Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Manzano Day School

Private | PK-5 | 450 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $217,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2008

I have been disappointed in Manzano Day School. It was promoted by many people as being 'the best' in Albuquerque, but I have not found that to be the case. The Prinicipal and Administration are especially weak. There are nice things about the school like Fenton Ranch and Art, but the rest of the school is very mediocre. There is way too much emphasis on Chorus and Music which excludes too many students. Most of the families are nice but there is too much attention on money and things. I would probably not send my children there again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

I feel we are getting an excellent education for our kids at Manzano Day School here in Albuquerque. We came from public school on the east coast, which had very high standards, and I find Manzano also has very high standards. In addition to that, Manzano integrates amazing programs such as nature studies at Fenton Ranch, choral singing with New Mexico Symphony, a musical theater production, as well as art and Spanish. My kids also enjoy participating in chess club, math Olympiads and science club. Teachers are nurturing and make learning fun; head of school continually strives for new levels of excellence; family and community at Manzano are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

Our daughter has attended Manzano Day School since Pre-K. She truly has experienced 'Joy in Learning.' The campus is beautiful, the faculty and staff are nurturing and caring, the curriculum is challenging, and the parents are involved and supportive. All these things contributre to the outstanding education she is receiving. The co-curricular classes as well as special programs are educating the whole child. Not only is she excelling in math, science and literature, but her love for art and music have only been strengthened by the excellent curriculum. We made the right decision to send her to Manzano Day School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I am very fortunate to have been able to send my two children to Manzano Day School. Manzano provided my children with a solid educational foundation, which helped them acclimate academically and socially to middle and high school. Manzano has a strong sense of community among the students, parents, facility and administration. Manzano's facility is wonderful. They teach each child based upon the child's best learning approach. The class size is small and the curriculum is challenging. I can't say enough about the facility at Manzano. They are terrific and take a personal interest in each and every child. The facility is first rate and the administration is supportive. You will not find a better learning environment anywhere. My children are thriving because of the education they received at Manzano.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

All three of my children attended Manzano Day School from K-5. It was an absolutely wonderful place for them to begin their education, grow and become who they are. They received an excellent foundation in every regard, and have been very successful in private middle and high school. The teachers provide a warm, safe, fun, and interesting environment for young children - the perfect start! Manzano has continued to improve and expand their curriculum, and I'm especially happy with the increased focus on Science and Math. Throw in the unique experiences of Fenton Ranch and the other extracurriculars and you've got the best elementary education possible! Sending our children to Manzano is one of the best investments we've ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

We have been at MDS since 1998 and are very happy with the educational experience. Our kids have been well prepared for private middle school. The co-curricular courses (Art, Spanish, Music etc.) are outstanding and an important part of a well balanced education. The musical performed by the 4th and 5th graders is always fun and an amazing opportunity for the kids. The facilities at Fenton Ranch add so much to the educational experience our kids still go back for the summer camps. The parents are very involved and their participation is encouraged and welcomed by the faculty and staff. We have made many lasting friendships with the teachers and staff over the years. The faculty is the strength of the school. They genuinely care about your child and are concerned with helping them to reach their full potential. My kids love to go back and visit with their old teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

Our daughter graduated from Manzano last year, and just loved the school. She went into the 5th grade with a 12th grade reading level and is now a voracious reader. She loves going back to the school and visiting her old teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

My daughter attended Manzano Day School and I found it to be a bit too traditional and controlling. She did not transition to Middle School as well as we would have hoped. The Math program did not provide her an understanding of processes and concepts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

My daughter has been attending Manzano Day School since Pre K and we could not be happier with her development. Not only does she love to go to school she is above grade level in every subject. The teachers are phenomenal and the parent involvement is outstanding. When people ask if we have an investment account we say yes our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2006

Manzano Day School is not only a place to learn, it is a place to make friends. We moved from the east coast and were amazed by everybody! Our family has really blossomed at MDS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2006

My son went to APS school then transferred to Manzano Day. The words night and day do not begin to express the difference. My son comes home excited everyday. He is talking about science, music, Spanish and art. We talked about Monet and Degas during on drive home. This is what education should be!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

It has a great facility that is being upgraded and a fine head of school. It also has mediocre teachers, a tired curriculum that is especially weak in science and math and a group of privileged families that get special teatment. My child attended for several years and then began attending a public school in a different city and the children at her new school were much more advanced than those at Manzano.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

Mazano Day School is not just one of Albuquerque's finest schools, but one of the region's finest schools. The teachers are dedicated and highly professional, the administration is energetic and committed. The parents are caring and devoted, and the kids are fun, interested, and polite. There is a great diversity among the student body, and the kids are very accepting of each other and their differences. The school advertises that it provides 'Joy in Learning' and it fulfills on that claim. If you are truly committed to your child getting the best possible education and spending time with people who will genuinely care about the whole child's well being, this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

There is no better school in Albuquerque for your elementary school aged child. Period. Great community, great academics, great extras...the whole package. My daughter has blossomed socially, academically, intellectually...A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

All three of my children have attended Manzano Day School. I feel it's the best investment I could have made in my children's future. The school is truly focused on the individual child - helping each child to develop their strengths and improve their weaknesses. Since instituting the FAST reading program every single child reads at grade level or above. 40% of 5th graders read at 11th grade level or higher. I really can't say enough about the wonderful teachers, the outstanding curriculum, including music, art and Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 26%
Hispanic 21% 59%
Two or more races 15% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:30 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Neal Piltch
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (505) 243-4711

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Our school has a very active parents' association and parents are welcome on our campus.
More from this school
  • Our school is a member of National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS) and accredited by the State of New Mexico and Independent Schools Association of the Southwest (ISAS).
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Albuquerque Academy
Sandia Prep
Bosque School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 Central Avenue Northwest
Albuquerque, NM 87104
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 243-6659

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Mary's School
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT