Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bosque School

Private | 6-12 | 548 students

 
 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2013

Bosque school has changed my life for the better. Yeah, there are certain people that will party, that will happen anywhere. But, I have never felt like going to Bosque was a bad decision. I know that I can go to any of the teachers with any issue and they will care about me and help me get through it. Every one of the teachers WANTS to be there and will work their hardest to reach their students, I know that isn't the case with every private high school. Bosque has been a second home to me and my classmates/teachers have become a second family. The current headmaster on his first week made an effort to learn every single student's name and meet them in person, I haven't felt that type of community anywhere else. From the second I walked onto campus as a 6th grader, I felt more welcomed than I had at any other school. It would be nice if there was more of a variety in classes, but the small class sizes is worth it.


Posted March 2, 2013

the school is a very wonderful school, but some of the students and some of my friends are like some of the students at any other public school. They are mean or cut them selves. Even if I thought this wouldn't happen at this school, I was wrong. Now I realize this is life.


Posted September 23, 2012

Great school! I love the teachers, students, and faculty. I'm so sad i had to move to another city and leave this wonderful school!


Posted March 24, 2012

im studentBest school ever! i used to hate math love it!!! english is very hard but its so fun social studies makes it fun.science very challenging yet engaging. Headmaster is amazingly nice.


Posted June 16, 2011

As a parent of two Bosque Bobcats I am very pleased with their academic challenges and social interactions. The middle school sports program could use more attention and with 7 grades fighting for time in the one gym it gets complicated. The environmental science at the school is a strong hold for them and worth while for any kid who loves nature. There is a new head of school coming in and all indications are that there is a renewed excitement about the internal growth at Bosque rather than the external promotion. It is good to be a Bosque Bobcat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

I am a parent and have had two children go from 6th -12th grades here. Both had very good experiences: they were friends with their peers and had good relations with faculty. They also liked the sports programs. Most of the subjects and programs are strong, however they could do without the Latin requirement. It puts too much stress on the students, and keeps them from excelling in other areas. Also, they have no computer science program whatsoever. Not even a computer science teacher. Because of the Latin and absence of CS, I give them 4 stars and not 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

The education here is amazing but the people who run this school, and the students give it a one star. Many of the kids I talk to at school say at least once daily that they hate Bosque. I am a student, and can rightfully say it is too small and the students form tight groups wich are hard to enter.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2009

My name is Caroline and I'm in 7th grade at Bosque. My sister is in 8th grade and my brother will probably come here next year. Bosque is a fantastic school and is totally worth it. I play tennis for Bosque and run track for them. The sport oppurtunities are fantastic and so is every thing else about Bosque. Every person reading this should know that Bosque is a fantastic school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

It has the right balance between caring and competition, and is interested in a moral education too -- as in ethics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

small classes, energetic teachers, community spirit, environmental focus,service work, excellent currriculum, great athletics all in a natural setting on the Rio Grande River
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

Most of the kids aren't open to new ideas, or people, for that matter. The faculty and students are very close, but it makes for a more sheltered community, which hurts students when they get out of the school. I was able to excell in academics when I left, but the diversity of the world took me by surprise because I was used to the same, typical type of kids who are very ignorant, mean, & prejudice. 'we has lots of extracurricular activities' also doesn't show the great academic department...
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2009

I go to Bosque School and it's an excellent school!!! I like all of the teachers, I'm learning a lot, and we has lots of extracurricular activities, too!! I am so glad I picked Bosque School as my middle and high school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2009

A great school! It is rigorous but with a supportive faculty - the high school Humanities program has a college atmosphere to it, and it's athletic programs have come of age! Two state soccer championships this school year, with two more teams poised to end their seasons in the top five in upcoming state tournaments. My student isn't an athelete though - she is involved in the performing arts program, where Bosque really puts its emphasis. I would not change a thing about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

We have been very lucky to have found Bosque school. Moving to a new state is hard but finding a place where our son 'found his people' was reassuring. The Bosque teacher's don't stop working when school ends. They show a definate love for the students and the community. Everyone who works at Bosque School work towards the betterment of the school everyday. I am proud to be a Bosque Parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

My daughter attended Bosque for all 4 years of high school. It was a nuturing and caring environment. The teachers really get to know the students and they challenge them to reach higher. My daughter graduated from Boston University last year, Magna Cum Laude. Her education at Bosque school not only allowed her to get into this university but helped her to do well with the transition. She stated that her first two years of college were much easier than expected, I credit this to her education at Bosque.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

I'm delighted with the school on many levels, but the most important is that it challenges my grandson to the max, and even better, he loves the challenges. It's one thing for parents/grandparents to like a school, but quite another when a student rises to all that is offered.


Posted August 27, 2008

This is our son's 3rd year at Bosque. Bosque provides a warm, loving and accepting environment that nurtures and challenges children. We feel so fortunate that our son can attend a school like Bosque.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I go to Bosque and i learned alot in just 1 year. They have great teachers and the school is next to the Bosque. Bosque has clases de espanol bien.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2008

I think Bosque is a great school, although the stress levels are high and the expectations are great. High stress levels and expectations prepare people for later life which is one of the things Bosque is great at. The school does not have many sports teams, but they are expanding. Bosque is a great school with a great atmosphere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2008

I did extensive research on all public and private schools in Albuqueruque prior to enrolling my child in 6th grade. I have absolutely no regrets. This is an outstanding school in all areas, academic, athletics, art, public service, administration and teaching. This school is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 26%
Hispanic 19% 55%
Two or more races 7% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 16%
Asian 3% 1%
Black 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Private
State/Public
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • New Mexico ACT Council -College Readiness Award (2008)

Special education / special needs

Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • William B. Handmaker
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (505) 922-0392

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • limited bus service
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$18000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private
State/Public
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 1%
4 year college - 99%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 Learning Road NW
Albuquerque, NM 87120
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 898-6388

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Desert Hills School
Albuquerque, NM




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT