Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Eastern Hills Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 349 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $211,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2013

Long ago before they expanded this was a good school..it is no longer. Many teachers arent certified but I guess that is OK in NM? Kids kicked out of public school routinely end up showing up for a few weeks until kicked out yet again. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

Our family has been at Eastern Hills for four years now. Both our children started when they were three years old. We are very pleased with our children's experience. The classes are small, parent involvement is highly encouraged, teachers and staff are very accessible, and tuition is kept fairly reasonable through many fundraisers throughout the year. We are not members of EHBC and have never once been discriminated against, as one reviewer claimed. They are open to all denominations and you do not even need to have a home church to be accepted. Christian values are taught throughout and children are encouraged in self-discipline and good citizenship. I highly recommend Eastern Hills Christian Academy to anyone looking for a quality private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

I have been at this school since kindergarten and now I am in 7th grade. I think that the teachers are pretty good but some of the administrators are not. The school is extremely small and the kids mostly rebel against the teachers. Troubling things are shut down right away, but a little too quickly if you ask me. Or nothing is down at all. There is no in between. A girl stole an iPod and nothing was done. I am planning on leaving the school because I feel I need a bigger environment that doesn't act like every little bad thing you do is the end of the world. I will only come back if it is my last option.


Posted August 12, 2011

Wrote my first review of this school (1-11-08) when I had a 3rd grader. That child is now in 7th grade and I another child in 3rd. Feel even more strongly about school creating an environment that stresses academics without stress and pressures at other schools. Both children enjoy school, their teachers and friends. We are not Baptist and don't attend Eastern Hills Baptist Church. Teachers are Christian but of mixed Christian denominations. Christian priniciples are taught and valued but not preached. I have witnessed unacceptable behavior of students being dealt with immediately. Disrespect to a teacher/ fellow student is not tolerated. There is 100% access to teachers. Middle school campus is a secret gem - it feels like a mini college campus. There is a commons area - brand new beautiful bathrooms - large outdoor area in the back with new basketball hoops. True- lunches leave something to be desired- they're contracted through a company providing lunches to many schools. Wish more parents demanded better food. Kids not forced to buy lunch, we prefer to pack sack lunches. No school is for everyone. If you're looking...this one deserves a visit. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

My daughter went to kindergarten at Eastern Hills last year (2010-11) We were so pleased! low teacher/student ratio, excellent curriculum and a nurturing environment from all the staff and parents. We will continue to have her go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

This school does very little to prepare kids for high school, and will be the downfall of many brilliant children. This schools teachers are poor, and many of them hold no college degree, or are currently earning a college degree. The administration is close-minded and unwilling to accept people of different church congregations or denominations. The Baptist atmosphere is oppressive and nauseating to people that are not members of Eastern Hills Baptist Church. For the record Eastern Hills Christian Academy used to be Eastern Hills Baptist School, the change of name signified only a change of name. The middle school atmosphere is unwelcoming. At the middle school the children treat each other cruelly, are rude to their teachers and classmates, and form cliques (something not expected at a Christian school) . The School lunches are detestable. The building should be condemned for water damage, mold, and pests, and the school bathrooms are a toxic waste dump. Overall this school is one of the worst private schools in the city, APS offers a better education. Do Not send your child here unless you have no other option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

Amazing school!! We move a lot and my children have attended several different christian schools. This academy is by far the best in every area. EHCA has highly qualified and loving teachers. Administration, teachers and parents all work together as a team! EHCA is the best christian school in Albuquerque!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

We have a daughter that has been at EHCA for 3 yrs now. We LOVE this school. The faculty, environment and curriculum is outstanding! SO thankful to be apart of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

I have two girls at EHCA. I am very pleased. Academics are excellent. My older daughter has scored consistently above 95% on all subjects on yearly standardized test. My young daughter is given books to read at her current level which is above her grade level. You have open access to teachers, administrators, classrooms. Whenever I have a question, they are willing and able to answer and address your concerns. Most importantly I know my daughters are in a wonderful Christian environment that operates in a spirit of love and grace. I know that if I ever have a question or a problem, I will be heard and treated with love and respect. I am so thankful that we are at EHCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Great small private school with good teacher to student ratio. Safe environment, good teacher communication with snap grades. Lacking in facilities at the middle school (p.e is at a neighborhood park, or kids are bused to lower campus) However, not many options in Albuquerque for private school unless you want to pay $$$$ for facilities. Bad exit situation at middle school-safety could be an issue in parking lot, can be remedied if admin will address. Pack lunch here, Canteen of NM services this school (along with prisions)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2009

Quality Teachers, structured and great discipline. The parent involvement is incredible. Academics are very strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

We have a preschooler and a kindergartner at this school and are really satisfied at the quality of the education. As working parents, we know are children are safe all day in the after-school 'Discovery Club,' where they are also able to play together; it has fostered great sibling support. My kindergartner is learning by leaps and bounds and is truly thriving. Teacher access is great, and the kids are getting a good, principled education. thanks EHCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

We have been so very pleased with this school! We have seen our midschooler flourish, both academically and socially. The small classroom size allow teachers and parents to stay in close contact. There has been excellent curriculum presented and the children are expected to complete work and are held accountable for that work. No excuses are allowed. The safety aspects of this school are phenomenal! Locked entry into the school assures safety..very important in this world today! We wish we would have started our son in 5th grade instead of experiencing all that middle school has to offer here in Albuquerque! Teacher turnovers have been due to family career moves out of state and also illness. My son loves his teachers both past and present. Thanks for taking the time to read!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

Unfortunately, EHCA is not the school it once was. It has expanded beyond what works and is now more a business then a school. Classroom sizes have increased and teacher turnover is yearly. Children with discipline problems are being tolerated whereas in the past they were not. I am sorry to see this happen to what was a really nice school. Expansion is not always a good thing!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 26%
Hispanic 18% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 10%
Black 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Camille Miller
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (505) 298-8564

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Family network (similar to pta) meets bi-monthly. the parents help with fundraising and as volunteers in the classrooms.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 Morris Street Northeast
Albuquerque, NM 87111
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 294-3373

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sunset Mesa Schools
Albuquerque, NM






La Luz Del Monte Center
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT