Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Albuquerque Academy

Private | 6-12 | 164 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2009

Excellent resources, commitment to quality education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

Excellent program for students to study their passions and keep on track for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

I am a rising junior that has attended Academy since the 9th grade. My family has made significant financial sacrifices for me to attend, but we all agree it is well worth it. I'm not a minority, and don't live 5 minutes away from the school, and my parents are average middle class workers. I don't feel less favored by anybody in the community. There are jerks no matter where you go, but at Academy, there's plenty for you to do to stay away from them- Write for the free-press student newspaper, go on a camping trip with the experiential education department, try out for the play, or join the diving team. This school is without question very academia driven and rigorous- But I can honestly say that there is no school in the world I'd rather be at. It is truly a shame not every kid can say that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

Let me start by saying I am a junior who has attended AA since 6th grade. This is by far the best school for academics in NM, maybe in the nation. However if you want your child to be an individual, have free thought, be an artist, independent thinker etc don't send them here! Yes they would be ready for college, but they wouldn't be humans anymore. Favoritism is given to athletes and minorities to an extreme. Also if you don't live within 5 minutes of the school and don't make a six figure salary don't bother. Your child will feel ostracized as i do. Beware!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2009

As an alumnus who attended Albuquerque Academy (AA), New Mexico Military Institute (NMMI) and St. Pius X (SPX), I will unequivocally profess: Albuquerque Academy is far and away the best school. Average graduates of Albuquerque Academy will have completed 2 full years of university by the time they leave AA. The campus, highly-qualified faculty and focus on critical thinking and analytical skills make AA second to none. If only all kids were fortunate enough to have the opportunities of AA we'd live in a better community indeed.


Posted January 19, 2009

Great school; Ilearned a lot!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

This school has a very good reputation for academics, but it is very bad for anyone that is not interested in a very academic-based career. I am much more interested in the arts and I hate this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

This school only meets the needs of people who want a hardcore science or math career. For all artists, although it may seem like this school is good, it is way below where a private school should be. Visual arts are exceptional; however, for performing arts this school cannot meet the needs of an aspiring artist.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2008

It is hard to find enough SUPERLATIVES to use in describing Albuquerque Academy. If your child LOVES learning and LOVES a challenge....... this is the school for them. However, if your daughter wants to be a cheerleader and your son wants to be in the marching band then don't waste your time......the Academy doesn't have cheerleaders or a marching band! However, what they do offer is vast beyond imagination, seemingly limitless and is best served by a visit to the Academy where you can speak with amazing faculty members and equally amazing students. I would urge you to apply even if you don't think you can afford it .... they have 'need-blind' admission and will find you financial aid. It is safe to say that 99.9% of the graduates go on to college and a large percentage get into Ivy League schools. This school is worth every cent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

I transferred to the Academy my senior year of high school knowing only that it was a top private school in the country. I was, of course, apprehensive, but I have to say it was possibly the best thing that ever happened to me. Generally speaking, everyone was so nice and welcoming. There's the usual high school stuff like cliques and some petty sniping, but the vast majority of kids there are friendly, cooperative, fun and interesting. It's not anywhere close to other schools I've attended when it comes to the mean, spiteful inter-clique rivalries- they're somewhat noticeable, but really everyone gets along. The academics are of course incredible- I never met a teacher I didn't like or at least respect. The faculty and staff really pull for the students and are super supportive of their needs. It's an amazing school that I would recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2008

I'm an alumnus of the Academy, and can trace my success in business directly to its educational and extracurricular opportunities. It gave me a 2 year head start on my classmates in college as well.


Posted January 11, 2008

Albuquerque Academy is one of the greatest schools in the US. It has one of the largest and most beutiful campus of all of the private schools in the US. It encourages diversity, there are students of all colors at Academy. The school helps students prepare for college by giving them tons of freedom, and the teachers are hired from around the US, and around the world. Teachers everywhere are eager to work at Academy, and Academy has turned down many teachers from many of the top schools in the country, includig Exader teachers. Everything about Academy is perfect, everything is amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2007

I am in love with this school. The environment is nurturing with genuine care. Children are treated with respect and their opinions are valued. Combine that with the high academic expectations and outstanding teachers and leadership and I don't think there is a better independent school in the nation. All of this, and yet, this school has made every reasonable effort to be all-inclusive of the Albuquerque community. It is expensive, but their financial aid is unmatched. I'm a single mom and my son would never have had this kind of educational opportunity without the generosity of the Academy. Extracurricular activities are varied, and many, and provide the children and parents with extra support for a well-rounded education and community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

This is an excellent school with rigorous academics and high standards. Although very expensive, it's worthwhile. I have a son and daughter attending this school and they are challenged everyday in the classroom. There are far too many extracurricular activities including numerous sports programs. Beautiful campus, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

I am a parent of two Albuquerque Academy (AA) students(a senior and a sophmore). I can say without reservation that it is an outstanding institution. The 'Academy Culture' is unrivaled. Quality of academics...A+ Avail of extracurricular...A+ Level of Parental Involvement...incredible. AA has definitely exceeded my expectations in all aspects of my of my children's education. Besides the above categories, AA is miles ahead in terms of diversity and race relations. As an African-American family on the 'inside' I can assure you that our experiences at the academy have been great. My children have participated in football, track, choir, Science Olympiad & Bowl, school musicals, art shows, among others. By far, the quality, care and concerns of faculty and staff has been most outstanding. I always felt like we were the same team working towards the same objective...my children's success. Albuquerque Academy should definitely be on every NM family's 'A-list.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

This is the best school in the state of new mexico. And probably in the top ten in the entire country. The school has incredible facilities (the best swimming pool of any high school in the country)a library that has over 100,000 items in circulation. Academy is also supported by a huge endowment fund. No school can top academy.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 26%
Two or more races 28% 1%
Hispanic 10% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 10%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6400 Wyoming Boulevard Northeast
Albuquerque, NM 87109
Phone: (505) 828-3207

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hope Christian School
Albuquerque, NM


Cleveland Middle School
Albuquerque, NM


Shepherd Lutheran
Albuquerque, NM


Salam Academy
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT