Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Great teachers. We like that Enriched or Advanced classes have been offered. Would like to see more choices for students for electives. The principal is more concerned with enforcing small rules/micromanaging instead of connecting with students and parents. The teachers offer great instruction. The opportunity is there for this to be a stand out school, but the administration seems stuck on creating an institution instead of a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Love this school! 98% of the students are so kind and intelligent. The teachers are so great except for specific few. They really embrace teaching to every single student's individual learning style.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

I just finished my middle school portion of my academic career and Madison middle school was an ok school the teachers are not strict just plain out rude some teachers pick favorites and no matter how much you file a complaint and parents call the principle does nothing I went there all 3 years and every year I had a teacher who would give you work, lose your work, or just give you an F even if you got the problem right. But there are those teachers who really do care and will work with you one on one to make sure you understand the concept. Now to the students there is a some bullying but not to much but there is a problem with drugs there is constantly students "smoking" so be sure to keep a close eye on who you child is hanging out with. There are some great after school programs and a great choice of electives. I play violin and the orchestra teacher there is amazing if you need help she will stay with you after school to help you. The band teacher is amazing to she helps all her students after school also. Over all Madison middle school is an ok school there is some problems but that's with all schools and it has some great programs. I would recommend coming here.


Posted June 24, 2013

The teachers are caring and my child has shown great improvement from 6th grade and now going into 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

I love this school. Everyone is professional and cares about the kids. There are a lot of activities after school. The principal sends out weekly information. The new counselors are connected to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Madison is a great school. The teachers are professional. There are plenty of after school activities, and communication with parents is maintained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

Overall, this is a great school! Both of my children attend Madison, and we have had a positive experience with the staff being very responsive to communication and eager to work with students to help them succeed. The special education department has been somewhat lacking in providing support for my daughter who needs minimal assistance, but the Advanced Placement programs have been fabulous! The band teacher is a Golden Apple award winner and gives every ounce of herself to her students' success. The majority of the staff is very involved in the personal growth of each student, and there is a wonderful selection of extra-curricular activities available. I purposely bought my home in order for my children to attend Madison and Sandia High School, and am very glad I did so!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

My son goes to Madison Middle school. He loves it. The teachers are friendly and willing to coomunciate with me through e-mails about his schoolwork and grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

Im currently a 7th grader at madison, & i like it okay. I've been reading the reviews from other students & parents & there are some things i agree & disagree on. The thing i liked about Madison is that when they have a great jump-start day for 6th graders, i had a really great jump-start day last year. They let fellow students help the new 6th graders around, plus its a great opprotonity to meet new friends. They also have a good at-lunch program for kids who might not have anyone to hang out at lunch, i find that very nice, even though i don't go. I find some of the teachers very annoying an un-aware. the school also isn't that organized. but Madison Middle School does have a lot of after school clubs & sports, & great electives. The Home Ec/FACS teacher is the best [:
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2009

Madison overall is a great place to send your child. The academics are challenging and there are great after school activities for students to enjoy. Don't hesitate to ask for a tour of the school and maybe talk with some teachers in order to get a better perspective of what the school is like.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2009

Im a seventh grader and i think this school is ok not great but ok the teachers are really strict not mean but strict in my opinion its a good school i like it
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2009

I LOVE Madison Middle school! The academics and sports are fantastic!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2009

Our family has had a good experience at Madison. The advisement staff is amazing. Our child's advisor was extremely helpful in changes in our child's needs for classes. The advanced mathematics is out of this world! The administration's staff could be more helpful. The after school sports were wonderful for our child. I've heard of other parents having issues with the principal, but the one encounter we had was pleasant and he proved helpful and moved our issue along quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

I'm a graduating eighth grader this year and my experience with Madison, from sixth grade up, was pretty poor. I'm in the Gifted Program, and it is clear that the principal doesn't truly care about the Gifted students or the special education students. Some of the teachers are amazingly mediocre, some of which I haven't any idea on how they became teachers! The students are vicious and some have drug addictions to the point of rehabilitation and the counselours are apathetic and indifferent to our problems. I'm looking forward to high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I am an 8th grader here at Madison and I love it! The teachers are great and truly love the school and we have an awesome principal who actually interacts with the kids. I am in the Gifted Program and, although it was shaky at the beginning of the year, it has really shaped up. I would much rather go here than any other middle school in Albuquerque. Yes, there are some teachers and staff that I may not be fond of, but that doesn't make the school bad. Plus, Madison has a more 'real world scenerio' to it, with so many kids from so many different ethical and economic backgrounds. I love it here and I think it's a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2008

i go her now but im going to a diffrent school next year. my parents dont like this school either. im in 6th grade and im in the gifted program & its torture. the whole school is totally inconsiderate. they also have unbelievalbly high expectations. i just barely passed this semester. it was so hard & all of the teachers were just really mean. not strict, mean. it seems like the teachers have no idea what theyre talking about! dont send your kids here people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2007

I have transferred my son into this school as his previous school was not adequately protecting him. The principal here is incredible-I truly feel he wants to provide the best program for my son they can in this school. The head of Special Education is also an incredible woman who puts in lots of overtime planning for her students. I feel truley blessed we were lead to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

My experience with this school and all of APS has been pure disappointment. I now homeschool my kids and their education, behaviors and attitudes have improved dramatically. Homeschooling is easier than you think! If you're upset about public schools, why put your most precious treasures into them? Look into your options. Charter schools are also a great alternative. Follow your gut instincts and don't throw your children away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

This school is very unorganized and didn't seem to know they're students very well they also don't let students tell they're side of the story and are often just punished weather it was them or not! I was very displeased with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2006

Madison is a wonderful school. The staff is great. The band program is particular is superb. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2010.

264 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2010.

230 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students46%
Female47%
Male46%
African American20%
Asian79%
Hispanic37%
Native American30%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities14%
English Language Learner Current30%
English Language Learner Exited59%

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Male51%
African American30%
Asian79%
Hispanic46%
Native American50%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities19%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students61%
Female67%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian64%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities18%
English Language Learner Current31%
English Language Learner Exited67%

Reading

All Students61%
Female66%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian55%
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities21%
English Language Learner Current23%
English Language Learner Exited58%

Science

All Students51%
Female53%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asian46%
Hispanic47%
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities18%
English Language Learner Current8%
English Language Learner Exited50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students51%
Female52%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asian50%
Hispanic45%
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities22%
English Language Learner Current25%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female79%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian58%
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities32%
English Language Learner Current37%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 59%
White 41% 26%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 10%
Black 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3501 Moon NE
Albuquerque, NM 87111
Phone: (505) 880-3744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Shepherd Lutheran
Albuquerque, NM


Continuation School
Albuquerque, NM


La Luz Del Monte Center
Albuquerque, NM





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT