Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albuquerque

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

Great School located in the NE Heights, right across Pennsylvania Ave. from Sandia High School. I have experienced a staff that goes above and beyond to make sure our children are learning. I am thrilled that our children (new to the school this year) are welcomed not only by the staff, but also by the students. The atmosphere is upbeat and positive, and I love the use of iPads in the classrooms. Wish I'd had them when I was in 6th grade! Christ Lutheran also uses an online system allowing parents to check on assignments and grades -- glad this wasn't around when I was in 6th grade. My kids love the change, and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Christ Lutheran School is an amazing school! My children absolutely love it there, the teachers are amazing and extremely helpful. There is a low teacher student ratio. They offer sports, band, choir, and various other extra curricular activities. I believe my kids are getting the best education at Christ Lutheran. Christ Lutheran is reasonably priced. If you are interested in placing your child here, you can do tours as well as the child visit the class for a day and meet the students , teachers and get a feel for the atmosphere. I love this school !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

My son currently attends Christ Lutheran, and he absolutely loves it! He is doing well academically, and is involved in many of the extra-curricular activities offered by the school. He loves his teachers, and is excited to go to class. I believe he will be well prepared for High School. I am not one of those parents who expects every school and teacher to be perfect. There is no perfect school (or teacher). I do, however, expect teachers and schools to be good listeners, and responsive to my concerns (even if they do not agree with me). I have found the teachers and staff at Christ Lutheran to be very responsive. I appreciate their willingness to listen, and to work with me to meet my son's needs. Please understand, my son is no "angel," and knows the Principal pretty well, but he has always receive appropriate discipline. If I were a family looking for a great education at a bargain price, I would check out this "hidden jewel" in the Northeast Heights. This school has become "family" for my child, and for others as well. I am so thankful this school was recommended to us by some friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

I have sent all three of my children to this school! My oldest two have graduated and gone on to public high school. They were well prepared in all subject areas for High School, and are currently performing in the top 5% of their respective classes. I find the teachers and staff at Christ Lutheran to be caring, talented and dedicated. I heartily recommend this school to all of my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

I have to say I have been disappointed thus far. The teacher we have shows no emotion and seems to only be concerned with doing the minimum required. I have been struggling with the lack of control in the classroom. I really hope it turns around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

I can't say enough about this school. I sent my oldest daughter there for PreK, K, and 1st, then my son was there for PreK and K. I loved it because I know that the teachers are trully there for the kids and they loved it because it's one of those schools that still have a long enough recess with fun educational games fit into the class. I owe my children's love of school and learning to Christ Lutheran and that is something I will never forget. The other reviewer was absolutely right that the teachers don't rush out the door and are always available. It's the best money that you could ever spend on your child. (We had to move due to a job transfer.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

I like this school because when I leave my children in the morning, I know that all of their needs will be taken care of, educational as well as emotional. Unlike public school, Christ Lutheran's teachers are truly committed to all the students. The teachers do not rush to leave at the end of the day, and they are more than willing to talk to any parent at any time. We left this school for a while because of personal circumstances, and my children went to public school. I am so glad to be back. Also, I like that religion is not forced on the children. The school does have religion as a subject, but the books used are secular. I cannot recommend this school enough. I have 7 children so we have done it all -- public,homeschool, and private schools. The academics are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2005

Excellent school! Our son is currently in the 6th grade, and we are so pleased with the staff. The atmosphere is wonderful. He is very happy there, and we are so pleased with the communication. As well, the curriculum is challenging. This is a school that truly cares!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

The correct name is Christ Lutheran School and this is the absolute best school in NM for pre-k thru 8th grade educ. The teachers are above the rest and our kids test out 2-4 grades above their peers in public schools. The size is perfect, allowing for plenty of child-teacher time daily, while growing in a terrific Christian community. I would only send my children here, there is no other school in Albuqueruqe that can acheive this level of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 26%
Hispanic 28% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Black 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7701 Candelaria Road Northeast
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Phone: (505) 884-3876

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Zuni Elementary School
Albuquerque, NM


Shepherd Lutheran
Albuquerque, NM


Cleveland Middle School
Albuquerque, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT