Advertisement
Advertisement

Sandia Preparatory School

Private | 6-12 | 650 students

We are best known for our rigorous and balanced college prep program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $239,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 16 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted October 22, 2012

Sandia Prep prides itself on the strong support provided to each individual student. With a student to teacher ratio of 7.8 to 1, an average class size of 15, and fewer than 10 students per advisor, we are able to address and meet the individual needs of each learner. All mid school courses, and most upper school courses, have course webpages on the school website to allow parents and students to see syllabi, assignments and other information. We provide detailed progress reports mid-way through each semester, and we hold advisory conferences at which students and parents review these reports with the child's advisor. We challenge each student to meet his or her potential, and we offer a range of courses in every subject area so that each student can find success based upon his or her aptitude and ability. Students who require extra help can meet with faculty members before or after school, during lunch, breaks or free periods, or they can arrange to work with students who offer peer tutoring or professional tutors employed by the school. For more information, visit www.sandiaprep.org

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

Our school is Sandia Preparatory in Albuquerque, NM. We are an independent, private school with superb attributes which only increase over eack school year. Everyone on campus at Sandia Prep smiles. Many teachers have been there 20-30 years, always challenging themselves to improve their teaching and personal skills. My two children received an exemplary education at Prep and they took this solid foundation into college and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

I am a graduate of Sandia Prep and I cannot think of a better place to grow and learn not only academically but as a self-confident individual. I am so excited that my son will get to have some of the same experiences I was able to.


Posted October 14, 2013

The new attendance policy needs to be adjusted. School field trips are considered absences this year and now I find out that students who have to miss a day due to religious holidays will also be counted as absent (there is no difference between excused and unexcused absences). The teachers are high quality. They are willing to help students during lunches and after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

Sandia Prep has given my children an amazing education. They have excelled at college, having been given a tremendous academic foundation. In addition, they had fun, they learned to be particpating members of society, and they made connections with teachers and friends that they maintain to this day. I cannot say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

We love the family feel of this school and the sense that all the teachers and staff know each of the students and are committed to their success! The focus on the whole person: academic, physical, expressive/creative, etc. was particularly attractive to us and we believe helps develop the most successful, happy individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Our son is a Junior, our daughter is a Freshman, and both have been at Sandia Prep since 6th grade. While having dinner with them a couple of days ago, both told me how much they like the school, and were effusive in their praise of its teachers. Our daughter was even struggling with a decision whether to be out of school for an afternoon for a soccer game, because she hated to miss two of her classes which she loves. Our son was explaining Sandia Prep's superiority to other private schools in the area in a manner which showed his appreciation of the greatness of his teachers and coaches. As a parent, I appreciate the excitement about learning which both of them demonstrated, and I recognize the school's comprehensive focus on the full development of the student as a well rounded person. i appreciate the positive help teachers give each of them and the consistent feedback we get as parents from teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

Sandia Prep allows my son to discover who he is and explore the possibilities that interest him. There is no pre-determined destiny mapped out for him. The school lets him decide who he is going to be and then assists him in every way to obtain his goals. It is a fantastic place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

Sandia Prep is terrific. It cares about development of the student as a whole and provides many chances for the student to explore various topics and experiences. My daughter has had several chances to transfer to other independents schools and would not consider it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

Sandia Preparatory School is everything that all of the other parents had raved about. It provides an amazing education with results, while balancing sports, arts, and other activities. They focus on the whole child and a complete education. We are so thankful for finding Sandia Prep, and we enthusiastically recommend Prep to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

My daughter has attended Sandia Prep since 6th grade and is now a senior. She has had an amazing educational experience. The teachers here are so supportive and involved. They really know their students. In addition to the the excellent academic opportunities, my daughter has participated in sports, the arts, student government and camping associates. Private education is never cheap, but I would say that every penny that we spent at Sandia Prep was worth it and we have no regrets. It's a great community for students and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

I have a 7th grader at Prep and now my 5th grader is applying there. The school is fantastic! The teachers are exceptional and really love to teach there. The school teaches the kids about collaboration and time management. Many great programs offered with a advance curriculum. My daughter is being challenged daily. The school provides a safe place where kids thrive and want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

Sandia Prep is the BEST. Both of my sons go to school there and are extremely happy. They are academically challenged by teachers that truly care and are passionate about the kids, the subject that they teach and the school. Prep is truly like a family community. The school instituted a new online learning management system that has teacher assignments on it--it can be checked by both parents and students. The school truly cares about what the kids AND parents think and tries to institute reasonable changes when possible. My sons have been nurtured and challenged to be their best. They are encouraged to do the things that they like, but also encouraged to explore and learn new things. They have never been treated as a number. I would not send my sons to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Sandia Prep has been the best education for our children. It has provided my older children the ability to withstand Ivy league college academics and has given them the confidence to make world wide decisions based on what they learned at Prep. I feel that the teachers are passionate, interested in the true wellness of each child at both the middle school and High School level. Prep continues to get better and strives to make changes at all level that help the families in the best way possible. I understand tuition costs but don't feel that our money is better spent. Having a entering middle schoolerI am looking forward to the next 7 years and know Prep will continue its high grade of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I love this school but more importantly, my child loves it here. The academics are stimulating and challenging. To the child who has to be there 7hrs daily, the student culture and social atmosphere is respectful and tolerant. Geeks are not ostracized and vegetarians are not dismissed. This is important to the child wondering where to sit in the cafeteria. Whether we parents want to admit it, social acceptance in high school is almost as important as academics and significantly affects the individual's self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

We love the school but there are few of changes that I hope will be corrected in the future. (1)The teachers need to start using their website to post the homework assignments. There are still some teachers who seem to be resisting. It makes my job as a parent so much more easier and frankly I am paying for that! What good is technology if its not being used. (2) When my child asks to know how they are doing in class..."I don't know yet. I haven't totaled the scores yet." is not a good answer. (3) Handing back the papers or assignments needs to be expedited. If a student has to turn in homework on time then shouldn't a teacher hand back the corrected homework on time instead of a month later? Lead by example!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

We came to Prep because of Dick Heath---a wonderful, warm, approachable Head of School. The new Head of School is no where near able, or willing to fill those shoes. He has lost sight of the school mission. Prep has not held up its mission in regards to kids who are struggling. They say they meet the student where they are. This has not happened for my child. They say the student comes first. They don't. Tuition has consistently gone up but the quality has not. His advisor has not only not been supportive, he is not even approachable. We tried to meet with the school to resolve our concerns and got only terse, abrupt email responses. I will be enrolling my son elsewhere next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

With the cost of tuition it seems there should be a lot more student support. The school lacks a universal online grade/assignment system so you have to contact each individual teacher and hope they return the email (4 teachers use totally different online systems/others use none), I found out 6 weeks into the year that my child was earning a C or below in 2 classes and not one teacher had contacted me. It was only because I reached out first to simply check on my child's progress. They pride themselves on being rigorous and leaving a few who can't keep up seems to be the norm; rigorous teaching doesn't equate to great teaching. I wish there was a better tutoring/support system in place for kids who struggle in any given subject. The local public school system in Albuquerque performs better in terms of one online system for parents to keep up on grades and assignments as well as outside tutoring. Not sure why Sandia can't bridge these seemingly inexpensive issues. I'd change my child to a public school like La Cueva but I know my child would be upset about leaving the wonderful friends made at Sandia. The kids there are incredibly sweet and this is a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

My daughter has been at SPS for just over a month, and watching her blossom has been a joy. She comes out with things like "It's awesome to be part of the Sandia community!" and goes on about how wonderful her teachers are - excellent and challenging, caring, funny, warm and strict at the same time. I am SO relieved my child is at this school! She wanted to start a fund-raising club and they've supported and encouraged her. Once your child is in, they really are drawn in, nurtured and cared for. The academics are why we sent our children to SPS, of course, and those have been challenging and exciting for her - she'll have 6 years of Mandarin under her belt when she graduates! Wonderful facilities, engaged teachers and staff with fabulous communications with parents. SPS gives your child a wonderful, world-class education without the stress - challenges them, certainly, and outlines clear standards, but still allows them the joy of being a kid. That is exactly the balance I wanted for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

Three of our kids have attended Sandia Prep - the two who graduated have since gone on to get master's degrees after attending the college of their choice. Prep prepared them excellently to succeed in whatever they desire. We currently have a student at Prep and it continues to over-exceed our expectations. Our third child is years ahead in math and Prep not only noticed that upon completion of his entrance exam, but they continued to test him to find an appropriate placement. He loves school and is happier than we've ever seen him. Soon he too will graduate and follow his dreams. Prep mades that not only possible, but inevitable. The staff work not only on academic achievement with students, but also social and emotional well being. We couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

I couldn't be more impressed by Sandia Prep. The staff is incredibly attentive and really take the time to get to know each student and meet their needs. The curriculum is challenging and diverse, accommodating a wide range of interests. Best of all, my 8th grader is excited to go to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 26%
Hispanic 14% 55%
Two or more races 13% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 16%
Asian 4% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Stanford University
Harvard University
Emory University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Psychologically Healthy Workplace & Best Practices (2009)
  • featured in Newsweek's America's Best High Schools

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Steve Albert
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (505) 338-3099

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • dance team

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Rocketry Club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer time after school
  • operate Supply Store, host school events
More from this school
  • Sandia Prep is a remarkable place with unique programs, outstanding facilities, and a discernable sense of community. We provide remarkable opportunities for our students’ personal growth within a balanced and challenging program. Academics are our top priority, balance is our core value, and community makes us who we are. Our innovative and nationally recognized program prepares each student for success in college and beyond –and inspires each student to find his or her purpose in the world.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$18000 - $19000
Financial aid offered
Yes.
we award need-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Stanford University
Harvard University
Emory University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

532 Osuna Rd NE
Albuquerque, NM 87113
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 338-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Corrales International
Albuquerque, NM


Taft Middle School
Albuquerque, NM


Pathways Academy
Albuquerque, NM



North Valley Academy
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT