Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eagle Nest Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2010

Love this school! We are raising 3 students here, all are thriving in this small school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My husband and I raised 3 girls through this school system, they are very sucessful because of it. It is a great small town, with people in the school who really care about it's children. Good Luck Eagle Nest!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

I think that Eagle Nest has the mmost caring teachers around. I havew never been at school where the kids go up and hug the principal all the time. We were always afraid of ours. The whole staff is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

My daughter attended Eagle Nest during middle school and is now a student at Moreno Valley High School. I am very happy with the education she received at Eagle Nest. It is a great school. The teachers were outstanding and prepared her for high school where she is now second in her class(with a 4.0 ), taking AP courses, winning academic competitions in the state and preparing for college. There were times when she was at Eagle Nest school when her and I both thought the school was pretty strict but...looking back...it was that philosophy of strong work and personal ethics as well as responsibility that Eagle Nest tries to instill in it's students that helps make them successful high school and college students as well as accomplished adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

I have had a few issues with one of the teachers in the past but as a whole, the school is great. I have had a long history with the school being as that I am a former student from many years ago. There is no way that everyone will be satisfied completley, but I am happy that my children are there. So many of the employees have been there since I was a child! We also have an advantage over larger schools, our kids aren't just a number! There is a much more personal feel. If there is a problem I address it, not just write letters complaining and threatening, which is what so many people choose to do these days. Being difficult and overbearing won't get anyone anwhere. Great school! Great staff! Great place to raise your kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

- Acedemic porgrams.. needs major improvement. teachers work by fear rather than inspiration or encouragement. - Level of parental involvement.. wish I could say this was high.. but if your are a concerned parent you are very quickly dismissed by staff and you told you can not talk to anyone without a 3rd party present and with out an appointment. This school needs alot of imporvement. It needs a complete restructuring of staff..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Be very aware. This school fails to hold there staff accountable for there actions. Too many cases of 'bully' teachers, and poor communication with parents. I have had too many serious problems over the years, and each time every problem is simply dismissed. They moved my child into a higher grade level and failed to tell me about it, they lost my child several times on the bus, they punished my child for being punched by another student and threatened her not to tell me. I could go on and on, but it would take more than 150 words. If your children attend this school watch out, and make sure you ask your children every day about their school day. i don't have another choice for a school, unless we drive 1 hour away to another school over possibly snow covered and icy moutain passes. This school needs serious restructuring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2004

Student teacher ration is closer to 29/1 in most grades and the auxillary services for special needs children is lacking greatly. Beware of this school and its district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

16 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students60%
Female60%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female70%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students62%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students85%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 26%
Hispanic 24% 59%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (575) 377-3646

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

132 North Collison
P.O. Box 287
Cimarron, NM 87718
Phone: (505) 376-2445

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT