Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Clovis Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 267 students

Academic excellence with a Christian Biblical worldview
 
 

 

Living in Clovis

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $91,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $542.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

My children have attended this school for a couple of years now. My oldest attends public school. I see a huge difference in the environment of this school compared to the public schools. The kids encourage each other and the teachers are involved and really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

This school challenges my children academically like no other they've ever attended. The atmosphere is Christian, family-friendly and full of care and concern - not only for the education and well-being of each child, but also for families. I can and do recommend CCS to my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Clovis Christian School (CCS) is AMAZING!!! The entire school is a blessing to my children and family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

The school leaps beyond what is in the books and teaches our kids so much more. The school is well organized and the teachers are amazing and love what they do! Smiles and laughter are contagious as you walk through the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

This is our son's last year at Clovis Christian. The education he got has given him the opportunity to attend just about any college he wanted. The school has qualified, dedicated and loving staff. I would recommend CCS to anyone searching for a Christ based education for a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

great school!!!!!!!!!!!! Good communication and support, excellent quality people, always caring and protecting ccs family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

This is a fantastic school. The teachers go above and beyond for each student. This is our first year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

I love this school. It has taught my children on the level they are at personally instead of class wide. I love the sense of community in that families are welcome in the doors, halls, and classes at any time. My children have made great relationships with the fellow kids at the school and the teachers foster healthy friendly relationships between the students. The kids truly love and look out for one another in all the grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My daughter has grown so much by the love and care that the teachers put in to the kids; they take time to make sure that every kid is well taken care of. The curriculum is challenging for the kids, exactly what is needed to achieve greatness. I love this school and if you are by the neighborhood please stop by and give it a tour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Clovis Christian School in Clovis New Mexico is definitely a "gem on the prairie". It is a place where children are known by their name and not a number. Teachers work hard to unlock the talent of each child, always going the extra mile to insure success. Christian ethics and morals are integrated into real life situations and core curriculum. A great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

This school integrates biblical worldview flawlessly. The teachers demonstrate and teach how to live in a Christlike manner. I have been impressed by the academic programs, and I love their innovative approach. Leadership throughout the past 3 years has brought this school to a new level of excellence. I encourage anyone who is questioning their current Clovis school to come and visit the campus. The teachers, students and environment will speak for itself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

Clovis Christian is wonderful! I have watched my daughter and her classmates develop at an amazing rate over this past year. From what I hear, things have really changed at this school in the past 2 years. It's not just a bunch of worksheets while a teacher "supervises", they do offer chapel, art, music, computers, library and physical education. The curriculum is challenging and the teachers, as well as the staff and principal, are professional AND loving. Parents are encouraged to be involved, in fact, you are considered a partner with the school in your child's education, unlike the public school's mentality of "when you turn them over to us, they are ours". The student to teacher ratio is MUCH lower than the public schools here and that does matter, even at the "top performing" schools here (which are overcrowded)! The price is affordable-- it may be a sacrifice, but if you want the very best education for your child in a challenging, loving, caring environment, I highly recommend making that sacrifice and sending your child to Clovis Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

The school is ok, but not great. There is no art curriculum, kids just color a picture once every 2 weeks. There is no gifted program. There is no accelerated reading program. The day is pretty much made up of kids being supervised while they do worksheets on their own. For the 08 election, nothing was done. The kids were given a 3 page worksheet to do. No mock election, no discussion of democracy. Parents are encouraged to become involved, but there is nothing the school does to be involved in. The big event for Christmas revolves around a fund-raising dinner for which the kids aren't even allowed to attend. There is very little creative teaching. It is just doing the A-Beka worksheets. That is probalby why the school ranked above other Clovis schools, but below national average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

i was a student at CCS, and from a students point of view, i loved this schoool
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2007

This is an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

My Children have attended Clovis Christian School for the past eight years. The teachers are dedicated to their children and profession. CCS is an accredited school and has high standards for their students and staff. Problems are dealt with quickly and fairly. Sports are excellent at the school and they compete on a district/ state level in basketball, track, golf, football, volleyball and cheerleading. The parent involvment level is high and parents are encouraged to be a part of the school. We have enjoyed it and look forward to many more years of excellent biblical education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

My son had attended Clovis Christian School for 4 years. During this entire time we had no problems out of the staff or children. I can only give this school praise for their hard work and determination to teach our children in the way they should go that is spiritually and naturally. I encourage you to send your child to this school if you are looking to support and be supported in raising and instructing your child to a better life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 26%
Hispanic 19% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Clovis
Texico
Portales
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 20% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 70% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 5% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation ENMU
University of New Mexico
Texas Tech
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • NM Business Weekly top 16 Private School (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • HVAC certification
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Japanese
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Ladona Clayton
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (575) 935-2281

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Japanese
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • HVAC certification
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Plumbing
  • Pre-law
  • Welding certification

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • New Mexico Children Christian Home
  • ENMU Roswell
  • Faith Christian Family Church
  • Matt 25 Center
  • Clovis Community College
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Archery
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Archery
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The mission of Clovis Christian Schools, in partnership with parents, is to prepare students for a lifetime of effective Christian discipleship by equipping them, through God’s grace, to become spiritually alert, physically disciplined, intellectually acute, and socially connected growing up in the likeness of Christ. We emphasis high academic standards blend with a Christian worldview. Our testing scores are consistently higher than our peers in the public school sector.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
230
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
230
Students typically come from these schools
Clovis
Texico
Portales

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
ENMU
University of New Mexico
Texas Tech
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 20%
4 year college - 70%
Military - 5%
Vocational - 5%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 Humphrey Rd
Clovis, NM 88101
Website: Click here
Phone: (575) 935-2279

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT