Advertisement
Advertisement

Western Heights Christian School

Private | PK-5 | 134 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

Both of my kids have been at this school for 3 years. I love this school, the teachers are awesome and the curriculum as well. By age 4, kids start to read and by K they write and read a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

My daughter is in this school with cyfd assistants. She was sick for an entire month and did not go. This school failed to inform Cyfd and kept the check plus charged me $45 per month on top of the $200 I paid to get her in. Not affordable for a single parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

I was reluctant to choose Western Heights because it is in a strange area surrounded by commercial buildings. It was an excellent school for my son! He attended the Pre-K program and literally learned to read. He was happy and still asks to go back and visit his teachers. I am a National Board Certified Teacher and I know a good education when I see one. Western Heights is an excellent school. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

I went to this school; my children went to this school; and my grandchildren now go to this school. If you want to provide your children with a great base in their education - this is the place to go. The teachers and staff are all extremely friendly and truly care about the children they care for during the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

My granddaughters attend this school and I am impressed with their academic skills. The teachers are amazing. I highly recommend this school.


Posted February 12, 2010

My son has been at this school for four years now. We love it. We just started our daugther in the pre school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

My child has been in this school for 2 years now. She is in the begining of k-4 and already learning about vowels. I was supprised but impressed! The staff there is amazing. At the end of the school year each class planted a different vegetable seed. During the summer they had the most amazing community garden. The kids were allowed to take some of those vegtables home and try them throught the summer. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

My son is 4 years old and reading! It is structured, nurturing and has a strong academic focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

This school follows the A Beka curriculum. Academically, the students are ahead of public school students by 3.5-4 years.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 55%
White 26% 26%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 16%
Asian 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6415 Sage Road Southwest
Albuquerque, NM 87121
Phone: (505) 242-3135

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Legacy Academy
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT