Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Pius X High School

Private | 9-12 | 813 students

We are best known for commitment to excellence.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2014

St. Pius is a very good school for people who want to work hard. I have never had a problem getting help from teachers or doing well in classes. There are some not so great teachers and some very good ones especially in the honors and AP classes that are offered. The administration is not the best, especially the out of touch principal Dr. Rothwieler. If you hate uniforms and can't be disciplined don't go here, but I have never had a problem with following some of the stricter rules. Tuition is worth it if you want to work hard and take hard classes. I took 5 honors/AP classes last year and ended up with a 4.8 GPA which I wouldn't have done without some great teachers. Two 5's and a 3 on the AP tests, so they must be doing something right! If you can, definitely go to this school as you can get a great education for much less money than other private schools in ABQ.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2013

St. Pius is a place that has challenged both my children, They have teachers who care and parents if asked will give of themselves. Both my children are defenders of their faith. As a parent I feel it has been a sacrifice that is well worth it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2013

St Pius has some very good teachers, but unfortunately it has a terrible administration that does not respect its students, or care about their dignity. They are allegedly a Catholic school, but that would rather teach their children about hate and intolerance than about love and compassion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2012

I am a freshman at St.Pius and truly love it. I don't know a lot about the administration but the teachers are great..Maybe the students who have a problem here did not come from Catholic middle schools..if they did they would not have a problem with the curriculum, the rules or the uniforms. heir dress code is way more lenient than Catholic mid schools!! And if you're not a trouble maker the rules are no big deal. I love it and have tons of friends and fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2011

Education is good. Administration is terrible, except the vice principals. I have gone to Pius for 3 years, and it has it opened my eyes to see the hypocrisy of the world and how the administration has turned the school into a totalitarian state. Completely ignorant and misunderstand the students. Pius is only good for the conservative parents and the kids who are controlled to go to school, get good grades, praise God etc. Pius is not for the free thinking liberal brain who are not gonna try to fit in, but standout and see that there is more to life than Pius. I'll admit, some of the teachers are great (ex. 10th grade Old Testament 1st Sem.) If you have a tolerance for bigotry, and judgmental administrators, then Pius is good. Uniforms are terrible also.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2011

Hi, I'm a freshman this year and the school was completely different that i thought it would be. Most of the administration are completely incompetent. It seems like they base their disciplinary decisions based on how much money they make from you. But other than that most of the teachers are great and most of the kids that go there get along well. Some of the teachers on the other hand have no idea what their teaching. Especially in the freshman theology department. And they should probably put a cap on how many students they accept because some of my classes are really crowded and you never get individual attention from the teacher. Which isn't the teachers fault.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2010

Hi, I'm an incomming freshamn this year. Ive only attended saint pius for the last few months and I enjoy it, mostly:) haha. sometimes the students thier are kinda mean, but its just somethingt that you get used to.. :) I came to pius from a public school so the adjustment from a public school to a private school was difficult, very dificult.. but the people here are waaay better then the kids at public school, trust me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2010

As a graduate of a Jesuit High School in Houston, I can see where some of the students don't necessarily appreciate all they are gaining at this point. They will understand in years to come even if they don't fully appreciate it now. St. Pius is a great school, not flawless however. We are very happy with the staff, academic rigor, spiritual growth, and support our student is receiving. And yes, we're happy it's tough. Great preparation for college, and life. We recommend it highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

My son attended St. Pius X High School for a year and a half. It was one of the worst experiences of his life. The parents are snobs, the kids are cruel, and the administration is at best incompetent. There are some wonderful teachers and staff, but imbeciles are just as numerous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

I am currently in 10th grade at St. Pius and I hate it. There many teachers that are completly ignorant of the subject they teach. I have experienced this ignorance in the math, theology, science, history, and english departments. I truely believe that Pius is not worth the money and I have many peers that agree with me and have already left Pius. I do not intend to continue my high school education here. The staff is terrible, their are many(not all) students that need are terrible to deal with and there is a total lack of discipline
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2009

With two daughters currently excelling in college, I can honestly tell potential parents that you will not find a better school in Albuquerque. Pius prepared both in the classroom, socially and spiritually! The tuition is about half that of the other ABQ private schools, and the atmosphere is much more comfortable in that students are actually kind to each other! Best $9500 you'll ever spend, because you'll see the return on investment once you kids are in college...
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

It teaches great solid principles and has very dedicated teachers. They work there because of their dedication to the ethics of the school, rather than making a larger salary in a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I am a student at st.pius x high school. I was a little scared to come here at first because 1. I'm not catholic and I was worried about the required theology classes for all 4 years of my high school careers. 2. I was nervous about the academics in gerneral because I was very poorly prepared by my middle school. although my freshman year was hard, by second semester of that year I brought all of my grades up at least a letter or two. as for the theology, its actually one of my favorite classes! I had the choice of this school or another private school down the street. After shadowing a student in each I chose this one because the classes are a lot more informational and the kids are a lot nicer. The uniforms are even a comfort. I really like them, most of the time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2008

I have had three children attend St. Pius. Overall I have been very happy with the education at St. Pius. One of my children is currently in his second year of college (engineering). He was extremely well prepared for college. He was better prepared than most of his peers even though many of them were top of their class. There are areas of the school that need improvement, but this is true in any school. Another plus for St. Pius is that they can accommodate from average students to very strong students. There are academics to accommodate all of these levels. I would recommend it to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

i'm a student at spx and all around, it is a good school--the extracurricular activities are really good, mostly good teachers, but i would have to say that having a good middle school is vital to doing good here. I didn't have a good enough math teacher in mid-school and i paid the price freshman year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2008

I am very pleased with the education SPX is giving my child. As with anything else there is always room for improvement in some things but over all this is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

It is an extremely good school and it gives students quite a bit of catholic education. Not like other people have mentioned in this webpage, since you have to take theology all four years of high school ,and it is not barely noticable, and there is a mass every day, and a prayer befoire every class, so please do not say anything ignorant about the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2007

I am very disappointed in the school as a whole. I had 2 children attend and will not let my next child attend. The sports and extracurricular activities are good, but the leadership is very poor and the true Catholic faith is barely noticeable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

School administration is nonresponsive and inflexible in communicating with parents regarding issues. Grievence procedures are circular and completely ineffective. While there are excellent teachers at St. Pius, there are also poorly trained teachers & department leaders with no viable system of accountability to address problems in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2005

My daughter graduated from SPX and my son is presently attending. The academic curriculum is the best in town and there is a wonderful sports program, good fine arts department and lots of after school clubs. Students are well prepared for college and taught to discipline themselves both academically and morally. Teachers are caring, concerned and well prepared. Tuition is costly but worth the sacrifice for such high standards. Fantastic, strong administration with strong parental support. All around GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 59%
White 20% 26%
Two or more races 14% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
School Leader's name
  • Barbara Rothweiler
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (505) 831-8413

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Santa Fe
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents join the parents association, the fine arts boosters, and the athletics boosters. they also participate on the consultative council and the st. pius x high school foundation. parents are welcomed as partners in their child's educational experience at st. pius x.
More from this school
  • St. Pius X uses Edline, an web-based communication tool providing current academic and disciplinary information, along with school news, providing parents with thorough details on a student's performance and class activity.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5301 Saint Josephs Drive Northwest
Albuquerque, NM 87120
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 831-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Desert Hills School
Albuquerque, NM


Bosque School
Albuquerque, NM



Creative Ed Prep #1
Albuquerque, NM


Creative Ed Prep #1
Albuquerque, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT