking for new and innovative ways to teach and keep the children interested and engaged. With a friendly and kind atmosphere, we are truly blessed to call Immanuel our second home while we help our children navigate such imperative years. It is truly a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Immanuel is the best kept secret in town. Tucked away in a older neighborhood it is quite and well kept. I have had two daughters complete middle school at Immanuel and both have been well equipped academically for private college prep high school. The school community is one big loving family and the staff and faculty teach from their soul with their hearts! Students are given a strong Christian foundation and taught principals with integrity and taught to become leaders with character and class. I love ILS and would recommend this school with two thumbs up! The sports program teaches students to play and win and sometimes lose with good sportsmanship and leadership. I am proud to be apart of the Immanuel alumni community! Immanuel is a place anyone can call home and mean it! In his glory, Melissa Smith & Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Immanuel Lutheran is an magnificent school school with a faith based curriculum. We are truly over joyed that our daughter has the opportunity to revive a top notch education from such a wonderful staff! Immanuel Lutheran School is a huge blessing in our lives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Great school with teachers that believe that your child's education and spirituality are the priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

I have had the privilege of watching several kids come out of this school. Everyone of them are confident young adults. I now have my 2 girls attending Immanuel Lutheran School and they are so excited to learn and grow with God and the Immanuel family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Immanuel is a very special place where children learn how to live in the world. My daughter feels loved, safe, and academically challenged at ILS. The teachers obviously love their jobs, and their efforts pay off in the students' progress. The principal is a leader who leads by example and holds high standards. I know, without any doubt, that ILS is the best elementary/middle school on NM. I just wish they had a high school, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

I enrolled my son at Immanuel in the 7th grade. He is a geeky introvert and had trouble in the past finding a place to fit in and being accepted for who and how he is. His classmates took him in and made him feel good about himself. He made friends with every single child in that class, boys and girls included. There are so many good things to say about ILS: no-cut sports, strong academics, teachers that really love their kids, these teachers have the gift of teaching and are free to exercise their abilities very effectively. Here's my quote on FB the day after my son's 8th grade graduation:"My son said goodbye to middle school tonight. Feeling melancholy, but that's good. When your kid comes home and says he wishes it wasn't over, you know he had a good time. Thank you Immanuel Lutheran School for giving my son 2 excellent years, a handful of good friends and an excellent foundation for high school and beyond. God bless the freshmen class of 2017."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

I am a former student of Immanuel Lutheran, and I must say that it is a wonderful school. The education that I received was top notch and provided a firm foundation to build on. Immanuel was and still is a loving and caring environment where every child is made to feel important. The teachers are also knowledgeable, helpful and certainly some of the best! I would highly recommend Immanuel to anyone looking for a great education for their child.


Posted July 23, 2013

I really love Immanuel Lutheran School! My sons both went to ILS and received a superb education and great spiritual training as well. I still remember the first time that I visited and felt that sense of family that was so evident all over the campus. I have also enjoyed working here for over a decade now and can't imagine serving anywhere else. The faculty is well-trained, dedicated, and loving. No education is more complete! You should come for a visit to experience the Immanuel campus and the people who make this little slice of Albuquerque an amazing place to learn and grow!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 19, 2013

Our children went to Immanuel K - 8 and we don't regret a minute of it! This Christian school provides a safe caring environment with an emphasis on academics. The teachers are dedicated, talented, and nurturing. It's a wonderful community that strives to equip students for the future, both academically and spiritually. What a blessing for our family!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

We were looking for a school that would be large enough to provide amenities and choices for our two boys, but intimate enough to customize a learning program for each child. In our first walk-through, we were greeted by enthusiastic staff, friendly parent volunteers and gregarious children and took away a warm feeling of family. Many of the teachers have children in the program and some of the parents are graduates of the program. Mr. Angell says goodbye to each child by name at the end of the day. And, on top of what we feel is a strong educational program (notably one of two schools to be awarded "Blue Ribbon" that year), our children are being taught a spiritual foundation that is full of respect, love, consideration, faith and hope for the future. We look forward to watching our boys continue to grow in this program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

As a relatively new member of the Immanuel faculty, I can say that I was very excited to join a such a dedicated and caring staff. I have been welcomed and mentored by my principal and colleagues. We encourage one another to live out our Christian faith and to be the best that we can possibly be for the students and families that we minister to. We are also very blessed to have such involved parents working side-by-side with us to help their children learn and grow.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2012

This school is great and it offers one of the best core curriculum in the state. Its also really affordable, its actually the best education you can give your child for there money.


Posted August 20, 2012

Immanuel is my home. My family moved to Albuquerque in 1999 and I immediately began going to the school and church. I loved the middle school and the majority of the teachers that I had are still there. They are fantastic, welcoming and help to challenge you intellectually. By the time I reached high school, I was so far advanced, AP classes were a breeze. When I reached college, I went back to Immanuel as a preschool teacher. I taught for two years and miss it everyday that I have left. The family atmosphere is like no other. You will not find a church & school like this one, everyone truly cares and wants the best for each individual student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2012

This school has it all! Immanuel is a National Blue Ribbon School and creates both a nurturing, caring environment and an exceptional educational experience. The school also offers an extensive list of extracurricular activities, after school clubs, sports and academic competitions. The teachers treat the kids with love and respect and are encouraged to continue to their education in order to keep their classrooms up to date with the newest technology and engaging for their students. I am so glad to have my daughter in such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 26%
Hispanic 36% 55%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 16%
Asian 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:05 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mark Angell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Lego Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public school
Private schools ending at grade 5
Headstart

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$0 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
College Prep
Charter High Schools
Dual Credit Homeschool
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Gold Avenue Southeast
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 243-5665

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Foothill High School
Albuquerque, NM





Tierra Adentro
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT