Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Corrales Elementary School 1

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
If your child does not present a challenge, this school is mediocre at best. However, I have an autistic son that was suspended three times in the first month for a variety of typical autistic if not five year old behaviors. One of the incidents, he bit a teacher that was physically restraining him and was charged with a felony. We also walked in on his Occupational Therapist lying and restraining him on a bean bag since he would not follow directions. Patricia Steiner is incompetent at best. You be the judge if you want to send your child to this school and hope that they fit in.

Corrales Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Four of my children went to Corrales Elementary and my youngest still attends. The teachers are very proactive and responsive, and I felt they truly cared about my chidren who had special needs ranging from gifted/exceptional to dyslexia. There is a strong feeling of community. Events like the Fall Festival, Celebration of Children and Talent Show get better every year. I love that Officer Heaton conducts traffic every morning, presents the DARE program and attends school activities with his little chihuahua in tow. Just an all round great school coming from an all round great community.


Corrales Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
I have two children at Corrales. It is a wonderful school. Very good teachers. A lot of parent involvement. PTA is hardworking. It has gliches and rough spots, any public school does. We don't have bullies. I will miss this school when we are done. Corrales is the best public school around!

Corrales Elementary School 3

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
Teachers and staff are very good overall and my 2 kids really like it there. However the new principal has already made many grievous missteps this year, two of which directly affected my son, and we are only 1 month into the school year. Not sure where they found her, but it makes me question APS administration's abilities. My wife and I are considering pulling both kids from Corrales and home-schooling them.

Corrales Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
Corrales Elementary is a great school. The staff and community members work hard to keep the school at the heart of the community. The adults are kind and inclusive. The teachers's are conscientious, helpful and approachable, for the most part. The only unsafe aspect of the school is the way some parents and community members drive.


Corrales Elementary School 2

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
There was very poor communication between the teacher and us and my child did not feel welcome here at all. Overall it was not a good experience and glad my child is no longer attending here.

Corrales Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
Totally miserable experience! My son's teacher is rude, unhelpful and negative. She has been very difficult to try to communicate with either written communication or talking to her. I don't feel like my son is learning anything here. There are a couple parents involved but they are not receptive to new parents at all. The PTA is very disorganized and also not welcoming.

Corrales Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Can't say enough about the teachers here! The front office could certainly try to be nicer and more informed though but I feel like my child is very safe here and well cared for!


Corrales Elementary School 1

Posted January 30, 2012
- a parent
I am confused at all the positive reviews here. Too many kids in classes and, same as another commenter, I have two children at the school. I don't know what's going on at the school, but it is certainly not a positive experience for me or my children. Having spent 3 years as a substitute teacher in another state, I am shocked at the issues here. Do not recommend this school at all.

Corrales Elementary School 1

Posted January 06, 2012
- a parent
NO STARS! Terrible school. The reviews about children that need a little extra help, it is not here. Two of my children attended there, one of them is very smart and picks up on everthing. The other child has always needed a little help and is very shy. The teacher that had my boy smart boy always had good thigs to say. The other teacher suggested that a social worker might help him (my shy boy). The school seems like they only want to keep the children that learn WITHOUT any help. In contrast, try to get rid of the children that go to school to learn from the teachers. The saying "No child left behind, yah right, the school will insult the parents and outcast your child until you take them out of the school. BEWARE, teachers that dont teach, just looking for a free pay check and high school rating by getting rid of children not up to par in their eyes. That is my opinion

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Corrales Elementary School
200 Target Rd, Corrales, NM  87048
(505) 880-3744
Last modified Corrales Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Corrales Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top