Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
170 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Calvary Christian Academy 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
I had two children attend Calvary Christian Academy. It was such a good experience for them. Both children learned great social skills that I believe came from the schools leadership and teachers. My children were accepted into colleges where they received highest honors. Thank you Calvary

Calvary Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
CCA is biblical based education which encourages growth in a Christian way. The students are able to encourage each other and learn from one another.


Calvary Christian Academy 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Calvary Christian Academy is a wonderful school where your children are nurtured, supported, and loved! My children receive individual like attention and the teachers are in constant communication. Class sizes are small and the children are all so very loving which proves that they are only being encouraged to do so! Love that the lunches are prepared in house and are healthy and wholesome and that there are so many different groups and programs to encourage growth! Thanks CCA!

Calvary Christian Academy 1

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
Calvary Christian Academy is a HORRIBLE school! Don't waste your money! The staff does not have a Christian background and they only want your money. A public school offers a more caring environment, higher safety standards and a higher level of academics. Calvary doesn't require their teachers to have a Christian background. They have constant turnover which results in poor communication, inconsistencies and no organization. They will tell you anything you want to hear during the tour and registration process, but that all changes once you pay your tuition. The administration is rude and unprofessional. Your child will not be in a safe or secure school....the security is nonexistent. They don't have prayer during the day (not even before they eat lunch). Teachers are overwhelmed with large class sizes, and are unable to give your child individual attention. Please don't make the mistake of enrolling your child in this school. They don't issue refunds for any reason, so your child is stuck in a horrible school for the entire year. They are well below public school standards. ****You will also notice that all of the good reviews are from teachers or members of the church****

Calvary Christian Academy 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
This is my first year at Calvary Christian. I have one child in Kindergarten (Mrs. Lemoine) and another in preschool (Mrs. Gray). We absolutely love our teachers and their loving nature. They are consistent with what they expect from their students and parents. We have great communication on my child's behavior and learning capabilities. I am astonished how much my Kindergartener has learned. He has weekly spelling tests and is reading, which is not how we started the year and he's doing great. My preschooler is writing letters and is always telling me stories about his day. The aftercare is amazing as well (Ms. Kim, Ms. Amanda, etc). In aftercare, my child finishes his homework, gets active exercise whenever possible, and they have several, fun indoor activities. My kids ask to go to aftercare, which I think is awesome! The only thing they lack is a gymnasium, but through consistent fundraising, I believe they will have one in the next few years. I do not know the principal very well, but the teachers I've experienced are amazing. Thank you for all you do!


Calvary Christian Academy 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a community member
I have a lot if great friends at this school my teachers are nice and very supportive. The teachers are caring and encouraging of all of us kids.

Calvary Christian Academy 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a teacher
One of the best things about CCA is the small class size. This allows teachers to focus on individual students and their educational needs. Small class sizes also allow us freedom to connect with our students and their families, developing strong relationships. Another great thing about CCA is the atmosphere of authentic support we foster. Teachers, administrators, parent volunteers, and the students look out for one another. It is impossible to explain adequately. Please come in for a visit and see this for yourself!

Calvary Christian Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough how wonderful this school has been for my children. This is our first year here at CCA and my family and I have been blessed considerably. The recent Christmas performances highlighted all of the programs that my children participated in. Also incredibly impressed with the enrichment program that is new this year and the robotics team that leave my son with a thirst for knowledge through learning and play. Can't speak highly enough!


Calvary Christian Academy 1

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
This is the worst school I have ever sent my child to. The teachers are mediocre at best. The administration is unprofessional, rude, and demeaning. They don't communicate about problems just post them on your renweb, Never speak to you about things and expect changes. My child attended this school for 2 years and his/her educational abilities went south. This school is to focused on dictating what should be thought and done, and no focus on self thinking and regulating. Please do your research when looking into this school for your children. I will say that there are SOME really good teachers here who truly care.

Calvary Christian Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
CCA offers a gifted enrichment program for elementary students in a Christ-centered, private school environment. As a parent of a highly gifted student, the school offers a refreshing opportunity for students who need to be challenged beyond grade level to grow both spiritually and intellectually. I am very pleased with the variety of program offerings which personalize the educational experience for all students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Christian Academy
12820 Indian School Road Northeast, Albuquerque, NM  87112
(505) 842-8681
Last modified Calvary Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Calvary Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top