Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $154,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 14, 2010

I have grand children at Calvary and to all who read this, Please know that the school is very good. Our children are ahead above in education over the public schools. The cost is priceless compared to other private schools. I recommend this school highly.


Posted July 14, 2010

This coming school year 2010-2011 will be my daughter's 5th year at Calvary. The education is exceptional and the staff are respectful and engaged. Yes it is a little disorganzied at times and my bill is usually not correct, something that plagues small schools because there is never enough support staff. However, tuition is reasonable and I do not have to attend the church or volunteer hours in order for my child to attend. They give her personal attention and are truly engaged in her eduction. My friend's daughter goes to another of the private schools and is one grade higher than mine and cannot complete work that my daughter is accomplishing. I have recommended this school to others and do so now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2010

I was blessed to have my three children attend Calvary and receive the great tools needed for entering adulthood! Now the grandchildren are attending! Calvary's focus on academics and nurturing care in the whole growth of a child remains constant!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

The curriculum Calvary uses teaches the Bible but very few teachers model it. The administration is not a good steward of money or things: lots of waste and mis-placed priorities. Cronyism and nepotism run rampant. I wish I had switched schools years ago; there are much better CHRISTIAN and public schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

Please do a lot of research before considering this school for your child/children. The problem with this school is the administration. If you choose this school, expect to be ignored and demeaned at every turn. They did not bother showing up for an appointment that we had set up and left us waiting outside in the hallway with no explanation. They ignore problems or put them off onto the parents. They are very much money oriented. We are so disappointed with this school"s administration. My rating is less than one star but the survey made me put at least one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

What I like about this school is that your child will get a top rated education alone with teaching of the GREATEST BOOK EVER PRINTED the BIBLE. Kids will learn what right and wrong really mean and not just life being all about ones self. Teachers really do care about the students. When you visit to enroll your child as some of the students older ones how they really think about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

When I visit my children they seem to have a love and respect for their teachers and learning. This is surprising in this day and age. I'm pleased with the care and education!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

Don't waste your time or your money. They call themselves Christians, but this is the most un-Christian like school I have ever had the misfortune of being a part of. Do not bother with this joke of a school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

This school is so hard up for money they charge us to watch our children perform in their Christmas program. Isn't this why we are paying tuition? Teachers expect all children to be at the same academic level, there is no 'thinking outside of the box' to help children learn something in a way that works for them. This school lacks any type of parental involvement, unless it's a fundraiser. Too bad their focus is on money and not the welfare of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2004

If you deeply value an academic envoronment providing a superior level of involvment, quality and dedication such as demonstrated daily by teachers and staff-- all of whom strive to 'train up your children in the way they should go'-- then Calvary Christian Academy is a school worthy of your consideration. My children have been attending Calvary Christian Academy since 1999. Their experiences and success have been such that I am compelled to share my personal dedication to the school that continues to dedicate itself to my children. Along with the small class size, the individualized attention my children receive and the Statment of Faith on which the foundation of the school is based, I am proud of the academic success resulting from the challenging curriculum as well as the encouragment students are given to learn and promote an interest in the outstanding fine arts program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 59%
White 27% 26%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12820 Indian School Road Northeast
Albuquerque, NM 87112
Phone: (505) 842-8681

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Onate Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM


Manzano High School
Albuquerque, NM


Acoma Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM


Apache Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT