Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
168 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Emmanuel Baptist Academy 5

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
This school is a well rounded school and features a support system for parents to further their child's education as well as forming good study habits. The children eat family style in the cafeteria and are expected to use manners and serve themselves. This has impressed many friends and family when my children are observed serving themselves and using manners. One of my daughters was very behind when she started school here, but we were able to form a partnership with a teacher who was greatly dedicated to the education of my child.

Emmanuel Baptist Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
This school develops persistence, grit, and determination in students. Educational standards are meant to bring the children up to the next level. It is a challenge, but not too challenging.


Emmanuel Baptist Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
This school teaches children that they must practice communicating and interacting with students, educators, and parents in a respectful way. Respect is also modeled through the way the educators interact with students, parents, and colleagues.

Emmanuel Baptist Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
This school teaches children about many different cultures, and supports diversity. Children are taught that everyone should always be included, and everyone deserves respect- even if you do not like them. Children are taught to think about what they are thankful for, and children learn about families in other parts of the world who do not have much.

Emmanuel Baptist Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
I am grateful to one of my daughter's first grade teachers. She worked very hard in partnership with me to help catch my daughter up. She was a whole grade level behind when she started.


Emmanuel Baptist Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
The educators at this school are very interested in this school. Many have left jobs that pay more in public schools to come and teach children for less money. They each have a purpose for teaching at this school, which makes them very effective.

Emmanuel Baptist Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
The amount of homework given at this school is in line with standards taught in educational programs at the college. Educators learn how much homework is appropriate for different age groups, and this school is just right. Educators encourage family members to be involved in homework as it gives them an opportunity to support their child's education and interact in a meaningful way.

Emmanuel Baptist Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
This school does not tolerate hitting, calling names and other bad behaviors. The students are taught how they can handle situations without calling names, hitting and other destructive forms of interaction.


Emmanuel Baptist Academy 1

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
My kids attended this school for several years until I was forced to transfer them recently. The teachers are unprofessional. I challenged my son's third grade teacher and she gossip ed about my issues with her to the other teachers. My younger son came home the day after I spoke to her and his teacher who I did not have an issue with told the class I yelled at the staff. I expressed my shock to the principal and his response was " everyone gossips". The school is touted as the best in the county so I had my kids tested. They both tested below average. They are now in public school and I am paying for tutoring. My belief is that EBA teachers focus on gossiping more than they do educating the kids. In addition the teachers cater and focus on a select few. If your kids nationality is not of their persuasion, consider your kids outsiders. The teachers do not create an inclusive environment. The Staff should relearn the verses they send home with the students themselves. Especially the one about gossiping. Think twice before you send your kids to this school.

Emmanuel Baptist Academy 1

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
EBA has gone above and beyond-.... in creating an atmosphere of fear and a since that a child is a "bad child" if they are normal. For some reason, it is ok to hold kids to a standard above what is normal developmentally, and at the same time, allow educational assistants bully children in classrooms. EBA has LARGER CLASS SIZES than public school, and with public school now following common core, EBA no longer has "more prepared" students. My child, who earned stellar grades in EBA is now BEHIND in public school, and is playing catch up. Please think twice before spending your hard earned dollar for an education that is sub-par when compared to public schools.

Nearby schools

Emmanuel Baptist Academy
211 West 20th Street, Farmington, NM  87401
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (505) 325-0090
Last modified Emmanuel Baptist Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top