Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Solomon Schechter Day School Of Albuquerque

Private | K-5 | 60 students

 
 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2010

The faculty and administrations takes the time and makes the effort to address the needs of individual students. The schools tolerates diversity in personalities and backgrounds yet ensures that students meet the highest academic expectations. The combination of a warm, supportive, safe environment with a fine academic performance has made Solomon Schechter Day School a wonderful experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

My son has attended SSDS since the 1st grade. Our experience has been stellar. Not only from an academic perspective but from a community perspective. SSDS, staff, students, and other families have been like family to us...and that has been invaluable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

This is a lovely community with absolutely excellent teachers and staff. The kids see adults and other children who live with integrity and they see how crucial it is to be of good character. The academic preparation is rigorous and individualized. We are very happy that we made the choice to send our children to SSDS for elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

I love SSDS because the teachers are amazing and the curriculum exciting. SSDS is a caring community that addresses the academic, athletic and emotional needs of my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

This school is a small, Jewish Day School with excellent programs in music, art, Hebrew, and Jewish Studies. We love that it is a language emersion school. Embraces diversity and exploring all cultures and customs. A small school makes it so that each child feels very important and special. Our experience has been very positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Find a community of joyful learners here! Students are actively engaged in learning, families are valued, teachers are talented and dedicated, volunteers treasured, a true Oasis in the Desert!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Small intimate community where the parents and teachers all know each other and are deeply involved with each child's learning experience. The Jewish experience is wonderful and is even more meaningful in the middle of New Mexico where giving a child a Jewish identity is very difficult. We love this place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

My son has had 5 wonderful years at Solomon Schecter Day School. The school has some of the best teachers and staff you'll find anywhere. Solomon Schechter is a gem and my family feels blessed to have been able to send our son there! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 26%
Hispanic 7% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 10%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kathryn Weil
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • SSDSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5520 Wyoming Boulevard Northeast
Albuquerque, NM 87109
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 232-2325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Osuna Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM


Shepherd Lutheran
Albuquerque, NM



Mountain View Academy
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT